We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 Day Sightseeing Trip to Athens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Electra Palace Athens
Ranked #15 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“4 Day Sightseeing Trip to Athens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The hotel has a great location right in the center of the Plaka neighborhood (the walking area of Athens). We were able to walk to all the major attractions in Athens very easily. The hotel staff was always very pleasant and very formal. We requested a room with a view of the Acropolis. The view was amazing. The room itself was typical European - small but efficient. We did not spend much time in the room. There was only free Wifi in the Lobby Area (5 euro/day in the room). We traveled to Athens in early March and the A/C was not functioning at the time. The first night our room was so hot, even with the patio door open. The next day we requested a fan for the room which helped very much during the night. The spa/fitness/pool area was less than impressive but we didn't plan on using it during our stay. Hotel and the room was immaculately clean. Bathrooms were very nicely remodeled with great waterpressure in the shower. The included breakfast was very good with a very wide range of items. The rooftop restaurant also had an incredible view of the Acropolis. If I was returning to Athens, I would most definately stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Request view of Acropolis. Purchase the breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 808TravelGirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,611
    907
    229
    72
    32
See reviews for
762
1,308
83
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed at the Electra Palace hotel in Plaka, Athens to attend a conference. The hotel is ideally located in Plaka which is surrounded by restaurants, shops and of course, in walking distance to the Acropolis.

The hotel is absolutley wonderful. Very friendly staff who all speak English well. The hotel and rooms are spotlessly clean. The hotel facilities are good too. There is an outdoor pool and deck area overlooking the Acropolis and there is also an indoor pool, fitness centre and spa.

Breakfast was superb with a huge choice of different items. You can sit inside or on the patio outside. Room service can also be ordered 24 hours and is very reasonably priced.

The rooms are spacious with very comfortable beds, TV and minibar. The bathroom had a bath and very nice power shower. Amenities are also provided as well as bathrobes and slippers. The only issue I had was that the room was incredibly hot and although I turned the aircon on, it didnt seem to work or make any difference.

Overall a very nice hotel and I will definately return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor are on the same level as the outdoor pool deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalgirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Only 10 mins walk from the Parthenon, and 5 mins from the main shopping street, this is a very well located hotel. Staff are friendly and very helpful. It feels old inside though, with rooms that feel dated and certainly not the 5 stars it claims. If you want style, try elsewhere, but if you want something in this area, you could do a lot worse too.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zebanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Great location & short walk to Plaka & Syntagma. Nice clean room with good views, but beds we re small. The thing I remember & enjoyed most was Western style buffet breakfast. Very good after eating continental Euro stuff the previous week.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alskimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This hotel combines: great amenities, super friendly staff and a great spot at a walking distance from every central spot in Athens (eg from historical sites such as Akropoli, from Syntagma square, from Kolwnaki area etc).

The reception is spacious, luxurious and overwhelming at first site.
The room was spacious and clean. The decoration was classy and sophisticated, more 'traditional' as opposed to modern, but in a 'contemporary' and not outdated look and feel. A very “warm” ambience overall.
The bathroom was also great and everything worked properly (hot water at any time).
The staff was super friendly, helpful, attentive at all times and always smiling.

Do not miss to have a drink or dine at the restaurant at the rooftop along with a great view looking out on the Acropolis! The experience is pure magic!

A great choice either for a family or a couple. I would recommend it with no doubt!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

the Quick review is great hotel great area great service free Wi Fi in the lobby and we would most defiantly stay there again. For more information read on

The Electra Palace Hotel is located right in the heart of Athens Plaka district; Pláka (Greek: Πλάκα) is the old historical neighborhood of Athens, clustered around the northern and eastern slopes of the Acropolis, and incorporating labyrinthine streets and neoclassical architecture. Plaka is built on top of the residential areas of the ancient town of Athens. It is known as the "Neighbourhood of the Gods" due to its proximity to the Acropolis and its many archaeological sites.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I just came back from Athens staying with my wife 3 nights in this hotel. It is one of the best hotels we stayed in and we recommend it to those that can afford it price. The location is excellent, the service excellent and facilities as suites 5 stars hotel. Next time we will choose it again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank IsraelHaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,139 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Athens

Property: Electra Palace Athens
Address: Navarhou Nikodimou 18-20 | Athens, Plaka, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#12 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#12 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately, with the air of an era long gone, the Electra Palace Athens, hospitable and aristocratic, awaits to welcome you in the heart of the city. Classical in its architecture and design, blending beautifully with the noble historical buildings of the Plaka area, the hotel’s elegant luxury is complemented by the majestic views of the Acropolis that can be enjoyed from the rooftop restaurant, pool, rooms and suites. Marble bathrooms; soft duvets; handmade carpets; custom furniture; these are but a few of the details that make the Electra Palace Athens luxuriously enjoyable. The amenities of our hotel will leave you wanting for nothing more: for your comfort and enjoyment, here you will find satellite T.V.s, laptop size electronic safes, Wi-Fi internet connection, and fully equipped bathrooms with hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, magnifying mirror and more. Right in the city center and within walking distance from all major sights, easily accessible by car or public transport, the Electra Palace Athens is the ideal hotel for your stay in Athens whether you are here for business or leisure: spend a summer day at our outdoor swimming pool, soaking up the sun of Athens as it rises above the Acropolis – or spend it shopping in the city’s lively markets. Wander through the ancient Agora and visit the Parthenon – then wonder at its glory, all dramatically lit at night, from the balcony of your room. Stroll around the city under the autumn rain, then warm up in the hotel’s sauna. Relax after a day’s hard work - or blow off some steam - at the indoor pool or our gym. Enjoy our delicious contemporary greek cuisine at the award winning “Electra Palace Roof Garden” or at the “Motivo” in the lounge, or with a drink at the “Duck Tail”, our British inspired bar. For bigger celebrations or for business events in the heart of Athens, our hotel’s five-star service extends to our seven meeting rooms and ballrooms: fully equipped, air-conditioned and naturally lit, our halls can cater for up to 350 people for any event type, no matter how formal: host your business meeting here, or organize a successful conference. Or, have the reception or banquet of your dreams, tasteful and impeccable, a festive testament to your own sophisticated style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Electra Palace Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing