We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“prime location/easy access to most sections of Athens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Electra Palace Athens
Ranked #12 of 284 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Very nice accommodations. Paid for location. Could not believe that wi-fi was additional charge-even in the lobby!!!
very expensive-we only stayed one night. Promotion for dates we booked under was not honored, but room was upgraded to balcony room upon arrival. Used the jacuzzi (very nice!) and fitness center (small, but adequate).

Room Tip: balcony rooms have nice view of Parthenon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovelakemurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris A, Manager at Electra Palace Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time and post your comments on your recent stay at Electra Palace.
Please allow me to mention that wi fi is free of charge at all public areas and surcharge in guest rooms, but even there you can connect multiple devices.
Promotions are always subject to hotels capacity. If it is appeared and booked, we certainly honor it.
We are glad that you overall have enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcome you back
Sincerely
Dimitris Athanassiou
Hotel Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,636 - 1,642 of 3,307 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

My daughter and I recently spent 2 nights at the Electra Palace in Athens. We chose this hotel because it was recommended in Fodor's Travel Guide. The location in the Plaka was great--very convenient to Metro, major sights, shopping, restaurants, etc. Large, elegant lobby. Folks at front desk were not particularly friendly but perhaps that is just their way. Rooms were nice and clean. Had to pay for wi-fi in room which is disappointing for a hotel of this calibre and is why I did not give 5 stars. Wi-fi was available in public areas. Rooftop pool and bar were awesome with spectacular view of Acropolis. We ate at the restaurant the first evening; service was not particularly good and prices were high for what you got. The breakfast buffet was very good.

Room Tip: We did not have a view of the Acropolis from our room. We were on 3rd floor. Apparently, you have Ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melgfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris A, Manager at Electra Palace Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at the Electra Palace and we will certainly consider all your comments that requires attention.
We look forward to welcome you back in Athens

Sincerely
Dimitris Athanasiou
Hotel Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

What a welcoming hotel! The rooms are very clean, the beds comfortable with excellent linens and excellent soaps/shampoos. We stayed here a few days before embarking on a cruise. Located in the Plaka, it was perfectly positioned for sightseeing and shopping. The rooftop restaurant offers a stunning view of the Acropolis and the food is excellent. Make your dinner reservation so you can watch the Acropolis lights twinkle on at sunset. Breakfast is included with the room and it is outstanding with local favorites (yogurts, cheeses, olives), pastries, sausages, eggs and more. You can dine inside, but breakfast on the patio is highly recommended. There are neighborhood cats that come to ask for a handout so if that bothers you perhaps staying inside would be best. But they are delightful little beasts. The staff is friendly...both front desk and housekeeping. The concierge is most helpful with tours and other suggestions. They do have a limited number of converters for those who may have forgotten to pack theirs. A great hotel. When back in Athens we will stay at the Electra Palace.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT on the main street and NOT facing the Acropolis. (there is an elementary school...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HebbieDacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris A, Manager at Electra Palace Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your detailed review. We are truly glad you enjoyed most of the amenities and service during your recent stay with us.
We will be glad to welcome you back in the future

Sincerely

Dimitris Athanasiou
Hotel Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at the Electra Palace for 4 nights at the end of May 2014. The location is excellent. It's a 15 minute walk to the Plaka area and the Acropolis metro station. It's a 10 min walk to the Syntagma metro station, which is served by 2 subway lines that pretty much hit every spot in Athens a tourist needs to get to.

We had a superior room, which is on the small side, but this seems to be the norm for hotels in the center of european cities. The bathroom is likewise small, and the facial mirror can't be pulled out because it's blocked by the light fixture. Very strange. However, the biggest problem --- and the one thing that prevented this hotel from getting 5 starts --- is that the wall is exceedingly thin. We could hear everything from the next room, from every word spoken to every flush of the toilet to the buzzing of the electric shaver. A hotel of this caliber should have better sound insulation. One day the parents next door were having an argument with their teenage daughter and it was just a bit much for us to have to hear every word.

Another issue is that while there is free wifi in the lobby, you have to pay for wifi in the room. It's a personal pet peeve of mine for a 5-star hotel to charge for in-room internet. Added to that is you can't simply purchase it online, but rather you have to order it from the front desk.

the breakfast was good, with fresh fruit, lots of pastries, and hot food options. The servers were attentive such that they frequently replenish dishes as they ran low.

Overall it's a good hotel, but be careful what you say in the room as your neighbors may be unwitting audience.

Room Tip: Avoid 214, our room with very think walls and it's by the elevator which adds to the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whoisthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris A, Manager at Electra Palace Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time and posting your comments during your recent stay at Electra Palace.
Despite your overall impressions, we are taking under serious consideration all your suggested points need improvement and we will proceed with all necessary actions.
We are always looking forward to welcome you back

Sincerely

Dimitris Athanassiou
Hotel Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

If you want to stay in the Plaka (and who doesn’t?) then this is the best choice – expensive but not overpriced, and therefore good value, especially in low or mid-season. Last time we stayed here we paid a supplement for an acropolis view, which frankly is not worth the extra unless you also get a balcony to sit on, which will cost you even more. Our standard room on the first floor was excellent - not exactly spacious (none of them are) but it had all the usual 5-star amenities, adequate wardrobe space, a spotless and well-appointed bathroom and very comfortable bed. Breakfast (usually included in the rate) is absolutely splendid – a good range of hot cooked food, cold meats, cheeses, fruit and pastries and excellent coffee. The staff are well-trained, speak good English and are very anxious to please. The garden/courtyard is charming and surprisingly quiet. In fact the whole place, being on a quiet road, seems isolated from the surrounding hubbub. The restaurant, frankly, is not our style (we prefer to eat Greek food with local Greeks, not hotel food with fellow tourists), but the view from up there is stunning.

Room Tip: Incurable (and rich) romantics should pay extra for an acropolis view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chrishandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris A, Manager at Electra Palace Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time and write your opinion on Electra Palace.
We are truly happy that you did enjoy your stay and we will be really happy to welcome you back.

Sincerely
Dimitris Athanassiou
Hotel Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Excellent location in the centre of Athens, within the old Plaka district, 5-min walk from the Parliament square and shopping districts, with a very convenient underground parking facilities, and with very friendly staff. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0302geo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris A, Manager at Electra Palace Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time and write your comments.
We are always looking forward to welcome you back

Sincerely
Dimitris Athanassiou
Hotel Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Our famliy of four really loved our stay here. The hotel is beautiful, the statt extremely freindly and helpuful, and the location couldn't be better. Easy access from the airport via the Metro, great location in the heart of the Plaka district - short walk to the Acropolis, with numerous shops and restaurants a short distance away. We could not have had a better experience. Oh, and incredibly comfortable beds.

Room Tip: views of the Acopolis are better from the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris A, Manager at Electra Palace Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your comments during your recent stay in Athens.
We are truly glad that we have met your expactations.

Looking forward to welcome you back

Sincerely

Dimitris Athanassiou
Hotel Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 284 in Athens
3,485 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis
Electra Metropolis
#9 of 284 in Athens
637 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 284 in Athens
2,489 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 284 in Athens
1,756 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Athens

Address: Navarhou Nikodimou 18-20 | Athens, Plaka, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Athens
#7 Family Hotel in Athens
#7 Business Hotel in Athens
#9 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £132 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately, with the air of an era long gone, the Electra Palace Athens, hospitable and aristocratic, awaits to welcome you in the heart of the city. Classical in its architecture and design, blending beautifully with the noble historical buildings of the Plaka area, the hotel’s elegant luxury is complemented by the majestic views of the Acropolis that can be enjoyed from the rooftop restaurant, pool, rooms and suites. Marble bathrooms; soft duvets; handmade carpets; custom furniture; these are but a few of the details that make the Electra Palace Athens luxuriously enjoyable. The amenities of our hotel will leave you wanting for nothing more: for your comfort and enjoyment, here you will find satellite T.V.s, laptop size electronic safes, Wi-Fi internet connection, and fully equipped bathrooms with hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, magnifying mirror and more. Right in the city center and within walking distance from all major sights, easily accessible by car or public transport, the Electra Palace Athens is the ideal hotel for your stay in Athens whether you are here for business or leisure: spend a summer day at our outdoor swimming pool, soaking up the sun of Athens as it rises above the Acropolis – or spend it shopping in the city’s lively markets. Wander through the ancient Agora and visit the Parthenon – then wonder at its glory, all dramatically lit at night, from the balcony of your room. Stroll around the city under the autumn rain, then warm up in the hotel’s sauna. Relax after a day’s hard work - or blow off some steam - at the indoor pool or our gym. Enjoy our delicious contemporary greek cuisine at the award winning “Electra Palace Roof Garden” or at the “Motivo” in the lounge, or with a drink at the “Duck Tail”, our British inspired bar. For bigger celebrations or for business events in the heart of Athens, our hotel’s five-star service extends to our seven meeting rooms and ballrooms: fully equipped, air-conditioned and naturally lit, our halls can cater for up to 350 people for any event type, no matter how formal: host your business meeting here, or organize a successful conference. Or, have the reception or banquet of your dreams, tasteful and impeccable, a festive testament to your own sophisticated style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Electra Palace Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing