We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unremarkable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre
Ranked #38 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This hotel was extremely disappointing. The staff were cold and unfriendly and were irritated when we asked for a spare toothbrush. We also had some questionable service trying to get a cab. The staff insisted on calling one of their cabbie friends, who after 20 minutes called and said he would be running even later. All this of course, while we watched a dozen empty cabs go by. It all seemed pretty sketchy. The hotel advertises a beautiful lit up view of the acropolis which is completely false. Worst thing of all is that the rooms were so incredibly cluttered with impractical furniture, it was difficult to maneuver around it. We had little space to put our things and kept bumping into things. You can't see it at all from any angle or any room. This hotel failed to deliver in every way.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Mona T,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with with the service you received and our facilities. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 863 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

typically reliable IHG 4 * hotel. Had a roof terrace which was attractively furnished but in a residential area so no view. Drinks and breakfast were expensive so did not have either here. About 5 mins brisk walk from the metro blue line which we used a lot - No restaurants in the immediate area so went into town at night - felt safe walking around.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenlovestravellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Not quite city centre as the name would suggest but it's a nice enough hotel, with modern rooms and a good breakfast buffet. Nothing to shout about in terms of quality but it does provide comfort and the staff is pleasant.

The surrounding area is very residential so a taxi is needed anywhere, or you can use the metro as it's apparently close by.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeddersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear PeddersUK,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry some aspects of our hotel were not to your liking. I am pleased that our staff was able to offset this displeasure with great service. I was glad to hear you did appreciate our great breakfast.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Clean hotel. Nice staff rooms were good and comfortable. Not very near to the city about 45 minutes walk. But near the metro station. We took a day pass for 4 euros and that covered our metro passess for a day. Room came with good amenities and had tea and coffee facilites.

1  Thank Nivamohan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I stay in this hotel time to time. Generally ı really like to stay in this hotel. It is close to city center by taxi or you can walk to metro station easily. It is very quiet and elegant for a business trips. Three things you need to consider before you book this hotel. Wifi is not very strong and you have to pay for it as extra. Minibar is a kind of expensive. Finally , breakfast is one of the most expensive comparing other same class hotels. Dont forget to ask about these before you go.

Room Tip: Some non smoking rooms are not really non smoking a reminder can be useful during the reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Atacan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Check in was quick and the room was clean and comfortable with all the usual amenities (flat screen tv, kettle, desk, wireless, minibar etc.). Spent a week here on business so didn't spend too much time in the room however the bed was really comfortable and the shower was hot with a constant water flow.

I do have 2 gripes (as others have mentioned) - wifi at €9.00 per day seems really expensive, breakfast at €19.00 seems really, really expensive. An alternative for the breakfast is a Starbucks, just across the road (I'm not a fan, prefer Costa, but for €5.00 - €10.00 its a much cheaper alternative).

the current pricing structure highlights these costs - a simple solution would be to include these in the price - make the room rate €20.00 or so more expensive and include wifi and breakfast - would completely change the cost perception and would have increased the revenue (I only had breakfast 1 out of 7 mornings but would have paid the extra per day if included).

The hotel is just over a 5 minute walk to the metro to get into the centre (€1.40 for a trip) or about a 1.5 km walk. Taxis are also relatively cheap - the trip to my office was about 1.5 km away from the centre and generally cost just over €3.00, plenty of then around to flag down.

Would I stay here again - definitely, although still wouldn't have breakfast !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavefromBrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights 23 - 26 Sep. The hotel is close to the centre of town if you don't mind walking. It is clean and well appointed. We had a room on the Club Floor, the room was not as large as other Club Rooms we have stayed in but still quite comfortable. Check in was quick and easy. Other than the guy who did the check in, the staff at the hotel did not appear happy, it was very hard to find someone with a smile. The Club Lounge whilst well stocked and comfortable, was the first one I have visited that did not have staff in attendance. If an item ran out that was it, there was no one to request a replenishment. This was very disappointing, as in the past I have found the staff in most Club Lounges are very friendly and informative. The staff at breakfast appeared indifferent and once again did not express a happy nature. The first morning we waited at the entrance and the staff completely ignored us, so we found our own table, which was eventually cleared of the previous diners plates. Check out was quick and easy but not friendly. I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Club Room is good value if you utilise the Club Lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RockyBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear RockyBubbles,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate to see the service you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hilton Athens
#16 of 282 in Athens
3,873 reviews
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Divani Caravel Hotel
#52 of 282 in Athens
1,407 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,289 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre

Address: 50 Michalakopoulou, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Athens
#28 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#32 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £101 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Athens City Centre hotel is situated in the heart of Athens, very close to the historical sites of Athens,only 10min. from Acropolis, the traditional Plaka area (old town) and Syntagma (Constitution) square. Its excellent location attracts both business and leisure travelers.Being outside the restricted traffic zone provides parking facilities and becomes a favorite meeting place.The hotel is only 5min. walking distance from metro station 'Megaro Moussikis' and 30min. by car from El.Venizelos International airport. All rooms (standard, club rooms and suites of elegant comfort), are equipped with wireless highspeed internet access. Also the Business Centre which is located at the lobby area offers to all registered guests half hour free internet access per day.The 14 renovated convention rooms with wireless connectivity are suitable for professional and social gatherings.'Ambrosia Restaurant' with Greek and international kitchen promises moments of tasteful enjoyment and ultimate relaxation.'Nectar Bar' located on the ground floor is the perfect meeting place to enjoy your favourite drink or snack. In the summertime at theroof garden pool (complimentary use), you may enjoy the panoramic view of Lycabettus hill and the Acropolis. You may begin or end your day with a refreshing workout in our gym, or have an appointment for massage or sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Athens
Holiday Inn Athens
Crowne Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing