We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Hotel - Totally Recommend”
Review of Airotel Alexandros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Airotel Alexandros
Ranked #88 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Hotel - Totally Recommend”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We moved to this hotel after one night at the Athinais, which is next door. The Athinais is good, and the staff were lovely, but we moved because their air conditioning broke, and my fiance was undergoing an eye operation the next day (they did, however, give us a full refund). We needed him to be comfortable. Man, I am sooooo glad we moved to the Alexandros. It was perfect. Staff really, truly went out of their way, giving us free drinks, offering to make us special coffees etc, and were nice on all counts. Our room was spacious with a great balcony, and very cool. The beds were comfortable, the hotel restaurant VERY cheap and good quality, the breakfast fantastic...all in all we had an absolutely perfect stay. I have never written a review of a hotel before, but my great stay at the Alexandros prompted me to do so. We initially stayed at another hotel because the Alexandros had poorer reviews on Tripadvisor, but I just wanted to let everyone know that it isn't true. Seriously. It's a brilliant wee hotel.

Room Tip: Stay at the back of the hotel - it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Athens23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    196
    120
    34
    11
See reviews for
88
161
32
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
412 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We weren't staying here to spend time in the room, so despite the need for an upgrade, the room met our needs. The front desk personnel were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was very good with a nice variety of things to try. We stayed two nights at the start of our trip and 2 nights at the end of the trip, so we had two different rooms. The air conditioning was fine in the main areas of the hotel, but I couldn't seem to get either of our rooms to cool down to a good sleeping temperature. Our first room was on the 6th floor, but our view was of surrounding buildings. Second room was on the 2nd floor and had a nice balcony.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImeldaMario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I just stayed one night at this hotel, alone, and I was pretty much satisfied.I was given a junior suite due to a management error so this was a very happy surprise.The room and the bathroom were very spacious.In general,the room was clean but the carpet was a bit dirty which I didn't like at all and made me don't want to put my naked feet on it..The staff at the reception was very welcome and friendly.The location is central and convenient.The breakfast was quite poor but ok.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This hotel is the worst we have ever stayed at. We don't demand much, just clean and serviceable. Our room was not a non smoking as they said it was. It had a pungeant smell and numerous cigarette burns on the carpet which had numerous large stains. The blinds weren't affixed to the rails properly, there was no light in the bathroom. The internet was for one hour and even though we used less than 10 mins we were unable to use it the morning of check out.
Thank goodness we only had one night here. On the positive side, I can't think of anything. The alarm bells rang when we saw their beaten up Airotel van which looked like it had been in a crash test.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here inspect the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank toby1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Take the metro to Megaro Moussikis or even more convenient if you have lots of heavy luggage like us take the x95 bus for 5 Euros 30 min ride the stop is called something Square. Don't quite remember but it will be helpful to tell the bus driver since the bus driver didn't know this hotel on 2 occasions. It's a good basic hotel with hourly wifi in the room. The wifi reconnecting can be a but annoying. The rooms are clean. The elevators are typical tiny European style but the full bath and shower makes up for it. It's close to the subway and close to the bus. Front office staff is friendly. The breakfast is solid. Plenty of hot and cold selection in both American and Greecian style. There are shops, restaurants and bars nearby. Good souvlaki joint around the corner. We stayed at another hotel closer to The Acropolis that was a bit pricier too but this one is way better in my opinion. Good for a few days. You wouldn't need to spend more in Athens anyway

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

While this hotel is very very convienent if you are in town for work or for a medical visit or just looking for non-downtown bargain on a decent hotel, the rooms are badly in need of an update. Visible water damage to wall paper, dirty carpet, worn/beat-up hallways...it could be so nice with a fresh coat of...well...everything and some insulation to keep the noise at bay. The hotel staff are very helpful and kind, so I can't fault that, it just needs some TLC.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyWorldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GROUP-AIROTEL, Front Office Manager at Airotel Alexandros, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team of Alexandros Hotel, we would like to thank you for your feedback on our hotel. In our attempt to improve the hotel, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff.

May we also take this opportunity to inform you that our property is in the procedure of a small renovation during this period.

We would like also to assure you that TLC is the main target of the management of the hotel.

Finally, we would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, which we believe is the biggest asset of our company.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Airotel Alexandros on your next visit to Athens.

Kind Regards,

Thodoris Evangelopoulos
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

It’s hard to find something positive regarding the Hotel Alexandros … all I can really come up with is that the shower is powerful and the water hot!!!

I could now produce paragraph after paragraph covering the problems with this hotel but rather than bore you all to death, I’ll just give you an outline:

Reception area – chairs with torn and tired fabric, photo of the owner (I guess) of the Aerotel chain (who should be ashamed), Trip Advisor 4-star rating certificate from 2010!

Corridors – old wallpaper often hanging off the walls, broken doors to cleaning cupboards, worn carpet.

Bedroom – old fridge virtually empty trying to emulate a minibar, poor lighting, broken door handle to the bathroom, broken hangers, faded wallpaper, old thin bed linen, old thin bathroom towels sometimes torn, old shower curtain, shower that is positioned perfectly to flood the bathroom even with the curtain used, wall-mounted hairdryer that could be from the 1930s that is of no use at all, bath that is only suitable for a small child, heating system that only blows cold air regardless of the setting, paper-thin walls.

Restaurant – soulless room, chairs covered as if for a wedding but in dirty old cream (I think) covers.

Breakfast – poor quality hot offering that seems to be left standing until it congeals, lots of dull cakes, poor selection of cereals, watered-down juices that are so sharp you have to steel yourself before swallowing.

Wifi – wifi is available with no charge in all areas including bedrooms but you get cut off after an hour and have to login again. You can pay to stay on for longer periods but why would you do that?

Location – business district mixed in with low quality apartments. A few shops and fast-food cafes within walking distance but nothing for Athens to be proud of.

I was here on business and therefore my client (PWC) booked and paid for this hotel. I can only assume they arranged a very low rate! My heading says it all – tired, worn and miserable .... not just the hotel but how it makes you feel after a few days!!

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caesar63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GROUP-AIROTEL, Front Office Manager at Airotel Alexandros, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time and effort you put into recording your comments concerning your recent stay at Alexandros Hotel.

Kindly accept our most sincere apologies for causing you disappointment during your stay with us. The hotel management has taken measures to avoid similar situations in the future.

We have already started a refurbishment programm so please rest assured that we will attend to the points you highlighted.

Once again thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.

Kind Regards,

Thodoris Evangelopoulos
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.2 mi away
Stratos Vassilikos
Stratos Vassilikos
#29 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.0 mi away
Athinais Hotel
Athinais Hotel
#64 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Embassy Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Golden Age Hotel Athens
Golden Age Hotel Athens
#50 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.5 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#153 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Suites
Holiday Suites
#95 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airotel Alexandros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airotel Alexandros

Property: Airotel Alexandros
Address: 8 Vassou Timoleodos, Athens 115 21, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Airotel Alexandros 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where you will hear your name rather than your room number. In a matter of seconds, find total quiet and calm having left the noise of the city behind you. You are now in Hotel ALEXANDROS. So close to your obligations yet so far from the busy and noisy scenery of the center of Athens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Airotel Alexandros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airotel Alexandros Athens
Airotel Alexandros Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing