We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location ! Service ! Breakfast !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Electra Palace Athens
Ranked #14 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Location ! Service ! Breakfast !”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The name itself makes for a rather exaggerated imagination of a palace , so when this is your First hotel of your honeymoon & you are taken into a really small one-way street & dropped in front of a door-like opening, you feel you have been duped !!

But the moment you enter the Hotel , your perception starts quickly changing & the frown does go upside down. From the greetings & impeccable assistance you get from the staff to a beautiful garden where you can sit & sip on some morning coffee, this is indeed an inner-street mini-palace with beautiful decor & a breakfast spread that is no less than that of the maharajas of pre-independence India.

The rooms are a tad small compared to the rooms of other cities in Greece, but we did a walk around to understand the spacings of rooms in hotels of Athen & it turns out , its all the same. So it's an Athens thing to have smaller rooms. The rooms were rather gaudy for my taste with thick bed spreads & big cushions . They have small attached balconies that stand right above the moving traffic on the busy street . The street can be noisy sometimes but it surely adds to the experience of living in Athens.

All the tourist spots are almost a stone's throw from the hotel & this we found out when we took a hop on & hop off tour & were dropped off 300 mtrs away from our hotel.
All in all I would give it a 3.5/5 as the location is centric, service is good & breakfast is scrumptious!
My extra pc. of advice :Put on your walking shoes & a hat , buy fresh fruits from street vendors & go around the city on foot ! Its' a beautiful & friendly city with the right mix of museums,monuments & gardens !

Room Tip: ask for rooms on the street side if you want to get a glimpse of the greek life & a lot of sun e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_yatra_geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,643
    923
    236
    73
    32
See reviews for
773
1,341
85
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Perfect location, extremely kind, helpful and nice stuff; at the reception, in the dining room as well as room maids. Fresh squeezed orange for breakfast! Beautiful Acropolis view! Close to everything important and nice in Athens, still peaceful, at least off-season. Everything they advertise they have it. Wi-fi is 20 euros for 3 days in the room, free of charge in public places. The spa is fantastic (good equipment in the gym, nice warm water in the pool and jacuzzi), but rather small.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NRadovanovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Excellent hotel with a great location. Also very nice restaurant with a nice view on the Acropolis ! The Spa is rather small, however not very busy at the time we were there.
The room at the street side can be noise.

Room Tip: try to avoid rooms at the front side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefaan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Very nice hotel in an excellent location. All Athens landmarks in a walking distance. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. A lot of bars and tavernas around. Street at which the hotel is located is very often busy and blocked, so make sure you take enough time to order your taxi if you need to catch your flight.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street site kind of noisy. Additional beds in triple rooms not really comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rvcpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
93 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We opted for the Electra Palace Hotel as it had a view of the Acropolis and seemed like a modern hotel within the old part of the City.

The location was great, we could easily walk to most parts of Athens and from the train station (where the airport train arrives).

The rooms were nice and the balcony overlooking the Acropolis made it extra special. However for a '5*' hotel we expected free wifi and free water in the room. I also found it far too warm in the room - even with the air conditioning at its coolest temperature.

The breakfast was reasonable, it had all the basics.

We would recommend.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank The2explorers28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed her for a short business trip. Rooms are more than adequate, comfortable and very clean, bathroom spacious, all you could possibly need.
Breakfast is ample and of very high quality and selection.
Will definitely return of in Athens again, hotel is excellently located for sight seeing and public transport options etc

Room Tip: Some rooms are smaller than others so if you want more space state it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We stay in this hotel over new-years-eve. We have two big rooms with a connected door and separate bath-rooms.

It is very clean. Because of the indoor- pool also our children like this trip very much.

Walking distance to all important places. Service is very friendly and good.

Helpful?
Thank IsaFromGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,173 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#10 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Athens

Property: Electra Palace Athens
Address: Navarhou Nikodimou 18-20 | Athens, Plaka, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Athens
#11 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
#12 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#12 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately, with the air of an era long gone, the Electra Palace Athens, hospitable and aristocratic, awaits to welcome you in the heart of the city. Classical in its architecture and design, blending beautifully with the noble historical buildings of the Plaka area, the hotel’s elegant luxury is complemented by the majestic views of the Acropolis that can be enjoyed from the rooftop restaurant, pool, rooms and suites. Marble bathrooms; soft duvets; handmade carpets; custom furniture; these are but a few of the details that make the Electra Palace Athens luxuriously enjoyable. The amenities of our hotel will leave you wanting for nothing more: for your comfort and enjoyment, here you will find satellite T.V.s, laptop size electronic safes, Wi-Fi internet connection, and fully equipped bathrooms with hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, magnifying mirror and more. Right in the city center and within walking distance from all major sights, easily accessible by car or public transport, the Electra Palace Athens is the ideal hotel for your stay in Athens whether you are here for business or leisure: spend a summer day at our outdoor swimming pool, soaking up the sun of Athens as it rises above the Acropolis – or spend it shopping in the city’s lively markets. Wander through the ancient Agora and visit the Parthenon – then wonder at its glory, all dramatically lit at night, from the balcony of your room. Stroll around the city under the autumn rain, then warm up in the hotel’s sauna. Relax after a day’s hard work - or blow off some steam - at the indoor pool or our gym. Enjoy our delicious contemporary greek cuisine at the award winning “Electra Palace Roof Garden” or at the “Motivo” in the lounge, or with a drink at the “Duck Tail”, our British inspired bar. For bigger celebrations or for business events in the heart of Athens, our hotel’s five-star service extends to our seven meeting rooms and ballrooms: fully equipped, air-conditioned and naturally lit, our halls can cater for up to 350 people for any event type, no matter how formal: host your business meeting here, or organize a successful conference. Or, have the reception or banquet of your dreams, tasteful and impeccable, a festive testament to your own sophisticated style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Electra Palace Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing