We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and pool with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Electra Palace Athens
Ranked #14 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
BC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location and pool with a view”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

This is ranked as a five star hotel, and certainly its location and the lovely rooftop pool with a view of the Acropolis can't be beat. The rooms are small and very comfortable. The rooftop restaurant has delicious food and great service. A few things dropped this hotel out of the "excellent" category for me: first, I can't believe that a hotel of this caliber does not have free wifi. The service in the downstairs restaurant (in the evening, not at breakfast) was terrible, and the desk service ranged from good to impatient or surly. Overall, though, this is a comfortable and very convenient hotel, and I'd almost recommend it just for the pool.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank BC_Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris A, Manager at Electra Palace Athens, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for review and your comments. We are glad that overall your stay was a pleasant one. We will consider all your comments about wifi and for the staff at the dowstairs restaurant.
We are looking forward to welcome you back.
Dimitris Athanassiou
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,689
    939
    239
    74
    32
See reviews for
789
1,378
88
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

With a swimming pool on the roof under the heat of the Athens sun with a view of the Acropolis, this hotel is hard to beat. Perfect location for walking to restaurants in the Plaka. Breakfast is good. Reception staff knowledgeable and friendly

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris A, Manager at Electra Palace Athens, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for review on your recent stay at the Electra Palace hotel.
We are always looking forward to welcome you back
Sincerely
Dimitris Athanasiou
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
267 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Good quality hotel. Quick and professional service. Fair value
Great location for tourist areas of Athens and the Acropolis
Small swimming pool, but a welcome relief from the summer heat
Great view of the Acropolis by night ~ a very special nightcap
Rooms a little small
Average breakfast, but nice open air verandah
Free wifi in public areas ~ good bandwidth

Room Tip: If you can afford it, then a view of the Acropolis would be special, otherwise a lower floor as lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100nights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris A, Manager at Electra Palace Athens, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time and share your comments with us.
We hope to welcome you back in the future
Sincerely
Dimitris Athanasiou
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

As family we have stayed here twice now and both times have been memorable. (2 rooms last year and 3 this year)
The hotel is an oasis of charm and style from the moment you walk from the heat and bustle outside into the expansive cool lobby you appreciate what the place has to offer. The staff however are the real jewels here, they are friendly, discrete, courteous and nothing is a problem. This time our flight was delayed by bad weather in Turkey and we arrived very late, it was not a problem, it could have been 6pm given the level of service.
Ours were standard rooms and they appeared to have been recently refurbished and were very clean and had french doors opening onto small balconies. Unlike other hotels the AC is controllable, we don't like it and were able to turn it off and sleep with the doors open, and listen to the sounds of the city, we slept really well both nights.
The rooftop restaurant with the view of the Acropolis is a must but as well the desk staff will give you good recommendations for local authentic restaurants (not steak and fries) within 10 minutes walk.
We will stay again and we have recommended to others who have stayed and enjoyed it as much as we have.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitebait622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris A, Manager at Electra Palace Athens, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest
We hope to honour us again next year and welcome you back at the Electra Palace one more time.
Sincerely
Dimitris Athanasiou
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent location !! Great service... Everyone so helpful and friendly ! Awesome complimentary buffet breakfast! Stayed a few nights before heading to Santorini and had a beautiful quiet room overlooking garden courtyard ! At the end of trip returned back to hotel and were given another beautiful slightly smaller room overlooking Acropolis!! Front desk staff helpful in giving direction and suggesting and booking island tour for us. Nice to watch the sunset from the pool deck!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmacle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris A, Manager at Electra Palace Athens, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your nice review and we are truly glad that you have enjoyed your stay.
We are always looking forward to welcome you back
Sincerely
Dimitris Athanasiou
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We had 2 nights at the Electra Palace after our Windstar cruise. The hotel has a great location and the staff were very welcoming and helpful. We had a superior room with Acropolis view which was a sight to be seen, but it is really not a 5 star room. A little dated and small for my liking, really difficult to have suitcases open in the room without tripping over. Bathroom had a weird smell and it felt the air conditioning was reduced during the night as the rooms got so hot. The balcony off our room was lovely especially of an evening when it got a little cooler. The pool area was fabulous and felt amazing to be swimming while looking up at the Acropolis but really need much more shaded areas. We went to the restaurant on our first night and had a fabulous meal and would recommend this to anyone staying at the Electra Palace. Breakfast buffet was plentiful and everything you wanted but the hot selections need to be warmer. I would still recommend Electra Palace to stay but only expect 4 stars.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank clubmacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris A, Manager at Electra Palace Athens, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and for all your compliments. We will certainly consider all points raised and your suggestions. We look forward to welcome you back in the future
Regards
Dimitris Athanassiou
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We booked this hotel many months ago to round off our holiday on the Queen Elizabeth and we were not disappointed in any way. Having come from Cunard standards, we wanted something to equal or exceed, and this hotel lived up to all expectations.
The room we had was large, with a separate bedroom, a balcony with Acropolis view and very comfortable bed and pillows.
We had a super meal in the truly wonderful terrace restaurant with a delightful local Pinot Noir.
The pool, though small, was just perfect for cooling down after very hot sight seeing, which is very easy due to the location.
But what really sets this hotel apart was the staff, from the moment you arrive you feel special and are treated with courtesy and respect. The formalities were handled quickly and efficiently, but as we had arrived early the room wasn't ready. We were made to feel very welcome from the start and the facilities put at our disposal. Luggage stowed and then taken to the room, all very well done.
We will definitively be returning to this hotel

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris A, Manager at Electra Palace Athens, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time and post a great review on Electra Palace hotel. We will be truly happy to welcome you back in the future.
Sincerely
Dimitris Athanasiou
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#11 of 326 in Athens
309 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 326 in Athens
3,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#10 of 326 in Athens
1,460 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 326 in Athens
2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Athens

Property: Electra Palace Athens
Address: Navarhou Nikodimou 18-20 | Athens, Plaka, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Athens
#11 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
#12 Family Hotel in Athens
#12 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately, with the air of an era long gone, the Electra Palace Athens, hospitable and aristocratic, awaits to welcome you in the heart of the city. Classical in its architecture and design, blending beautifully with the noble historical buildings of the Plaka area, the hotel’s elegant luxury is complemented by the majestic views of the Acropolis that can be enjoyed from the rooftop restaurant, pool, rooms and suites. Marble bathrooms; soft duvets; handmade carpets; custom furniture; these are but a few of the details that make the Electra Palace Athens luxuriously enjoyable. The amenities of our hotel will leave you wanting for nothing more: for your comfort and enjoyment, here you will find satellite T.V.s, laptop size electronic safes, Wi-Fi internet connection, and fully equipped bathrooms with hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, magnifying mirror and more. Right in the city center and within walking distance from all major sights, easily accessible by car or public transport, the Electra Palace Athens is the ideal hotel for your stay in Athens whether you are here for business or leisure: spend a summer day at our outdoor swimming pool, soaking up the sun of Athens as it rises above the Acropolis – or spend it shopping in the city’s lively markets. Wander through the ancient Agora and visit the Parthenon – then wonder at its glory, all dramatically lit at night, from the balcony of your room. Stroll around the city under the autumn rain, then warm up in the hotel’s sauna. Relax after a day’s hard work - or blow off some steam - at the indoor pool or our gym. Enjoy our delicious contemporary greek cuisine at the award winning “Electra Palace Roof Garden” or at the “Motivo” in the lounge, or with a drink at the “Duck Tail”, our British inspired bar. For bigger celebrations or for business events in the heart of Athens, our hotel’s five-star service extends to our seven meeting rooms and ballrooms: fully equipped, air-conditioned and naturally lit, our halls can cater for up to 350 people for any event type, no matter how formal: host your business meeting here, or organize a successful conference. Or, have the reception or banquet of your dreams, tasteful and impeccable, a festive testament to your own sophisticated style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Electra Palace Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing