We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further. The Electra Palace is the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Electra Palace Athens
Ranked #11 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I just returned from a week long stay the week before Easter, at the Electra Palace Hotel in Athens, with my two college age children. My pre travel research (augmented with an Athens street map) pointed to the Electra Palace as the hotel that would best meet our travel needs and requirements. What a wonderful hotel. It was the perfect choice for us.

The location in the old town Plakka on a one way street cannot be beat. The hotel is within easy walking distance to all of the attractions, and an easy walk to Syntagma Square to catch the Metro or the X95 bus to/from the airport. I suggest you take the X95 bus (5 euros per person) to/from the airport to avoid the high cab fare and notorious Athens traffic. Also the Metro workers chose to strike the day before Easter, making bus or taxi the only way to get to/from the airport on Saturday.

As we walked through the sliding glass doors into the quiet elegant lobby of the Electra Palace, we were immediately greeted by uniformed bellmen who relieved us of our burdensome luggage. Check in was a breeze and we were quickly in the elevator on the way to our lovely, spotlessly clean, well appointed room. We opted to pay for the hotel's upgraded room wifi (35 euro/wk) over the less efficient free wifi and were very happy with the signal. I would recommend this option if you are staying for a week to avoid wifi frustration.

We dined at the garden restaurant the first night, overlooking the rooftop pool and the Acropolis. The food and service were fabulous. I highly recommend at least one dinner at this restaurant. The hotel offers an amazing inclusive breakfast buffet every morning from 7:00-10:00. Everything you can imagine from make-your-own fresh waffles to smoked salmon, fresh croissants, cereals, cakes, yogurt, eggs, bacon, sausages, cheeses, fruits, juices, lunchmeats and on and on! A wonderful way to start every day in Athens! Breakfast is served in the large elegant main floor restaurant, which also serves lunch and dinner until 21:00 or 22:00. We came back from a day cruise to the islands one evening and were happy to find the excellent restaurant open with prompt, professional service.

I cannot stress enough that the entire staff from the maids to the waiters to the front desk are uniformed and professionally trained. They are attentive, kind, knowledgeable and available to do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. Even during the harried, busy breakfast hours, the wait staff is professional, courteous and efficient. What a pleasure to stay in a hotel where they know exactly what international travelers and business people require and expect.

My son and daughter used the sundeck next to the rooftop pool several times. Sadly, the pool area was closed for a few days for maintenance. The Electra Palace offers the only outdoor pool in the Plakka area and was a big factor when we chose this hotel. There is an indoor pool, which really is a big, shallow hot tub, but it closes at 18:00 or 20:00 depending on the night, and we were never able to use it. A later closing time would be more accommodating for guests who arrive back at the hotel after an early dinner.

Since we were visiting Greece very early in the season, we chose to use Athens as a base and planned several day trips to Delphi and to the Saronic Islands. Although the front desk staff would have been more than happy to arrange trips for us, we chose to use Majectic Travel, a couple of blocks from the hotel on Filelinon (the street that goes to Snytagma Square). We saved $100 on the trip to Delphi for 3 adults and $100 on the one day cruise to the islands, from the hotel rate. Each trip was 75 euro/person as opposed to 99/person if booked at the hotel. It was well worth the short pleasant walk as the family Kargadouris who own Majestic Travel spoke excellent English and also helped us secure seat assignments on our return Turkish Airline flights, on air tickets they didn't even sell! Mr. Kargadouris even made a trip to the airport to speak with the ticket counter, as my son is extremely tall and needed an emergency exit row for the leg room. If you go to Majestic, please tell them the "NBA player" sent you. The result was that my son had exit row seats on both the flight from Athens to Istanbul and the very lengthy flight from Istanbul to New York. Thanks again to you, Mr. Kargadouris! As to the price of the day trips, the next best price we found was 79 euro/person at an agency in the Monastiraki area, so they really did offer the best price for these trips.

Check out was quick and easy, with no surprises. I highly recommend this hotel for its location, understated elegance, amenities and professional staff. As to the price, I was able to use frequent flier miles to pay for my stay. Since it is almost impossible to use your miles for actual airline travel, this is an excellent option worth looking into. The Electra Palace will be my choice for any future stays in Athens. It was the foundation that made our entire trip memorable and successful.

Room Tip: We needed three twin beds so our room options were somewhat limited. Our room on the second floor f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nstargroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,629 - 1,635 of 3,244 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel is very nice, rooms are clean and cosy, but the roof top terrace is the feature that makes the hotel more than average. It has a one of a kind view overlooking Athens and the Acropolis and a nice pool at the roof top. Room for improvement is the service, which is not five star and friendliness of the staff is very random. At breakfast you have the feeling that guest are not really welcomed but bothering the waiters. Fresh fruit selection at breakfast is poor, otherwise there is a nice offer, though the eggs need to be freshly made in a five star hotel and are not to be offered cold in a Bain Marie. All in all the best hotel in the Plaka in Athens and when we return to Athens we will choose this hotel again. Great and central location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

great hotel with an excellent view and service, we will come back, plaka area is worth to visit several times, our girl 11 years old spent one hour every afternoon in the Indoor pool, lots of close restaurants, a tip, go to those that are recommended in the guide books, i.e avoid all the Tourist places serving low quality dishes.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vesslan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Can't say enough positive - the hotel is perfectly located, steps off Plaka - and minutes walk to Syntagma Square. The hotel is full service and offers restaurant, lovely patio garden area for dining - and fantastic restaurant with view of Acropolis - not to be missed! Roof top terrace and pool are such a treat! Would highly recommend this hotel. Also, when booking, book the Acropolis view room - well worth it!!!

Room Tip: I would highly recommend upgrading and paying for the Acropolis view, well worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed with my husband and 2 daughters aged 22 and 24 at the Elektra Palace Hotel in March 2014 We were there for 3 nights before we left for Santorini and stayed an additional night on our return from Santorini. The hotel is located right in the heart of most tourist attractions so it made sightseeing so much easier. Also the Syntagma bus and train stations are 5-7 mins walk so if you desire to use the airport bus shuttle it is most convenient. The presidential palace and the gardens are also close by. The heated indoor pool is not very big and the gym is very small. We were unable to use the outdoor pool as it was closed.
The buffet breakfast has a huge spread and includes fresh juices, Greek yoghurt, breads, fruit preserves, eggs - boiled scrambled poached, cakes etc. The hotel gave us a free upgrade to a suite on the top floor for the last night. The balcony opens to a beautiful view of the Acropolis. We definitely enjoyed our stay there and would repeat it if we go to Athens again.

Room Tip: Request for a room facing the Acropolis and on a higher floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PNapate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

On my first trip traveling to Athens on business, I was given the name of the Electra Palace from a colleague who told me the location was not only near our offices (close to Syntagma Square) but also in the heart of the Plaka.
A bit worn out from my travels, the doorman opened the taxi door, gave me a friendly greeting, took my bags and ushered me inside.
I fell in love with the hotel from the moment I stepped in.
Walking into the spacious marble floored lobby with its elegant columns and beautifully appointed lounge and bar area, I was greeted by the staff at the front desk and given information about the hotel and its facilities. My room was tastefully decorated but the real treat was opening my window and looking out on a view of the Acropolis. Breathtaking! It is worth the extra price to have a room with this view. If that is not within your budget never fear: all the rooms are lovely and you can have that splendid view if you go upstairs for dinner.
The food is varied with both classic dishes and local cuisine. It is outstanding and the prices are very reasonable.
There is also a swimming pool on the rooftop, equally delightful, again with a view on the Acropolis. In the daytime you can look down in a neighboring courtyard and hear children playing in their schoolyard. You will have a real glimpse of local life in Athens.
Another great feature is how close the hotel is to so many famous sites. The acropolis, of course, which is within walking distance, but also the ancient agora, the plaka, Syntagma Square...you are truly in the heart of Athens and ancient Greece.
Breakfast is also a plus: delicious, fresh, with a variety of both local and "western" style offerings.
But the real reason the hotel is outstanding is its people. Everyone working there goes out of their way to accomodate their guests for requests large and small. It is these simple gestures of caring and kindness that make this hotel so special to me. I have tried many others, including some of the well known American chains like Marriott and Hilton, and, although they were good and clean and what one would expect from those brands, they did not have the Grecian soul that I find at the Electra Palace. That's why I stay there (and all the other reasons mentioned above) and that's why I will contine to book this hotel. For me, for Athens, the search for perfect is over!

Room Tip: Ask if there is a room available with a view of the Acropolis. Some have terraces as well. They cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelique05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the E P H mainly because of its fabulous location. The view of the Acropolis is truly fantastic from their roof terrace, where you can either dine or enjoy a drink. The Hotel functions like clockwork and is reliable, however, it is not luxurious and is rather dated, but everything seems to work. We stayed in the Junior Suite 332 which also had the view of the Acropolis. However, on the Sunday morning, we were woken very early by a noisy drilling/engine continuously thumping until we left a 11am. We complained to reception and they replied "WE cannot hear it" and rudely shrugged us off. This really let the hotel down as they could have easily soothed the situation with an apology and promise to look into the disturbance

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the Acropolis from your room, as it is not possible to sit in the roof restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,924 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,414 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,412 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Athens

Address: Navarhou Nikodimou 18-20 | Athens, Plaka, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Athens
#7 Business Hotel in Athens
#9 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#10 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £129 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately, with the air of an era long gone, the Electra Palace Athens, hospitable and aristocratic, awaits to welcome you in the heart of the city. Classical in its architecture and design, blending beautifully with the noble historical buildings of the Plaka area, the hotel’s elegant luxury is complemented by the majestic views of the Acropolis that can be enjoyed from the rooftop restaurant, pool, rooms and suites. Marble bathrooms; soft duvets; handmade carpets; custom furniture; these are but a few of the details that make the Electra Palace Athens luxuriously enjoyable. The amenities of our hotel will leave you wanting for nothing more: for your comfort and enjoyment, here you will find satellite T.V.s, laptop size electronic safes, Wi-Fi internet connection, and fully equipped bathrooms with hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, magnifying mirror and more. Right in the city center and within walking distance from all major sights, easily accessible by car or public transport, the Electra Palace Athens is the ideal hotel for your stay in Athens whether you are here for business or leisure: spend a summer day at our outdoor swimming pool, soaking up the sun of Athens as it rises above the Acropolis – or spend it shopping in the city’s lively markets. Wander through the ancient Agora and visit the Parthenon – then wonder at its glory, all dramatically lit at night, from the balcony of your room. Stroll around the city under the autumn rain, then warm up in the hotel’s sauna. Relax after a day’s hard work - or blow off some steam - at the indoor pool or our gym. Enjoy our delicious contemporary greek cuisine at the award winning “Electra Palace Roof Garden” or at the “Motivo” in the lounge, or with a drink at the “Duck Tail”, our British inspired bar. For bigger celebrations or for business events in the heart of Athens, our hotel’s five-star service extends to our seven meeting rooms and ballrooms: fully equipped, air-conditioned and naturally lit, our halls can cater for up to 350 people for any event type, no matter how formal: host your business meeting here, or organize a successful conference. Or, have the reception or banquet of your dreams, tasteful and impeccable, a festive testament to your own sophisticated style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Electra Palace Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing