We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, but not a true 4* Hotel! I do not want to be back again!”
Review of Airotel Alexandros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Airotel Alexandros
Ranked #78 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I enjoyed my one whole day stay in Athens in a best located hotel, near 2 sttaions of Metro and one of bus-stop to Airport, but the room and the services -from my point of view- are not value for the room price and for a 4* Hotel. Not be there again.

Room Tip: Near 2 stations of Metro, near US Embassy, but too expensive for its services.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VassiliosFanaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2011

The hotel is well located, in a quite pleasant area of Athens, just 2 subway stations from Syntagma. But the hotel does not deserve the stars it shows and is in need of urgent renovation.
Looks 70´s and is 70´s. Nevertheless, the staff is very helpful and the price is not bad.
This is our second trip to Athens and we selected the hotel because it was walking distance from the Convention Center where my wife had a meeting, but after a bad experience with our luggage (part of it was stolen in a trip to Cape Sunio) the hotel was quite depresing to be and we moved to another Airotel Vassilikos, two blocks from this, which is quite better.
On top of that the internet was not working.
I

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manuglim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

The Hotel is on the outskirts of the ‘action’, but only five minutes from two metro stations. 3-4 metro stops will get you to the Acropolis and middle of the city. 35 minutes will get you to the airport. The metro is also cheap.

The area is a little run down and very busy with lots of traffic (but so is much of Athens) yet safe. There are lots of local bars and restaurants. The Concert hall is nearby as is 'Serum' Biomedical Clinic.

Curiously the Hotel has a small Church in front of it which is very rarely used. The staff are very welcoming and speak excellent English, especially ‘Esther’ who was very helpful with tourist information. There are two very small lifts that can only accommodate 2 persons with luggage.

The foyer has an attractive bar area and a restaurant which was a little overpriced compared to some local options, so very under-used. (Try ‘Mapmita’ near the Hotel for a Greek meal, with wine, at around £20). The Hotel’s included breakfast (buffet style) was taken in the restaurant and was very good, featuring many hot and cold items. There was a good mix of Greek specialities and European.

I Picked a Junior Suite 407 (4th Floor) which was a very reasonable price, not costing much more than a standard room in many of the UK ‘s Motels . You get a large bedroom with seating area, for your money. The bed was extremely wide (it could accommodate three adults!) but the mattress was too firm for my liking. I asked the very hard feather pillows to be swapped for synthetic ones, which proved to be equally hard and uncomfortable. The linen and towels were all rather harsh (but adequate) and smelt of industrial cleaner rather than fragence.

The bathroom was of a moderate size and had a bath with shower attachment with hose and curtain. However, the shower pressure was quite weak but adequate. The Hairdryer was fixed-in-the bathroom type, but worked OK. The free shampoo, shower gell and soap were plentiful but 'basic' lacking any fragrance.

I don’t t think Greeks particularly understand the concept of ‘non-smoking’ as it is still a very popular habit. I did specify a non-smoking room and it did not smell of smoke. However the smell of smoke came into our room via the bathroom vent, from the room next door. They do not seem to have a non-smoking floor of rooms?

Being October, the air-conditioning in the room was disabled and only able to supply ‘heat’ however due to the warm temperatures (by British standards) I would have liked to be able to cool the room. Fortunately a large window in the room did open.

Athens is a very noisy city with 24 hour traffic, so opening the window had its consequences.

The room, carpet and corridor décor (4th floor) was in reasonable condition but lower floors appeared to have been more newly decorated.

The Alexandros is a reasonable Hotel, with good breakfast and very helpful staff. If you get a good rate and do not mind being a little outside of the centre of the city (although not in a quite location as such) I’d recommend it.

(P.S. Visit the Kallimarmaro Stadium, birthplace of the Olympics)

Room Tip: Check out the prices of the 'Junior suites' and 'suites', you may be surprised how c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLondonGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

There are no clear signs or directories as to how to reach the hotel from Megaro Mousikis station. The hotel is about 100-200m after the American Embassy. And the hotel is hidden from the main road so it is not easy to locate - but you can ask the security guards at the National Concert Hall and at the Embassy for directions. Once you have located the hotel, you will not get lost. I stayed there because I need to attend a conference in Hilton and it is a safe area. To get there from Airport, take the blue line train heading towards Egaleo.

(PS: Avoid Omonia - unsafe.)

The check-in is fast. However, do check the items in the Fridges in your room as they may not tally - do inform the reception about the discrepancies if any.

The room is of good size for a single traveler. The shower, TV and kettle are old and basic; but they are working fine - the shower is good. The bed is nice - I have good nights sleep throughout my stays there. The room is clean and tidy.

The breakfasts are basic but nice - love their omelet, bacon and pasta.

The price to have a dinner in their restaurant is about the same as in Plaka but the taste is much much better - I regretted not eating there since the day of my arrival as my usual impression was that hotel food is generally overpriced. BTW, if you want to have a quick simple meal/bite, there are cafes around.

Their free internet is reasonably good but may not work at times and can be a bit slow.

You need to keep track of the developments of strikes in Athens daily as there is no warning from the reception. http://livingingreece.gr/ is a useful website to keep track of the developments of strikes in Athens. From the webpage, I was made aware that there would be a 24hrs transportation strike and a protest on the day of my flight from Athens to home. As a result, I checked out early and got the reception to call a taxi to get me from the hotel to the Airport - at a cost of Euro $45.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank athens s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

My partner and I stayed here for five nights as we were attending a wedding at the Hilton nearby. The hotel overall was very average but not great.

We took the Airport Express to Ambelokipi which took about 30 minutes. When we arrived though it was a bit of a pain pulling a suitcase down the road from the Metro station. The pavements were very narrow and in terrible condition so if anyone walked from the other direction we had to walk in the middle of the road which wasn’t a good idea. Also the hotel seemed quite hidden and hard to find. If you stay here and want to take the Metro with a suitcase, we would recommend taking the Metro to the next station on Line 3, Megaro Moussikis. Not a huge difference in distance but the pavements are flat and wide and much easier to pull your suitcase. Also the hotel is more visible from this side.

When we arrived the staff were pleasant, helpful and quick to check us in. The previous reviews were not exaggerating the size of the lifts they were absolutely tiny. Two people and one small piece of luggage would be the maximum! We were given a room on the 6th floor and it was in need of modernisation. The television was an old box TV and didn’t work very well as the channels and volume only worked intermittently. We had a small balcony but the sliding door was broken and didn’t close or lock properly. The air conditioning wasn’t very effective but this may have been because of the broken sliding door. When it’s 36 degrees outside though we weren’t happy about this. The bathroom was basic and again, in need of modernisation. The shower was quite low so for my fiancé who’s about 6 foot he didn’t find it very practical. Overall the room was in need of a lick of paint and a few more basic amenities. The bed though was nice and big!

The breakfast buffet which was included was good – the hot selection was basic and they had the usual pastries, fruits, meats, cheeses and bread. We were satisfied with our breakfasts and considering the price we paid we had no complaints. There is free wifi throughout the hotel and they give you the passwords when you check in. However, the connection in our room was terrible and we found that sitting on the edge of the bed in one place was the only place we could get signal. It seemed to only work in the lobby.

The Metro stations, Ambelokipi and Megaro Moussikis were a five minute walk from the hotel so ideally located to get into the main tourist areas and the airport. There is a Spar Supermarket and a few small cafes and restaurants nearby so no shortage of places to eat or drink in the area. Overall, the staff were pleasant but the room was disappointing. Wouldn’t class this as a 4* hotel, more like a 3*.

Room Tip: Top floor was quiet but wifi was not good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

As noted restaurant and hotel staff are incredible. Near American embassy and short walking distance to Metro station-Metro is a great way for getting around Athens. Hotel and restaurant are excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BlackSeatraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This hotel is located in the centre of Athens and it is very convenient if you have things to do downtown. But it is not a five-star hotel. First of all, I had booked a single room and I was given an old worn-out room that had a horrible smell of smoke. When I complained and asked for a non-smoking one, I was given a new room, much better than the first one. So remember to ask for a non-smoking one!! Then, the bathroom had leaks and marks of mould, which were things that could have been taken care. Breakfast was quite good and the staff helpful. It's price could be better though.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
Thank Catherine70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Stratos Vassilikos
#24 of 281 in Athens
610 reviews
Athinais Hotel
#60 of 281 in Athens
371 reviews
Golden Age Hotel Athens
#38 of 281 in Athens
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Airotel Parthenon
Airotel Parthenon
#48 of 281 in Athens
1,519 reviews
Holiday Suites
#64 of 281 in Athens
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airotel Alexandros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airotel Alexandros

Address: 8 Vassou Timoleodos, Athens 115 21, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £68 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Airotel Alexandros 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where you will hear your name rather than your room number. In a matter of seconds, find total quiet and calm having left the noise of the city behind you. You are now in Hotel ALEXANDROS. So close to your obligations yet so far from the busy and noisy scenery of the center of Athens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Airotel Alexandros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airotel Alexandros Athens
Airotel Alexandros Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing