We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location near Plaka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Electra Palace Athens
Ranked #12 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in a beautiful Junior Suite. The hotel is in a great location with short walk to Plaka area and Stygmata Square. Definitely have dinner at the rooftop restaurant for fantastic view of Acropolis and great food. The pool is much nicer than it appears in photos.. amazing view of Acropolis.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank shreveporttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,449 - 1,455 of 3,206 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

The Electra Palace is a large, well located five star tourist hotel and was fully booked when we were there. It is particularly popular with American travellers and knows how to please them. The high point was the service -- especially the concierge and bell captain, and also the reception staff, who did their jobs promptly, efficiently and very pleasantly. They cheerfully stored our luggage, accommodated our request for a late check out, and welcomed us in the lobby when we had to hang around waiting for our tour to start. Our room was good sized, with a large bathroom, and decorated in old fashioned but comfortable style. The bed was excellent, but the bath/shower needed some maintenance. Wifi is available in the rooms but costs €5 for an hour, which is disappointing in an age when wifi is free almost everywhere else. However, there is free wifi in the lobby. The breakfast buffet was ok but nothing special. We ate lunch in the ground floor garden restaurant (ok, on the expensive side) and dinner at the top floor restaurant (good view but overpriced, overly-fussy food). The Electra Palace was a good choice, on the expensive side, but does its job well.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We booked on the hotel website: info@reserve-online.net for one night, two adults, nonrefundable with breakfast, 295 euros. The staff in the lobby and receptoon were pleasant and very obliging, the room quiet and comfortable enough, although a little cramped. Horrible unsafe shower over the bathtub. Breakfast buffet was acceptable and, after an effort, we did persuade the somewhat reluctant staff member to bring us espresso coffees instead of stewed americanos. Wifi is available free in the lobby but, astonishingly, in the rooms only for steep prices. The rule seems to be that the more you pay for your hotel in Greece, the less likely it is that you will get free wifi.
The view from the top floor restaurant is spectacular: all you might have dreamed of concerning the Acropolis lit by night. Unfortunately, the food is anything but spectacular: very ordinary offerings, expensive wines and somewhat sulky service. Order the smallest dinner you decently can, admire the view and, if you still have the appetite, find the nearest restaurant outside the hotel at street level.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZDAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

I would recommend getting upgraded to at least a superior room. Standard room has no views, very small room, and a shower and bathroom with barely enough room to turn around. Shower leaked onto the bathroom floor. View of the Acropolis from the pool deck and outdoor restaurant is spectacular, but not enough room for all those wanting to spend time there. Included breakfast is outstanding. Location near the Plaka and Acropolis is excellent. WiFi is free in public areas, BUT they charge 5 Euro for 1 hour in the rooms, 10euro for one day, and on to lower rates for multi-days.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris A, Manager at Electra Palace Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments and all suggestions that we will consider.
We remain
Dimitris Athanassiou
Hotel Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I chose this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews. I am so glad I did !
All staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is very elegant and beautiful.
The rooms are very spacious, classy and immaculate. Ours had balconies and Acropolis views.
The restaurant and pool on the roof offer a breathtaking view of the Acropolis.
The roof restaurant is also of excellent quality.
The restaurant on the first floor is also quite good. The hotel is very well located in Plaka.
Very easy access to main landmarks. We had an unforgettable time and vacation.
I strongly recommended this hotel and would go back in the future if given the opportunity.

Room Tip: Suites and rooms with Acropolis views are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Azulado_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris A, Manager at Electra Palace Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your compliments. We are glad that you did enjoy your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back
Sincerely
Dimitris Athanassiou
Hotel Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Spent just a night in the city and yet the hotel was superbly located, very pleasant stay,comf bed although size of room was small,,and pricy
The pool upstairs made our stay refreshing, amazing views to the acropolis
Reception was v usefull and helpfull

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Shaily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris A, Manager at Electra Palace Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Guest
We are glad that yur stay was a pleasant one.
We look forward to welcome you back again in the future
Sincerely
Dimitris Athanassiou
Hotel Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

This hotel is central Athens and allows you to easily explore all the main attractions of Athens. Superior rooms are not big or spacious but do come with an excellent view of the Acropolis. Excellent breakfast and very friendly staff. Wi Fi only available on ground floor.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barrett1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris A, Manager at Electra Palace Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and your nice comments. Wi fi is all around the hotel and will be free of charge as most of our guests requested
We look forward to welcome you back again in the future
Sincerely
Dimitris Athanassiou
Hotel Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 281 in Athens
3,384 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#8 of 281 in Athens
1,554 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#11 of 281 in Athens
2,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Athens

Address: Navarhou Nikodimou 18-20 | Athens, Plaka, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Athens
#7 Business Hotel in Athens
#9 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £133 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately, with the air of an era long gone, the Electra Palace Athens, hospitable and aristocratic, awaits to welcome you in the heart of the city. Classical in its architecture and design, blending beautifully with the noble historical buildings of the Plaka area, the hotel’s elegant luxury is complemented by the majestic views of the Acropolis that can be enjoyed from the rooftop restaurant, pool, rooms and suites. Marble bathrooms; soft duvets; handmade carpets; custom furniture; these are but a few of the details that make the Electra Palace Athens luxuriously enjoyable. The amenities of our hotel will leave you wanting for nothing more: for your comfort and enjoyment, here you will find satellite T.V.s, laptop size electronic safes, Wi-Fi internet connection, and fully equipped bathrooms with hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, magnifying mirror and more. Right in the city center and within walking distance from all major sights, easily accessible by car or public transport, the Electra Palace Athens is the ideal hotel for your stay in Athens whether you are here for business or leisure: spend a summer day at our outdoor swimming pool, soaking up the sun of Athens as it rises above the Acropolis – or spend it shopping in the city’s lively markets. Wander through the ancient Agora and visit the Parthenon – then wonder at its glory, all dramatically lit at night, from the balcony of your room. Stroll around the city under the autumn rain, then warm up in the hotel’s sauna. Relax after a day’s hard work - or blow off some steam - at the indoor pool or our gym. Enjoy our delicious contemporary greek cuisine at the award winning “Electra Palace Roof Garden” or at the “Motivo” in the lounge, or with a drink at the “Duck Tail”, our British inspired bar. For bigger celebrations or for business events in the heart of Athens, our hotel’s five-star service extends to our seven meeting rooms and ballrooms: fully equipped, air-conditioned and naturally lit, our halls can cater for up to 350 people for any event type, no matter how formal: host your business meeting here, or organize a successful conference. Or, have the reception or banquet of your dreams, tasteful and impeccable, a festive testament to your own sophisticated style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Electra Palace Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing