We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Golden Age Hotel of Athens
Nearby Hotels
US$666
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$536
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Attalos Hotel(Athens)
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Melia Athens(Athens)
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Centrotel Hotel(Athens)(Great Value!)
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Athens(Athens)
US$312
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$344
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$304
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$197
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (757)
Filter reviews
757 results
Traveller rating
243
371
111
24
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
371
111
24
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmetro stationmegaro mousikisnice hotelgreek saladroom was spacious and cleanconvenient locationsyntagma squarefree wififour star hotelsmall balconynice stayblue linethe air conditioningsafe arealycabettus hillbreakfast buffetdouble bed
Filter
Updating list...
415 - 420 of 757 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Stayed at the Golden Age as part of a tour group and were happy with our stay.
The room was very clean and well appointed, everything "worked" and the bed comfortable.
We had however no less than 4 different prices given to to use the Wifi in the lobby and for a tried traveler that is less than helpful.
The hotel and lobby were spotless as was the bar area and public toilet.
The staff at reception tried to be helpful but really were confused over the WiFi prices. The staff at breakfast and in the bar were excellent as was the breakfast.
The location is good and yes I would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiddoBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

The rate for this 4 star hotel was very good and our room was extremely good for the price. The hotel is close to the metro and an easy 20 minute walk to Syntagma Square. It is also close to Kolonaki - the smartest suburb in Athens. However, if you take a room rate only the breakfast is 18 euros per person. It's not worth it. There are plenty of cafes in the streets behind the hotel because it is close to 3 hospitals which serve great breakfast foods at a fraction of the cost. The charge of 12 euros an hour to use the Internet is outrageous. The staff are friendly enough but do not go out of their way to offer advice. The hotel is close to Vlassis - one of the best tavernas in Athens - but none of the staff told us. it is as if they want people to dine in the hotel. Overall the experience was very pleasant but do your own research re the local restaurants and tourist activities.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank FlashSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgiamas, Owner at The Golden Age Hotel of Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2010

Dear Client,

Many thanks for taking time to write your reveiw and comments in reagrd to the pleasant experience while staying with us.

The hotel provides high speed internet in the rooms for 5 euros per hour. the charge of 12 euros was the price per hour at our business centre which includes use of consummibles, printing and the computer of
course. We are constantly reveiwing our services and charges and have already reduced all charges regarding the internet throughout the hotel. At our business centre the charge is now 10 euros per hour and for convenince we have a 15minute connection for 4 euros.

We are very proud of our rich buffet breakfast because we get great reveiws about it because of the quality, wide choice and comfortable souroundings we offer to our clients. It is of
course difficult to compare this with what is offered on a breakfast menu at one of the nearby restaurants.

I hope we will see you again on your next stay in Athens and thank you again for your time.

Regards
Mel Giamas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

i visited athens a month ago and i was surprised by the view of the town and the accommodation at your hotel.i 'd like enough the location of your hotel because it is near by the metro station and a few minutes away of the center of athens.the service is excellent and the staff is very friendly , polite and helpful.at the room where i was stayed was lightness , comfortable and spacius.the quality of breakfast and the alla cart menu was despite more than my expectations.i ll certainly visit athnes very soon and i ll prefer to stay only at your hotel which i recommented to my friends and colleauges.thank you for unicque moments that you offer me upon my stay!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank megiakorinthos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2010

This hotel is very nice and a very convenient location -- just two blocks from the Metro. Originally we had a room on the back side which was quiet but had a bad view and was rather small. We requested to be moved to the front of the hotel on a higher floor and the new room was a bit larger, which helped, but still small. The staff behind the desk are mostly friendly but on some days they were not. They were accommodating to our needs, even if they did not seem congenial. I'm still wondering if they ever mailed the postcards I left with them as it has been almost a month and no one here has received their postcards in the mail. The breakfast buffet was very good however I would not recommend eating in the main restaurant. My husband suffered from stomach problems and diahrea after eating a beef fillet in the restaurant. The meat looked a little strange and the service in the restaurant was poor. We were the only ones in there at the time. It was also odd that no one told us about the wine reception or the piano player in the lobby in the evening. I would have enjoyed that but no one told us about it. The rooms and hotel were very very clean and the cleaning staff were very very friendly. We may or may not stay here again. There is a Crowne Royal across the street and the HIlton is not far away. They may be a better choice, however more expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fotofanWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgiamas, Owner at The Golden Age Hotel of Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2010

Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to write a reveiw about the Golden Age Hotel.

I can assure you that all client's mail left at reception for our staff to mail is taken to the central post office in Athens every Friday morning. We use the central post office in order to bypass the local office and in this way reduce any possiblility of clients mail not getting to their recipients.

The hotel follows a strict food purchase, storage, preperation and serving system certified by an independent body. Any complaint we are told about in time can be traced back through the HACCP system to varify the origin , preperation method and serving conditions of each plate of food we produce ensuring the highest quality food in terms of safety towards our clients. If we were told of the discomfort your husband was feeling we would take it very seriously and do our outmost to help no matter what the cause.

Thank you for your specific comments about the reception staff and their ability to be helpful if not at all times. I have made it a point after your reveiw to improve their information and comunication skills towards clients.

Your reveiw helps us in many ways to become better and we will strive to do so.

Thank you again and Kind regards.

Mel Giamas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

Be prepared for no air conditioning. The room pictures does not reflect reality, they are old style haven't been updated since the 80's. There's no clock the air conditioning system simply doesn't work. When I requested another room the staff advised they are all like that its an old system. I stayed in January had to have the door open to cool the room with the heating on to try and balance a temperature I could tolerate. there are better hotels. The room required a second clean before it could be used.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bigmoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews