We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My god those aweful beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Electra Palace Athens
Ranked #15 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“My god those aweful beds”
Reviewed 17 July 2010

A great hotel in every way except they should have spent the extra money and bought decent beds.When you check into this hotel you think it is a little out of the way but in actual fact it is very convenient to the PLAKA area and parliament square is only a 5 minute walk, plus you can get on one of the red buses only minutes away to take you all around athens. The rooms are comfortable without being large and had a view to the acropolis, but oh the beds ,those bloody beds it was like sleeping straight onto a board. The first night i had no sleep and got up grumpy and tired with the sorest of backs and sciatic pain,i went down to recetion and asked if they had any other room, which they graciously accommodated but all the beds in the hotel were the same, it was funny as an american guy next to me started to laugh when he heard me talking to the reception and i said what was so funny and he told me he booked in for 4 nights but one night on his bed was enough he was out of there before he became a cripple , i laughed along with him. Because my friend had booked this hotel and prepaid i asked if they could do anything and they placed padded quilts under the sheets to try aleviate some of the problem. it was a good 4 star hotel,great breakfasts but until they spend some money on decent bedding i could not recommend it or even consider staying there

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glenroben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,771
    957
    248
    76
    35
See reviews for
830
1,431
88
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2010

The hotel itself is very lovely. The lobby, restaurant and bar areas are beautiful. Our room, located on the sixth floor, was quite small but with a lovely balcony view of the Acropolis. The bed was incredibly hard and made sleeping very difficult. The carpet and furniture were very worn. The service was excellent. The rooftop restaurant should not be missed. We found the service and food to be first rate.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gls026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Hardest most uncomfortable bed ever. On the upside, the staff were really lovely. They even let us check in early which was appreciated. Very friendly and a pleasure to deal with. The room smelled like stale smoke which was quite offputting, but after opening the windows for the day, it improved. The pool on the roof top was nice. There are not a lot of sun lounges or chairs though, so if you go in summer as we did, it is hard to get a seat by the pool. The view of the acropolis is really something. Quite a nice hotel, but they do need to do something about the beds.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geelong3219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

I went to Athens for 4 days / 4 nights for a wedding a friend decided to have aboard. While most wedding guests stayed 20-30 minutes outside the city, my fiancee and I wanted to stay in the city of Athens. We are very happy we stayed here. It is in the neighborhood of Plaka which is really the only place you want to be in Athens. This is the touristy area at the eastern/southern base of the Acropolis. I am American and have only been to Europe one other time before (Paris w/ day trip to Amsterdam 2 yrs ago).

Here are some random bullet points about the stay:

- All Athens buildings are old and this is the same. The inside is renovated to it looks nice as soon as you walk in the door. The rooms are small and the shower is only 5 feet high and cramped, but it gets the job done.

- Cleaning service is excellent. 100 out of 100 score.

- Air conditioning is sufficient. You need to insert a key card in the slot by the door for everything to work, so if you leave the room and want the air conditioning to remain on, you need a second key card.

- You can flush the toilet paper in the toilet here

- The staff is very nice and enthusiastic to help you with taxi transportation, directions, dinner reservations, etc. The taxis they call are honest. Didn't find a deceptive cabby, but some on street quote fixed price 3-4X the normal cost. In general Athens taxis are approx 25% cheaper than the states.

- There are two computers w/ printer in the lobby and wireless access in the lobby

- Buffet breakfast is included in your stay. It was a good to have. Ok but not great. Bacon is different here, not as good as in the States. Eggs aren't as good as well. Orange Juice freshly squeezed but warm and no ice. Can't complain though, because it's free and you really only want a bite to eat since you'll want to eat outside the hotel.

- Indoor pool on basement floor and "fitness area" were closed

- The building is 7 floors but there is an excellent outdoor pool on the 4th floor roof (part of hotel is shorter). This pool is literally a perfect view to the Acropolis and Parthenon. There is a bar here and it gets quite crowded with kids. Pool not huge but standard and beds can be limited but it isn't ridiculous.

- There is a fridge and mini bar, overpriced as usual, but we were able to find a spot for 1 or 2 drinks of our own. It isn't sensor based.

- There is a very small convenient store about 100 yards outside you can use to buy water. All water bottles in Greece seem to be 50 euro cents for the normal size.

- The rest of Athens isn't that nice. The ruins are cool but the buildings are mostly 19th century and graphitti is everywhere. Not a dangerous city, but just a bit old. I think they like it that way. Stray dogs are numerous. It is a good place to visit, but only for 1 or 2 days, in my opinion.

Hope this review helps...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TSLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sao paulo
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

The Hotel in Athens is located in Plaka near most of the tourist attractions. It is very nice and clean inside .Breakfast is very good and was included in our rate.Reception staff are helpful and professional . We could not say the same about the staff working at the terrace restaurant.The restaurant has a nice view from the Acropolis. We were very excited about dining there since it was my husbands' birthday. While I was getting dressed he went there, in his casual clothes, in order to check the menu since we were with our teen age son. But the staff seemed to ignore his presence. The restaurant manager passed by him 3 times and was not even able to say good evening. Very arrogant attitude. We decided to dine some place else. There are many other places in the city with terrace , acropolis view and a warm and kind treatment. Think twice before you decide to dine at their restaurant.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank valSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

The Electra Palace is a typical European big city luxury hotel. This one, however, is located on a quiet narrow street just a two minute walk from the heart of the Plaka taverna area. You simply cannot beat it for location. The rooms were on the spacious side for a European hotel. The service was no better or worse than you would expect from a hotel in this category. The ground floor restaurant has a very nice garden seating area. There is a pool on the forth floor roof (the entire building is constructed in a series of terraces rising to seven floors altogether) and an adjoining very pricey, non-Greek restaurant, but with drop dead views of the Acropolis. (The views are even better from the 7th floor roof, where there are small tables but no facilities.) I think they could do a better job of constructing an inviting drinks area on the fourth floor roof but that is a carp. Free ethernet internet connection. WiFi in lobby where there is another bar. Small elevators. On the whole, we were very satisfied with the Electra Palace, which, I must repeat, has an unbeatable location.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmgradon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. Breakfast was better than our expectations. I agree with another review submitted that mentioned the bed feeling like a piece of wood with plastic wrapped around it presumably to protect from "spills". We dealt with it but it is definitely something that could be improved upon by such a nice hotel. Would highly recommend.

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank stevek1429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,800 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#11 of 326 in Athens
1,507 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Athens

Property: Electra Palace Athens
Address: Navarhou Nikodimou 18-20 | Athens, Plaka, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
#12 Family Hotel in Athens
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#12 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately, with the air of an era long gone, the Electra Palace Athens, hospitable and aristocratic, awaits to welcome you in the heart of the city. Classical in its architecture and design, blending beautifully with the noble historical buildings of the Plaka area, the hotel’s elegant luxury is complemented by the majestic views of the Acropolis that can be enjoyed from the rooftop restaurant, pool, rooms and suites. Marble bathrooms; soft duvets; handmade carpets; custom furniture; these are but a few of the details that make the Electra Palace Athens luxuriously enjoyable. The amenities of our hotel will leave you wanting for nothing more: for your comfort and enjoyment, here you will find satellite T.V.s, laptop size electronic safes, Wi-Fi internet connection, and fully equipped bathrooms with hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, magnifying mirror and more. Right in the city center and within walking distance from all major sights, easily accessible by car or public transport, the Electra Palace Athens is the ideal hotel for your stay in Athens whether you are here for business or leisure: spend a summer day at our outdoor swimming pool, soaking up the sun of Athens as it rises above the Acropolis – or spend it shopping in the city’s lively markets. Wander through the ancient Agora and visit the Parthenon – then wonder at its glory, all dramatically lit at night, from the balcony of your room. Stroll around the city under the autumn rain, then warm up in the hotel’s sauna. Relax after a day’s hard work - or blow off some steam - at the indoor pool or our gym. Enjoy our delicious contemporary greek cuisine at the award winning “Electra Palace Roof Garden” or at the “Motivo” in the lounge, or with a drink at the “Duck Tail”, our British inspired bar. For bigger celebrations or for business events in the heart of Athens, our hotel’s five-star service extends to our seven meeting rooms and ballrooms: fully equipped, air-conditioned and naturally lit, our halls can cater for up to 350 people for any event type, no matter how formal: host your business meeting here, or organize a successful conference. Or, have the reception or banquet of your dreams, tasteful and impeccable, a festive testament to your own sophisticated style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Electra Palace Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing