We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can find better”
Review of Airotel Alexandros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Airotel Alexandros
Ranked #88 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“You can find better”
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for two nights for business. The room carpet was very dirty. On the wall next to my bed there was a dead coacroach. I told the maid and she asked " are you sure, maybe is a mosquito?" The rooms need urgent refurbishment.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyprusGeoHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GROUP-AIROTEL, Front Office Manager at Airotel Alexandros, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team of Airotel Alexandros, we would like to thank you for your feedback.

I was sorry to hear that you have mixed feelings about our hotel.

We will take this opportunity to inform you that a program of disinfection botth of rooms and public areas of the hotel conducted regularly and in accordance with international standards. Moreover, the hotel is in the procedure of a small renovation during this period.

Once again thank you for bringing these issues to my attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Airotel Alexandros on your next visit to Athens.


Kind Regards,

Evangelopoulos Thodoris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    203
    123
    34
    11
See reviews for
90
172
33
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Alexandros Hotel has the best location, excellent buffet breakfast, free parking, free wifi in room, and caring staff, but the hotel is in need of major updating. The rooms, furniture, wallpaper, carpeting, are all in very worn condition. Even though the bathroom is marble, it also is in need of updating.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

the location is excellent and the staff very kind. Excellent breakfast. The rooms are quite big, no problems with the matresses nor the pillows. The bathroom spacious using marble as decoration. The balcony was fair enough but dirty. The walls needed painting or new tapisseries. The furnitures were a reminiscence of a past glory. The moquette needed to be replaced. We faced no noise nor plumming problems. Just the slight decay that made us move. This hotel just asks for a renovation in order to keep its 4 stars.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petros S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I stayed there for a night. I wasn't impressed by the staff, they were not friendly. The building needs a total remake. Some wallpapers were teared and walls were dirty. In my room the carpet was burned at some areas. The matrice was very uncomfortable (very hard) and the single bed was too small to enjoy a good sleep. The only good thing was that it was quiet and that is very close to the center. Also important is that is Overpriced!! Definitely not a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seralios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week. We were there for a very important event and got hardly any sleep. There was a large party of teenagers checked into the hotel on Saturday, Sunday and Monday nights. Our event was early on Monday morning and we had no sleep at all on the Sunday night, due to the teenagers partying, shouting at the tops of their voices, running around the corridors and banging on the doors. Two teenage boys even tried to get into my daughter's bedroom in the night. We complained to the reception staff, who simply said they were 'sorry'. We were not offered any kind of discount or refund or anything at all really other than an ineffectual apology. Following the third night of this, I was told that a member of staff had spoken to the teenagers to tell them they were being inconsiderate to the rest of the guests, but I responded that after 3 nights of this, I was amazed they hadn't been asked to leave! Clearly this hotel trades on the large-number bookings and doesn't really consider the needs of the more casual guests, presumably assuming it's unlikely they will return. In my case, that's a definite. Aside from this awful episode, the hotel itself was fine. Not top class, but adequate. The shower in my room needed to be replaced, as it simply sprayed water all over the room, and we had issues with the fridge in one of our rooms (it wasn't working and when my husband tried to check that it was plugged in and power was getting to it, he burnt his finger). We unplugged the fridge as it smelled like it was overheating. The hotel was in a decent location close to 2 metro stations (roughly half way between them). There is not much in the area in the way of cafes or restaurants though. We found a couple nearby that were adequate, but nothing spectacular. There is a TGIF about 10 minutes' walk away. The breakfast was OK - a little boring on the whole, but adequate enough. We stayed there because we needed to be in the locality. I wouldn't choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolMurphy2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GROUP-AIROTEL, Front Office Manager at Airotel Alexandros, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Airotel Alexandros hotel while travelling to Athens and for taking the time to share your comments.
Kindly accept our most sincere apologies for causing you disappointment during your stay with us.
We have gone through your comments very carefully with the relevant departments to see where the problem areas lie and to ensure they are not repeated.
Regarding the matters mentioned above, please note that there was a school group in our hotel during your stay, but we always accommodate this kind of groups in different floors in order to avoid annoyance of our individual guests. In addition, there is always an employee of the hotel checking the floors during the night during schools’ visits.
We hope that despite our shortcomings on this occasion, you will nevertheless grant us a renewed opportunity to welcome you back to Airotel Alexandros hotel and provide you with the experience you should expect to receive from us.

Once again thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.


Yours sincerely,

Evagelopoulos Thodoris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durbanite in Devon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I had read quite a few reviews that weren't too good, so was very nervous about booking. But I was quite pleasantly surprised! Our room was lovely, quite large and very clean. The bathroom was very clean and the shower high-pressure, and the hot water never ran out! There were great complementary toiletries too!
All the staff we spoke to were incredibly helpful and friendly. Especially the staff during breakfast-they could not do enough for you...amazing!
The breakfast was really good! Plenty to choose from and eat...and all delicious! (Can't believe I finished each breakfast with cake! But it was too delicious to resist! And hey, whilst in Athens....)
The hotel was off the main road so quiet, unlike other hotel reviews I have read that are on the main road. It's very close to bus stops and metro stops so very convenient. On the same road as the hotel is an amazing Greek restaurant for delicious home-made Greek food and so affordable-Mapmita's. There's loads of other restaurants in the area too, but Mapmita's was so good that we only went there! And we never do that while on holiday!
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thulula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

As a regular client, I always enjoy the friendly service, the quality breakfast and the tasty dishes.
The hotel is conveniently situated near the metro, bus stops, taxis and shops, while it is tucked away (50 metres off the main street and Mavili square. Also, I found that their current rates are very reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th, 5th 6th floor with a view to Lycabetus hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank polygnosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Stratos Vassilikos
#29 of 326 in Athens
595 reviews
Golden Age Hotel Athens
#41 of 326 in Athens
682 reviews
Athinais Hotel
#66 of 326 in Athens
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
President Hotel
#163 of 326 in Athens
1,461 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Airotel Parthenon
Airotel Parthenon
#50 of 326 in Athens
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airotel Alexandros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airotel Alexandros

Property: Airotel Alexandros
Address: 8 Vassou Timoleodos, Athens 115 21, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Airotel Alexandros 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where you will hear your name rather than your room number. In a matter of seconds, find total quiet and calm having left the noise of the city behind you. You are now in Hotel ALEXANDROS. So close to your obligations yet so far from the busy and noisy scenery of the center of Athens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Airotel Alexandros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airotel Alexandros Athens
Airotel Alexandros Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing