We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with an amazing view from the roof”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Electra Palace Athens
Ranked #12 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We (myself, my husband, and 20-something daughter) spent two nights here and loved the location, the view, and the breakfast. The view of the Acropolis from the roof is absolutely incredible and not to be missed. The hotel itself is nice and very clean. The rooms were small but the location made up for it. We thought the hotel was very reasonably priced, also. The included full buffet breakfast was very nice as was the outside seating. We'd most definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southwest_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,281 - 2,287 of 3,204 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2010

After visiting 2 stunning Greek islands and returning to Athens for 2 days, we did not expect the royal treatment at all in such a busy and crowded city, but that is just what we got at Electra Palace. I was a bit leery considering some of the reviews of the hotel were not favorable, but I honestly found nothing wrong with this hotel at all! In fact, we really LOVED this place and would highly recommend it to anyone staying in Athens!
Fantastic location in the Plaka, close to all the major sites, awesome breakfast bar, very clean and spacious rooms, and a helpful and friendly staff. It's a bit more expensive than other hotels, but seriously worth it.

The staff was so great that they let us into the breakfast bar at 4:30am since we had such an early flight out of Athens and would have missed the included breakfast that day. They really went out of their way with customer service! My family and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Stayed at this hotel in early August with friends in a triple room. The hotel is very clean and modern. The best feature is definitely the rooftop pool overlooking the acropolis.
This hotel is just on the outskirts of Plaka area so is close to everything but doesn't have the noise of some other hotels.
Negative is that the pool closes at 7pm so have to plan your day around getting home before then for a cool off swim. Gym is next to heated indoor pool so is really difficult to work out with that heat and only 4 machines.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobnNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We spent a day in this hotel between flights. The staff is very kind and helpful, the location of the hotel can't be better, the pool on the roof is awesome with the view over Acropolis. It takes you 5 minutes to walk down to the new Acrpolis museum. This hotel should not be missed!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cece67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Just a short walk to Syntagma sq. to catch the tour buses. Many restaurants nearby. Out the front door, take a right and in two minutes you are in the Plaka!
Beds were very firm (but that's the way I like it! Rooftop pool was fabulous! (especially when the temp was 103!). We ate in the resaturant upstairs and had a million dollar view (unfortunately, the bill for the meal was almost as high). Swishy foo foo menu (you know the kind that has perfect tiny lumps of food presented as art...) I had the grouper, which was perfectly cooked and delicious! Breakfast was very nice with seating indoor or in the courtyard. Many other restaurants nearby if you'd like to venture out.
A couple of computers near the front desk for complimentary use.
All in all, a nice experience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeesaInPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

The Electra Palace is in most respects a marvelous hotel in Athens, Greece, surely the luxury hotel with the absolutely best location. Nearly all the rooms have a view of the gigantic, nearby Acropolis which is marvelous to behold both during the day and at night when it is well lighted. The lobby is one of the best in world, which like so much in the hotel is visually stunning. The free American style breakfast is simply terrific in terms of diverse items and food quality, about the best I have ever had at any hotel around the world. Considering the high prices in Greece it is worth a lot and so large that you can skip lunch, especially if you take some things to save for later. The room air conditioning was not all that effective and beds were rather hard, and you had to have ice sent up by room service; there was also no clock in the room. The hotel has a terrific pool on the rooftop with a wonderful view of the city, and another excellent pool in the lower level. But the most striking advantage of this hotel is that you can walk out the door and get to nearly all the major city attractions within about 20 minutes of less, so there is no need to use taxis, buses or the local rail options. There are a huge number of restaurants and shops withing just a few minutes of the hotel, as well as major cultural attractions. We met a lot of tourists who were staying at expensive hotels with no easy walking access to city attractions. The staff were friendly but no always the most helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank statusquobuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We took two suite rooms at the top with wonderful views direct to Acropolis - just terrific. The reservation team were very good in arranging things prior to arrival and always prompt in response. On arrival there was a sense that the 5 star experience was not going to be met. I found the dynamics between front desk and porter staff to be interesting! Porter was ok but not especially welcoming. One room was smokey. The rooms are traditional and fine but there are no special home comforts or information to make one feel especially welcome. Bathrooms fine with modest accessories. Swimming pool just fantastic in location. There is also an indoor pool and spa. Outside bar and restaurant looked nice and wonderful views. We had room service that was reasonaly priced but when food came it was literally dumped on on..no flair, no service and the wrong wine (no explanation). Breakfast looked nice but hot items were baerly warm and eggs slimey..so rather a disappoinment there. The location and gardens are a delight. So all rather mixed I am afraid. The hotel will need to sharpen its service levels to remain competitive in my view. Its not 5 star! I would return for the views and location but with caution. At no time did anyone ask if we enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TechnoProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 281 in Athens
3,382 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#8 of 281 in Athens
1,554 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#11 of 281 in Athens
2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Athens

Address: Navarhou Nikodimou 18-20 | Athens, Plaka, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Athens
#7 Business Hotel in Athens
#9 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £133 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately, with the air of an era long gone, the Electra Palace Athens, hospitable and aristocratic, awaits to welcome you in the heart of the city. Classical in its architecture and design, blending beautifully with the noble historical buildings of the Plaka area, the hotel’s elegant luxury is complemented by the majestic views of the Acropolis that can be enjoyed from the rooftop restaurant, pool, rooms and suites. Marble bathrooms; soft duvets; handmade carpets; custom furniture; these are but a few of the details that make the Electra Palace Athens luxuriously enjoyable. The amenities of our hotel will leave you wanting for nothing more: for your comfort and enjoyment, here you will find satellite T.V.s, laptop size electronic safes, Wi-Fi internet connection, and fully equipped bathrooms with hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, magnifying mirror and more. Right in the city center and within walking distance from all major sights, easily accessible by car or public transport, the Electra Palace Athens is the ideal hotel for your stay in Athens whether you are here for business or leisure: spend a summer day at our outdoor swimming pool, soaking up the sun of Athens as it rises above the Acropolis – or spend it shopping in the city’s lively markets. Wander through the ancient Agora and visit the Parthenon – then wonder at its glory, all dramatically lit at night, from the balcony of your room. Stroll around the city under the autumn rain, then warm up in the hotel’s sauna. Relax after a day’s hard work - or blow off some steam - at the indoor pool or our gym. Enjoy our delicious contemporary greek cuisine at the award winning “Electra Palace Roof Garden” or at the “Motivo” in the lounge, or with a drink at the “Duck Tail”, our British inspired bar. For bigger celebrations or for business events in the heart of Athens, our hotel’s five-star service extends to our seven meeting rooms and ballrooms: fully equipped, air-conditioned and naturally lit, our halls can cater for up to 350 people for any event type, no matter how formal: host your business meeting here, or organize a successful conference. Or, have the reception or banquet of your dreams, tasteful and impeccable, a festive testament to your own sophisticated style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Electra Palace Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing