We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice staff, not. 20 minutes walk to Old town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre
Ranked #38 of 333 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice staff, not. 20 minutes walk to Old town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is not far from the old town and in a calm area. The staff are very helpful and welcoming and the amenities at the hotel are quite good. There is a roof top pool beside the breakfast room which has wonderful views of Athens. The breakfast is fresh and there is a good variety.
The room that I had was very dark. Indeed it made no difference whether it was day or night as the room looked out onto a courtyard where very little light got in. I had to keep the light on all of the time. I would recommend asking for a room at the front or the side of the hotel if you are going to be spending time in your room.
If you are arriving at the international airport, taxis have a set fare of 35€ and In Town they use the meter. Be wary if taking a taxi from the old town that they don't over charge, some will put the meter on, others won't. The hotel has very reliable taxi drivers out front and their fairs are metered.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Travel_girl_bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    357
    139
    26
    15
See reviews for
129
214
63
270
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

This hotel was extremely disappointing. The staff were cold and unfriendly and were irritated when we asked for a spare toothbrush. We also had some questionable service trying to get a cab. The staff insisted on calling one of their cabbie friends, who after 20 minutes called and said he would be running even later. All this of course, while we watched a dozen empty cabs go by. It all seemed pretty sketchy. The hotel advertises a beautiful lit up view of the acropolis which is completely false. Worst thing of all is that the rooms were so incredibly cluttered with impractical furniture, it was difficult to maneuver around it. We had little space to put our things and kept bumping into things. You can't see it at all from any angle or any room. This hotel failed to deliver in every way.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Mona T,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with with the service you received and our facilities. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prestwick
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

typically reliable IHG 4 * hotel. Had a roof terrace which was attractively furnished but in a residential area so no view. Drinks and breakfast were expensive so did not have either here. About 5 mins brisk walk from the metro blue line which we used a lot - No restaurants in the immediate area so went into town at night - felt safe walking around.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenlovestravellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Not quite city centre as the name would suggest but it's a nice enough hotel, with modern rooms and a good breakfast buffet. Nothing to shout about in terms of quality but it does provide comfort and the staff is pleasant.

The surrounding area is very residential so a taxi is needed anywhere, or you can use the metro as it's apparently close by.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeddersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear PeddersUK,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry some aspects of our hotel were not to your liking. I am pleased that our staff was able to offset this displeasure with great service. I was glad to hear you did appreciate our great breakfast.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Clean hotel. Nice staff rooms were good and comfortable. Not very near to the city about 45 minutes walk. But near the metro station. We took a day pass for 4 euros and that covered our metro passess for a day. Room came with good amenities and had tea and coffee facilites.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nivamohan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

I stay in this hotel time to time. Generally ı really like to stay in this hotel. It is close to city center by taxi or you can walk to metro station easily. It is very quiet and elegant for a business trips. Three things you need to consider before you book this hotel. Wifi is not very strong and you have to pay for it as extra. Minibar is a kind of expensive. Finally , breakfast is one of the most expensive comparing other same class hotels. Dont forget to ask about these before you go.

Room Tip: Some non smoking rooms are not really non smoking a reminder can be useful during the reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atacan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Check in was quick and the room was clean and comfortable with all the usual amenities (flat screen tv, kettle, desk, wireless, minibar etc.). Spent a week here on business so didn't spend too much time in the room however the bed was really comfortable and the shower was hot with a constant water flow.

I do have 2 gripes (as others have mentioned) - wifi at €9.00 per day seems really expensive, breakfast at €19.00 seems really, really expensive. An alternative for the breakfast is a Starbucks, just across the road (I'm not a fan, prefer Costa, but for €5.00 - €10.00 its a much cheaper alternative).

the current pricing structure highlights these costs - a simple solution would be to include these in the price - make the room rate €20.00 or so more expensive and include wifi and breakfast - would completely change the cost perception and would have increased the revenue (I only had breakfast 1 out of 7 mornings but would have paid the extra per day if included).

The hotel is just over a 5 minute walk to the metro to get into the centre (€1.40 for a trip) or about a 1.5 km walk. Taxis are also relatively cheap - the trip to my office was about 1.5 km away from the centre and generally cost just over €3.00, plenty of then around to flag down.

Would I stay here again - definitely, although still wouldn't have breakfast !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavefromBrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Divani Caravel Hotel
#48 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Hilton Athens
#17 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#33 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
Golden Age Hotel Athens
#49 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre
Address: 50 Michalakopoulou, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Athens
#23 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#38 Business Hotel in Athens
#46 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Athens City Centre hotel is situated in the heart of Athens, very close to the historical sites of Athens,only 10min. from Acropolis, the traditional Plaka area (old town) and Syntagma (Constitution) square. Its excellent location attracts both business and leisure travelers.Being outside the restricted traffic zone provides parking facilities and becomes a favorite meeting place.The hotel is only 5min. walking distance from metro station 'Megaro Moussikis' and 30min. by car from El.Venizelos International airport. All rooms (standard, club rooms and suites of elegant comfort), are equipped with wireless highspeed internet access. Also the Business Centre which is located at the lobby area offers to all registered guests half hour free internet access per day.The 14 renovated convention rooms with wireless connectivity are suitable for professional and social gatherings.'Ambrosia Restaurant' with Greek and international kitchen promises moments of tasteful enjoyment and ultimate relaxation.'Nectar Bar' located on the ground floor is the perfect meeting place to enjoy your favourite drink or snack. In the summertime at theroof garden pool (complimentary use), you may enjoy the panoramic view of Lycabettus hill and the Acropolis. You may begin or end your day with a refreshing workout in our gym, or have an appointment for massage or sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Athens
Holiday Inn Athens
Crowne Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing