We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but sorry not 5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Electra Palace Athens
Ranked #11 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had 2 nights at the Electra Palace after our Windstar cruise. The hotel has a great location and the staff were very welcoming and helpful. We had a superior room with Acropolis view which was a sight to be seen, but it is really not a 5 star room. A little dated and small for my liking, really difficult to have suitcases open in the room without tripping over. Bathroom had a weird smell and it felt the air conditioning was reduced during the night as the rooms got so hot. The balcony off our room was lovely especially of an evening when it got a little cooler. The pool area was fabulous and felt amazing to be swimming while looking up at the Acropolis but really need much more shaded areas. We went to the restaurant on our first night and had a fabulous meal and would recommend this to anyone staying at the Electra Palace. Breakfast buffet was plentiful and everything you wanted but the hot selections need to be warmer. I would still recommend Electra Palace to stay but only expect 4 stars.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank clubmacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris A, Manager at Electra Palace Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and for all your compliments. We will certainly consider all points raised and your suggestions. We look forward to welcome you back in the future
Regards
Dimitris Athanassiou
Hotel Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,557 - 1,563 of 3,263 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We booked this hotel many months ago to round off our holiday on the Queen Elizabeth and we were not disappointed in any way. Having come from Cunard standards, we wanted something to equal or exceed, and this hotel lived up to all expectations.
The room we had was large, with a separate bedroom, a balcony with Acropolis view and very comfortable bed and pillows.
We had a super meal in the truly wonderful terrace restaurant with a delightful local Pinot Noir.
The pool, though small, was just perfect for cooling down after very hot sight seeing, which is very easy due to the location.
But what really sets this hotel apart was the staff, from the moment you arrive you feel special and are treated with courtesy and respect. The formalities were handled quickly and efficiently, but as we had arrived early the room wasn't ready. We were made to feel very welcome from the start and the facilities put at our disposal. Luggage stowed and then taken to the room, all very well done.
We will definitively be returning to this hotel

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris A, Manager at Electra Palace Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time and post a great review on Electra Palace hotel. We will be truly happy to welcome you back in the future.
Sincerely
Dimitris Athanasiou
Hotel Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is a very nice hotel in a great location. I would stay here again but it is definitely not in the same category as a Ritz Carlton or a Four Seasons. The beds were very comfortable but he towels were thin and hard.
The breakfast was nice but the outside garden eating area (very relaxing to escape the city) all four days didn't open for about an additional 10 minutes after breakfast opened leaving me holding my food or giving up and sitting inside. The staff at breakfast seemed unhappy and non attentive every day.
The pool was beautiful and fairly large for a roof top pool but the bar and restaurant service was very limited to almost not existing -it was a wasted opportunity. I gave up on the first day and went out for lunch and never had an afternoon drink there.
I found the front desk staff to be mixed and sometimes almost rude. I asked to borrow an adapter for my phone on 3 separate days and was told they were all out on each day. On the second day the front desk told me to go out and buy one.
We did have a memorable dinner in the upstairs restaurant. Beautiful view, nicely decorated, live music, very nice service and delicious interesting food. I highly recommend it.
The bottom line is the hotel is nice but not luxurious and can use some tweaking both in decor and service.

Room Tip: ask to face garden or for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhiladelphiaIra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris A, Manager at Electra Palace Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. On behalf of the staff and management, please accept our apologies for not have met all your expactations during your recent stay. We will take under serious consideration all your comments.
We hope to give us a second chance in the future and stay again at the Electra Palace hotel.
Sincerely
Dimitris Athanasiou
Hotel Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Everything has to be top notch to rate 5 stars. Unfortunately it's the little things that knocked the EP down. On my previous two stays, it earned its 5 stars. The things it excels in include of course the location. Rooms while small, are still very comfortable. The balcony with table and chairs provides stunning views of the Acropolis. The included breakfast is plentiful and nicely prepared. The pool area didn't seem as clean as it has in the past and thus was not too inviting.

The little things that lowered the rating started with the greeting at reception when checking in. During previous check-ins, the front desk person was extremely warm and welcoming and seemed genuinely happy we were staying there. I was greeted with "passport please" followed by "credit card". A sign listing internet charges was pointed out to me followed by "Welcome to the Electra Palace" Brrrr. Finally, I was amazed that a 5 star hotel still charges for internet in the rooms. Really? The other hotels we stayed at during our month long stay in Greece all offered free internet. There was even an entire beach on Sifnos that was wired. Charging for internet is so last century.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greg7124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris A, Manager at Electra Palace Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time and write your review. On behalf of my colleagues at the front desk, I apologize for their welcome-I assure you it is unusual. I agree with that small details making the difference; Hotel staff and management of Electra Palace are working always on this direction.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in the future.
Sincerely
Dimitris Athanasiou
Hotel Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is a luxury hotel in an excellent location from where one can walk to most of the tourist attractions. Service is very good, rooms are decent size and well decorated. The pools and gym are on the smaller side and sauna was broken during our stay. Breakfast spread is very good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gidoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris A, Manager at Electra Palace Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your short and comprehensive review on Electra Palace during your recent stay.
We are always looking forward to welcome you back
Sincerely
Dimitris Athanasiou
Hotel Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Electra Palace Hotel in Athens exceeded our expectations. It is very well situated in the Plaka district close to the Acropolis and Syntagma Square. The lobby is large and a welcome cool place for a respite to read or have a drink in the lounge area. They have a lovely courtyard just off the main lobby which is especially nice for breakfast. Breakfasts are very good and served buffet style with extensive hot and cold choices from hot pastries to fresh fruit. The staff ensure that you are served coffee/tea/espresso based drinks promptly and just how you would prefer. The rooms are a good size and we give extra kudos for the "energy wise" automatic power turn off system that activates after you leave your room. The rooftop pool is excellent with stellar views of the Acropolis. Overlooking the pool area is a wonderful indoor/outdoor restaurant; the for and wine are excellent and the sunset view of the Acropolis is postcard perfect. The indoor gym is small but very nice to have by the indoor pool.

Room Tip: Rooms with an Acropolis view would be the first choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gord C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris A, Manager at Electra Palace Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your excellent review. Guest ratings like yours, always inspire us to become better.
We are looking forward to welcome you back anytime

Sincerely
Dimitris Athanassiou
Hotel Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I was just at the Electra Palace Hotel in Athens for the second time. After my first experience I didn't think it could be any better, but it was! This is a beautiful hotel in a perfect location. The staff, especially George at the desk, did everything they could to make sure our stay was perfect, When we checked in, one of the rooms we had requested was not available. No worries, George gave us the Presidential Suite! An absolutely beautiful suite with breathtaking views of the Acropolis and it's own pool. A truly memorable stay. I cannot image a better hotel in Athens for anyone who wants wonderful service and perfect location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and view of the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bgetze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris A, Manager at Electra Palace Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your nice comments on our property and staff. We are truly glad that you have enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcome you back
Sincerely
Dimitris Athanasiou
Hotel Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
3,441 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,438 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Athens

Address: Navarhou Nikodimou 18-20 | Athens, Plaka, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Athens
#7 Family Hotel in Athens
#7 Business Hotel in Athens
#9 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#10 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £126 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately, with the air of an era long gone, the Electra Palace Athens, hospitable and aristocratic, awaits to welcome you in the heart of the city. Classical in its architecture and design, blending beautifully with the noble historical buildings of the Plaka area, the hotel’s elegant luxury is complemented by the majestic views of the Acropolis that can be enjoyed from the rooftop restaurant, pool, rooms and suites. Marble bathrooms; soft duvets; handmade carpets; custom furniture; these are but a few of the details that make the Electra Palace Athens luxuriously enjoyable. The amenities of our hotel will leave you wanting for nothing more: for your comfort and enjoyment, here you will find satellite T.V.s, laptop size electronic safes, Wi-Fi internet connection, and fully equipped bathrooms with hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, magnifying mirror and more. Right in the city center and within walking distance from all major sights, easily accessible by car or public transport, the Electra Palace Athens is the ideal hotel for your stay in Athens whether you are here for business or leisure: spend a summer day at our outdoor swimming pool, soaking up the sun of Athens as it rises above the Acropolis – or spend it shopping in the city’s lively markets. Wander through the ancient Agora and visit the Parthenon – then wonder at its glory, all dramatically lit at night, from the balcony of your room. Stroll around the city under the autumn rain, then warm up in the hotel’s sauna. Relax after a day’s hard work - or blow off some steam - at the indoor pool or our gym. Enjoy our delicious contemporary greek cuisine at the award winning “Electra Palace Roof Garden” or at the “Motivo” in the lounge, or with a drink at the “Duck Tail”, our British inspired bar. For bigger celebrations or for business events in the heart of Athens, our hotel’s five-star service extends to our seven meeting rooms and ballrooms: fully equipped, air-conditioned and naturally lit, our halls can cater for up to 350 people for any event type, no matter how formal: host your business meeting here, or organize a successful conference. Or, have the reception or banquet of your dreams, tasteful and impeccable, a festive testament to your own sophisticated style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Electra Palace Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing