We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect hotel for peace and relaxation with the plaka at your door step”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Electra Palace Athens
Ranked #15 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“perfect hotel for peace and relaxation with the plaka at your door step”
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We flew in on an overnight flight from Singapore and were delighted to have our room clean and ready to use. The room was very peaceful and we slept well. The rooms are not large, but a comfortable size for two. All the appliances worked and the a/c was whisper quiet Great bathroom, towels etc. We used this hotel at the end of our stay and had another room on a different floor, again of the same standard. The view of the Acropolis was one of the reasons I chose this hotel. Its position in the Plaka is worth it for those who would rather not go on long walks to enjoy this part of Athens.
All the staff were charming and went out of their way to help us. It is an expensive hotel, but it has the standards to match, I would not wish to stay any where else.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotcanvaswork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,766
    957
    247
    76
    35
See reviews for
826
1,429
88
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We've stayed here several and it just keeps getting better. We've also stayed at the famous hotels on Syntagma Square--and Electra Palace has them beat. Great location, all mod cons, graceful interior, large rooms, nice courtyard breakfast. Lovely bathrooms. Pleasant breakfast in the courtyard. Beautiful rooftop bar and restaurant. Low floor rooms overlooking courtyard may be a bit noisy in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manningjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Given this hotel is so close to main tourist areas, I expected it to be noisier but it was lovely.

I had a single room with literally a single bed - it was very small, but had everything I could want, I didn't need more space. Outdoors pool was very small and was always full when I was there. View from the pool and restaurant though was great, straight to the Acropolis. I used the indoor pool downstairs, was not very big also but pleasant, also a jacuzzi there which was nice.

Breakfast was included and was a good buffet, although the hot food was a little on the cool side. There is also a lovely garden area you can eat in, or sit in any time during the day - extremely pleasant, quiet and relaxing. This really stood out to me as I have not seen this in a city hotel before.

Overall a very nice stay, good location and friendly environment.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiChisholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We recently stayed here for 2 nights in early September. It's a very good hotel and the location is perfect, just off the posh Plaka area. The hotel is a smallish hotel and has a lovely garden outside the breakfast area. The rooms are good - we had 3 rooms on the 5th floor. We had upgraded to superior rooms and it was worth it, as the rooms had balconies and glorious Acropolis views (amazing particularly at night). The rooms are good, smallish for the rates, but that's to be expected in Europe. The beds were hard but I understand that's the way it is. One minor issue was that the tub in the bathroom had only a half glass door so at the time of a shower, the water would spray all over the bathroom floor - not the best design. Breakfast is very good, fresh eggs and orange juice, very lavish. The best part of staying here is the location - you are literally 2 minutes walk from the main shopping and eating district of the Plaka, with wonderful shopping and many restaurant choices, some overlooking the Acropolis. While I agree it's not on par with U.S. five-stars, I think it's an excellent choice for its good rooms and super location, and compared to other five stars such as the Hilton and NJV Plaza which are more far off, it's one of the best places to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BabyBearNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

I can't recommend this hotel enough! We stayed five days in this hotel and found it to be ideal. I note that prior to the trip, I panicked based on the bad reviews here and almost cancelled and went to the Grande Bretagne. I am thankful we did not. The location and the view are two significant advantages to the hotel, even if the GB is "fancier". Location - perfect - on the edge of both the plaka and the more "regular" commercial neighborhood. You can go to the tourist places or to the grocery store or Syntagma Square around the corner. Easy walk to most any site: acropolis and its museum, flea market, agora complex, Lalaounis museum, etc. AND and easy walk to, for example, Sephora, or the pharmacy if you need lipstick or more toothpaste. Outdoor pool is lovely with fantastic view of the acropolis (part of the parthenon) and refreshing after long day on your feet. Also, check out the rooftop terrace for more breathtaking views. Breakfast is good - courtyard is lovely for eating outside. We had room 503 - nice sized, corner room with balcony and view of the acropolis- FAB! (Our friends had another room and it was fine (I'd still be writing nice review if I had had that room), but not quite as nice). The beds are harder than we are used to, but my husband asked for a mattress pad, which they priovided, no charge, and it helped a lot. The whole place was very clean and the staff was helpful and kind. (yes, the rooms decor is kind of faded, but clean nonetheless). Helpfulness examples: (1) they gave us mattress pad and remade our bed without complaint or the longsuffering looks that French (just to pick a place. . . ) housekeeping staff give you, (2) I thought I'd left my ipod in the bed, so the houskeeper when through the dirty laundry looking for it for me (until I ashamedly discovered I had tucked it into my purse), (3) the desk would tell us roughly how much a given taxi ride would cost, and if the cabbie tired to charge more, the desk guy offered to come out and argue in Greek for us.
To those reviewers who say it was not "really" a five star hotel or tired - well, I can only say if you want the Westin Chicago, just don't go to Athens! Frankly, the whole city is slightly faded, but clean and beautiful nonetheless.
PS - for any meal we suggest the restaurant Tzitzikas kai Mermigas, about 2 blocks from the hotel at 26 Aischilou - best meal we had in Greece and full of "real" Greeks. There is also a pie shop (entree and dessert pies) and a lovely pastry/coffee shop on the same street - all good. Get some take out pies and dessert and eat on the roof deck. Divine!
The dinner/lunch food in the hotel seemed fine (did not eat there) but boring and trying too hard to be "fine dining". The room service menu was funny -- like a Greek's idea of what British or American people want for room serivce.

Also - to wax on - I've travelled a lot but never before to Greece. I loved it and part of what made it so pleasant was the politeness and kindness of the people. Even the "agressive" shopkeers on the plaka streets were more polite and gracious than your ordinary New Yorker in the subway.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristyne867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Just stayed one night after sailing around the Islands, we needed somewhere close to metro and train station, so handy for travelling to the airport the next day and close to the sights in case we had time to visit them. This hotel fitted the bill perfectly, 7 mins walk from Syntagma square. Rooms were good, ours looked over the back of the hotel which was ok and nice and quiet, good fittings and comfy beds, the shampoos and lotions were also good. Ate in the restaurant with fantastic views of the Acropolis, we went for the taster menu 70 euros or 90 with wine for 7 courses. Sounds expensive but choosing three courses off the main menu would be about the same so it did represent good value in a strange way and it was excellent a very special experience and a nice end to the holiday, Breakfast was also good plenty of choice, fresh orange etc although you would need a strong stomach to eat chocolate mousse in the morning! we sat outside in the garden which was very pleasant away from the hussle and bussle.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank We-love-travelling-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thessaloniki , greece
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Excellent location in the heart of Athens , close to Acropolis and Syndagma square. Great internal garden for having breakfast. ( Breakfast was just ok , nothing special)
Visit the roof garden of the hotel , to have a stunning view of the Acropolis , while having a drink or a light snak.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thessaloniki2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#10 of 326 in Athens
410 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,795 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#12 of 326 in Athens
1,506 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Athens

Property: Electra Palace Athens
Address: Navarhou Nikodimou 18-20 | Athens, Plaka, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#12 Family Hotel in Athens
#12 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately, with the air of an era long gone, the Electra Palace Athens, hospitable and aristocratic, awaits to welcome you in the heart of the city. Classical in its architecture and design, blending beautifully with the noble historical buildings of the Plaka area, the hotel’s elegant luxury is complemented by the majestic views of the Acropolis that can be enjoyed from the rooftop restaurant, pool, rooms and suites. Marble bathrooms; soft duvets; handmade carpets; custom furniture; these are but a few of the details that make the Electra Palace Athens luxuriously enjoyable. The amenities of our hotel will leave you wanting for nothing more: for your comfort and enjoyment, here you will find satellite T.V.s, laptop size electronic safes, Wi-Fi internet connection, and fully equipped bathrooms with hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, magnifying mirror and more. Right in the city center and within walking distance from all major sights, easily accessible by car or public transport, the Electra Palace Athens is the ideal hotel for your stay in Athens whether you are here for business or leisure: spend a summer day at our outdoor swimming pool, soaking up the sun of Athens as it rises above the Acropolis – or spend it shopping in the city’s lively markets. Wander through the ancient Agora and visit the Parthenon – then wonder at its glory, all dramatically lit at night, from the balcony of your room. Stroll around the city under the autumn rain, then warm up in the hotel’s sauna. Relax after a day’s hard work - or blow off some steam - at the indoor pool or our gym. Enjoy our delicious contemporary greek cuisine at the award winning “Electra Palace Roof Garden” or at the “Motivo” in the lounge, or with a drink at the “Duck Tail”, our British inspired bar. For bigger celebrations or for business events in the heart of Athens, our hotel’s five-star service extends to our seven meeting rooms and ballrooms: fully equipped, air-conditioned and naturally lit, our halls can cater for up to 350 people for any event type, no matter how formal: host your business meeting here, or organize a successful conference. Or, have the reception or banquet of your dreams, tasteful and impeccable, a festive testament to your own sophisticated style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Electra Palace Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing