We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Useful choice for business travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre
Ranked #39 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Useful choice for business travellers”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I had chosen this hotel in March 2012 based on my stays in 2008 when it was a Holiday Inn and it was pretty dull in those days. Location was however quite good for business. It is not exactly in the tourist hub which is good at time but yet central enough with couple of decent eating out options at a walking distance. THis time as Crowne Plaza, it bore a new look, more colourful and more dignifed. Lobby was plush but what was mising was the buzz and this is no surprise considering the state of Greek economy. I would have thought that they would be more competitive on price but were not with a std room being charged at EUR 150 inclusive of breakfast and taxes. I was however upgraded owing to my Platinum status on priority club to a really nice room , tastefully done. So I cant really vouch for the rest of the rooms and their decor and quality. Moving, I must record the quality of breakfast which was superb with a fine choice of hot and cold items.
Service was good and the reception staff courteous. I did not have a chance to use their gym or sauna. In all , I would say this is a defnitely good choice for those who follow the priority club associated hotel (IHG). WIsh the rates were 10-15% lower and then I would have called it a great choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    368
    144
    26
    15
See reviews for
137
219
65
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

During our honeymoon in Greece we had a 3- days visit to Athens and as priority club members our travel agent recommended the Crown plaza for us... well, to say the least we were disappointed... Check in was barely friendly though we are honeymooners and priority club members... we had booked a non-smoking room but the receptionist told us it was not available so we'll have to get a smoking room.. Reluctantly we agreed but as we set foot in the room the smoke and fog were unbearable! I had to call again and beg for any non-smoking room available even if it was a downgrade or an upgrade we can pay for because we're both allergic! She called after 10 minutes to inform me that she had found a room that was an upgrade but till today I can't understand why she was so unhappy about it... that was the start... the rooms are clean and spacious but very business-like, and no complementary nothing even for traveling honeymooners, unlike almost every other hotel in Greece... to top that, the detergents used to cleaning are so strong that we sneezed for an hour each time we passed in the hallways...
Long story short, its a really good hotel if you're going on business... but please don't even think of it if you're on a special vacation or a honeymoon...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariana-jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Mariana-jo,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The best part of the hotel would have to be the very spacious room and bathroom. They have this interesting sleep concept which allows you to choose froma an array of pillow types as well as a pillow spray and is small tube for you to rub on your pressure points. So all's good so far.

The most disappointing part was the front desk. At night, they are seriously under-staffed with one person who acts as concierge, front desk, receptionist and performs check-in. So we had to wait for her to attend to a few calls before she attended to our check-in. So when we called the front desk subsequently, a few went unanswered. the situation is better during the day but the service can only be described as efficient at best. No feeling of welcome felt.

The hotel is a few blocks from the metro station and there are a few cafes around the hotel but nothing fanciful or exciting.

Having said that, I feel safe in the area and it was chosen as the hotel for diplomats when we were there. So I'm not sure if I will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bottega007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
bottega007,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you were not fully satisfied with the service received. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Nice hotel, nice facilities, very confortable rooms very close to the city center.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimitris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This is a clean and beautifully maintained hotel but in no way can it really claim to be in the city centre of Athens.

The hotel is situated less than 5 mins walk from megaro mousikiss tube, it's very easy to get to for the airport on the tube which departs every 30 mins and costs €8 each way. It's a less than 30 minute ride to megaro station. Alternatively you can use a cab which will be a fixed fee of €35 each way. Cabs are a bit of a mystery around here as they really don't want your business and repeatedly wherever we went cabbies suggested catching another cab or walking. They are cheap however, €4 to the city centre made that a better option than the tube which cost €2.80 for 2.

As a platinum member the hotel automatically upgraded me to a club room plus 2 free drinks. The room was small but sumptuously furnished, the bed divine. The bath isn't big but it is both wide and deep. Hot water is abundant and both baths and showers were a pleasure. Food is expensive at the hotel, probably because of the lack of choices in walking distance and hence a captive market, plentifulful and cheap cabs mean you aren't actually tied to the hotel anyway.

This hotel can be expensive and I'm not sure it would stand comparison to some of the other 5 star offerings in Athens but our weekend rate worked up at £100 for the 2 nights which was stonking value...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I stayed at the Crown plaza Hotel with my family for two nights. This used to be the old Holiday Inn Hotel, which I didn’t like very much.

Nowadays the new hotel has it all:

A) Great Location (5 min. from Syntagma Squre and Kolonaki (chic) area / 3 min. from closes Underground Station (Evangellismos).
B) Big, Clean, Modern Family Rooms.
C) Great Staff, keen to help and advice you about Athens, museums, nightlife ect.
D) Excellent Breakfast.
E) I paid 120 euros for a family room (2 adults & 2 children) – Which is a Value for money!!

I really believe that it is an excellent choice for everyone that want to visit Athens for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnie_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriental, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Very nice modern property. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, especially if you have spent any time in other European cities. The rates are quite attractive, but then most of Athens is quite attractive right now, rate wise.

Location is great. There are several good restaraunts and bars within 2-3 minutes. Right behind the hotel is a small grocery and a couple of bakeries. Go out of the hotel, turn right and take the first right. Head up the steps in front of you and you will find an excellent little local restaraunt about half way up the hill. Go out of the hotel, take a left and the first left. Head up a block and over towards the park and you will find the Saloon restaraunt. Great place and a extremely nice outdoor pation when weather permits. A Delta airlines crew favorite as this hotel is a crew hotel.
Easy access to the metro. We opted for a cab to the Acropolis and it was only E8. Well worth it. Walk across the street to the bar on top of the Hilton for an amazing night view of the Acropolis.
My only challenge with this property is it is so Americanized. The bar and lobby are very sterile. You could be in Indianapolis. For many this is a big plus. I like to experience the local destination. This is absolutely not a negative, as the hotel hits on all notes.
We had a 1st floor room and had no problem with street noise. They do offer smoking rooms if that is your preference.
Also, a very average breakfast for the price.
All in all, very comfortable hotel with a good location. I would have no problem going back.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Club Level. Worth the difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCSTATEGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Divani Caravel Hotel
#48 of 326 in Athens
1,256 reviews
Hilton Athens
#20 of 326 in Athens
3,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Golden Age Hotel Athens
#47 of 326 in Athens
652 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre
Address: 50 Michalakopoulou, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Athens
#24 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#38 Business Hotel in Athens
#46 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Athens City Centre hotel is situated in the heart of Athens, very close to the historical sites of Athens,only 10min. from Acropolis, the traditional Plaka area (old town) and Syntagma (Constitution) square. Its excellent location attracts both business and leisure travelers.Being outside the restricted traffic zone provides parking facilities and becomes a favorite meeting place.The hotel is only 5min. walking distance from metro station 'Megaro Moussikis' and 30min. by car from El.Venizelos International airport. All rooms (standard, club rooms and suites of elegant comfort), are equipped with wireless highspeed internet access. Also the Business Centre which is located at the lobby area offers to all registered guests half hour free internet access per day.The 14 renovated convention rooms with wireless connectivity are suitable for professional and social gatherings.'Ambrosia Restaurant' with Greek and international kitchen promises moments of tasteful enjoyment and ultimate relaxation.'Nectar Bar' located on the ground floor is the perfect meeting place to enjoy your favourite drink or snack. In the summertime at theroof garden pool (complimentary use), you may enjoy the panoramic view of Lycabettus hill and the Acropolis. You may begin or end your day with a refreshing workout in our gym, or have an appointment for massage or sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Athens
Holiday Inn Athens
Crowne Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing