We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, spacious suite in Athens”
Review of Airotel Alexandros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Airotel Alexandros
Ranked #80 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 22 November 2009

We stayed in a "Senior Suite" at the Airotel for a short break in Nov 2009, booking it on the hotel website.

The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from Megaro Mousakis metro station and, as others have said, very close to the US Embassy. There are lots of police patrols, presumably because of the proximity of the embassy. It's just off the main road in a sidestreet, which means the views aren't anything special (ours were into a courtyard), but it's reasonably well located for tourists.

Check-in was uneventful and we were shown into their tiny lift to the sixth (top) floor. We are a normal sized couple and we just about fitted in with our luggage - probably not ideal for any "larger" guests...! No problem for us though.

The room was very well presented - see photos for a better idea. It was spacious though the lighting and walls made it feel homely and cosy rather than absolutely enormous. There was a fridge with a mini bar and space for personal items; a safe; desk with PC and printer (with free internet access); a large seating area with a couch, table and chairs; a large Queen (King?) bed; wardrobe area; and bathroom. The bathroom had both a large walk-in shower, and a separate bath with jacuzzi fittings.

There was a decent amount of free tea, coffee, shampoo etc in the room too. The air conditioning was helpful though a bit on the noisy side when on full, and though we were certainly comfortable with the temperature, it wasn't the fiercest aircon and I could imagine in scorching weather that the room might not have been especially cool. The room was quiet and despite being next to what looked like a housekeeping store, we weren't disturbed once by any noise.

Overall we had a very pleasant stay at the hotel. The suite price was very reasonable and the room was probably above the standard expected. Good if you need a comfortable base in Athens, and small things like the desktop PC and printer in the room make it attractive for business travel too.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank so3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2009

This hotel is approx 5- 10minute walk from Megaro Moussiki subway stop, a 2 minute walk from the US embassy and a 10 minute walk to Kolonaki for great dinner and shopping.

The hotel caters to a healthy balance of business and leisure guests so they are comfortable with most inquiries. The rooms and lobby are very similar to a Hilton/Marriot and so are the amenities. The breakfast and room service is also quite agreeable.

For those considering staying at the Athens Hilton but, don't need a pool and are cost conscious I would suggest having a look at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

This hotel is a standard business hotel with nothing special to recommend it. The location is mid-way between two metro stops (metro in Athens is very convenient from the airport). The breakfast is quite good including warm feta pie. The check out was disastrous with a nearly 1 hour wait for an invoice to be printed. No choice? stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatinRzeszow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

We stayed at this hotel mainly because it was safe. It’s about a 5 min walk from the American Embassy and there are police patrolling the area often. In comparison to other areas I would highly recommend this area since the other areas in Athens are very sketchy.

The room itself was a typical European room. The bed not so comfy and a bit crammed but it was the best value for the money. The Hotel food was amazing. I think I had the best club sandwich that I have ever had there. If you are going to stay there go for the breakfast as well since there are not too many places to eat around there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2009

While in Athens in August, 2009, we stayed at both the Hilton and Hotel Alexandros. They are both in the same neighborhood and both provide excellent service, are very clean, and have well-appointed rooms. In fact, the junior suite at the Hotel Alexandros and the typical Hilton double are virtually identical in room quality. The Hilton does have a very nice pool while the Hotel Alexandros does not have a pool at all. Here is the big difference, the price. The Hilton was 320 Euro per night while the Hotel Alexandros was 186 Euro per night. Also, the Hotel Alexandros has an excellent breakfast included in that price while the Hilton does not. For me, it is a no brainer to stay at the Hotel Alexandros in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Powers-Milwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

My friend and I stayed at Airotel for 3 nights, and it was really great. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms were a little on the small side, but I think that's true for most hotels in Athens. It was comfortable and clean, and the bathrooms were much bigger than the bathrooms in any of our other hotels we stayed at in Greece. The internet was available in our room, so that was great! The hotel is about a 5-minute walk from the metro, and just a minute or two from the bus stop. Overall, a good location. The breakfast was AWESOME. There were scrambled eggs every morning, breads and cheeses and deli meats, some cold cereals, and more. MUCH more than any other so-called breakfast at other hotels. We were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank obusweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

We honestly felt that unlike other reviewers, the location is not as fantastic because when we got out of the metro station Megaro Moussikis, it was not as near as it claimed to be , it definitely was not 5 mins on foot. Perhaps the comparison came about because just a week ago when we arrived in Athens, we stayed at the Royal Olympic and paid the same price and it was definitely more convenient - at least we just needed to walk to the Plaka rather than walking 12-15 mins to Megaro Moussiki --> then taking the metro to Syntagma and then change to Acropolis and then get to the Plaka. After a while, it became a drag to get out of the place to find our dinner meals...

However i would like to thank the hotel for upgrading us to a junior suite upon knowing we're on honeymoon! A great big plus for the hotel was that it had FREE wireless internet connection provided. The staff had great service too and was very polite whenever we asked them for directions or information. The room was very nice and cosy too except that the curtains had many holes in them, i wonder why. The bathroom seems very dated in its look and did not complement the lovely bedroom however i appreciated that their shampoo given had conditioner infused with their shampoo. After being in the summer climate of Greece with so many island hopping with different hotels providing the most basic shampoo, my hair was so tangled and damaged and regretted forgetting to bring my conditioner from home.

I wished however they could have a few more English channels instead of being stuck to the CNN channel. After all, it's mainly tourists that stay in hotels and they don't speak Greek.

Breakfast was the same all 3 days , wished it had some variety. However i'm glad as a tea drinker, they had options of different tea bags with different flavours to choose. However i won't encourage you to choose the same restaurant for dinner. We were tired to walk one day and chose to eat there and were the only ones inside there. Kinda regretted our decision not to eat out. However waiter service was impeccable, especially since we were the only ones inside.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbypairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.2 mi away
Stratos Vassilikos
Stratos Vassilikos
#25 of 282 in Athens
617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Embassy Hotel
0.4 mi away
Golden Age Hotel Athens
Golden Age Hotel Athens
#39 of 282 in Athens
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Athinais Hotel
Athinais Hotel
#56 of 282 in Athens
379 reviews
2.9 mi away
Athens Atrium Hotel & Suites
4.1 mi away
Athens Habitat
Athens Habitat
#85 of 282 in Athens
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airotel Alexandros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airotel Alexandros

Address: 8 Vassou Timoleodos, Athens 115 21, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £66 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Airotel Alexandros 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where you will hear your name rather than your room number. In a matter of seconds, find total quiet and calm having left the noise of the city behind you. You are now in Hotel ALEXANDROS. So close to your obligations yet so far from the busy and noisy scenery of the center of Athens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splitty, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Airotel Alexandros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airotel Alexandros Athens
Airotel Alexandros Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing