We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre
Ranked #41 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
176 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Good Place to Stay”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Firstly, almost all the staff were very nice and courteous. While the room and bathroom were nice, well decorated, and CLEAN ~ they were SMALL, as were the 2 beds in the room. There are cafes and such around the hotel but it didn't feel like a city centre. One great thing is that the subway is 10 minutes from the hotel and a weekly pass costs just 14 euros (about $26 Canadian or so). Just three stops away is Monastiraki which I spent a lot of time at wandering around, shopping, eating, and walking up the hill to the Acropolis and Parthenon. They need to tell the maids not to barge into the room in the morning ~ afterall ~ the bars are open till 6 or 7 am! The maid scared the crap out of my friend when I was gone. I would stay here again but I would certainly ask for a bigger room. Safe hotel with a great huge lobby with a bar.

Room Tip: Upgrade from a standard room as the standard rooms are smallllllll.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimmmmmmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfoiMoussama, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear kimmmmmmy,

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding our Crowne Plaza Athens. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Crowne Plaza Athens a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Konstantina Tsonou
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    361
    144
    26
    15
See reviews for
134
215
65
273
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Forest Town
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Very speedy check in - polite staff
Restaurant meals good quality
Bar a little pricey but nothing that's not expected in a hotel
Internet in reception good but wifi in room was very very slow with frequent poor connection
Despite being on a main road this hotel doesn't suffer room noise
Probably more a taxi ride than walk to the city centre about 20/25 mins walk
Rooms clean with air con

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfoiMoussama, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Garry M,

Thank for your review!

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future, such as the internet connection you mentioned.

We apologize for any inconvenience that the internet connection might have caused you.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose our Crowne Plaza Athens for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Konstantina Tsonou
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy/belgium
Level Contributor
137 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza City Centre hotel in Athens for two nights / three days, attending a conference.
The hotel is very pleasant, with very good and accurate service throughout.
Rooms are spacious, nicely furnished, well-kept and with a well-functioning air conditioning. There is the possibility to have bed sheets changed every day if one wishes. Toiletries are of good quality and generously replaced.
Breakfast is good - both in terms if quantity /variety and quality of food available.
Staff is nice and helpful.
There is a nice, good quality roof restaurant on the 7th floor.
It is not very central, but it is close to the metro and it is still reasonable to walk to the Sintagma Square.
To be recommended.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank claudiac67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfoiMoussama, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Claudiac67,

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding our Crowne Plaza Athens. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Crowne Plaza Athens a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Konstantina Tsonou
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in a room on the Executive Club floor. The access to the Club Lounge - open 24 hours was appreciated.

The room was spacious and comfortable and very clean.

Breakfast was adequate but I have experienced a better selection of food at other Crowne Plaza hotels in europe. Although I had pre-booked a room with breakfast for the two of us, on our last morning we experienced a bizarre situation - the supervisor in the Restaurant tried to insist only one of us was entitled to a breakfast and the other should pay! This spoiled the breakfast for us. Fortunately, the helpful receptionist sorted out the situation.

One disappointment - despite the weather being really warm, the pool area was not open.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfoiMoussama, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Peter D,

Thank you for contacting us regarding your experience during your recent stay. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologise for the inconvenience caused during your breakfast. It was an honest mistake.
Regarding the pool area, kindly note that it is cloded due to the fact that the weather is not stable yet and the temperature has to be higher in order to have a full pool / pool bar operation.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Crowne Plaza Athens for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Konstantina Tsonou
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beds
Level Contributor
212 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

If red is your colour, then this is the place to be. It is a decent business hotel, selected because it was close to (and recommended by) a conference we attended.

In some parts you can see that the hotel is a little care worn. The staff are also perfunctory. For price, value, location it is reasonable. I cannot say that this is the best hotel one has stayed in, but it is by no means the worse.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MortimerLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cr0wnePlazaAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear MortimerLake,

Thank you for contacting us regarding your experience during your recent stay. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Crowne Plaza for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Konstantina Tsonou
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
331 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

As a Platinum Ambassador member, i got upgraded to a Club floor room. The rooms are very small, pillows uncomfortable, not the ones we are used to at Crowne Plazas.
Internet is very slow and frustrating for a business hotel.
The breakfast is just like a canteen, and there are limited attractions near by.
Staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a balcony to allow for some space
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toomuchtravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cr0wnePlazaAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Toomuchtravel2013,

First of all we would like to thank you for your review !
We are very sorry to find out that you were not fully satisfied with your stay in our Crowne Plaza Athens.

Kindly note that all the Crowne Plaza Hotels' have the same standards regarding linen and we were surprised that you were not satisfied with the pillows.
Regarding breakfast and internet we take your comments under consderation and we will do our best to improve those services.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Crowne Plaza for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Konstantina Tsonou
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Standard Business Hotel. Small lobby with nice bar and lounge area. Food from room service not bad, but not particularly good. More along the lines of a Holiday Inn (in fact, it used to be one before it was re-branded), than a 5-Star property - which is how it is advertised. Has all the amenities for business stay, and centrally located so easy to get around.

Internet was very slow so may consider staying at another property should I go back. Also, taxis in Athens are very expensive - and Greek taxi drivers are scammers - so advise to stay in a neighborhood which are more ´social´to avoid always needing a taxi to get around

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kal3o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear msiegfried84,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the inconvenience the internet connection may have caused. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Divani Caravel Hotel
#49 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Hilton Athens
#19 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Golden Age Hotel Athens
#52 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#33 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre
Address: 50 Michalakopoulou, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Athens
#25 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#38 Business Hotel in Athens
#46 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Athens City Centre hotel is situated in the heart of Athens, very close to the historical sites of Athens,only 10min. from Acropolis, the traditional Plaka area (old town) and Syntagma (Constitution) square. Its excellent location attracts both business and leisure travelers.Being outside the restricted traffic zone provides parking facilities and becomes a favorite meeting place.The hotel is only 5min. walking distance from metro station 'Megaro Moussikis' and 30min. by car from El.Venizelos International airport. All rooms (standard, club rooms and suites of elegant comfort), are equipped with wireless highspeed internet access. Also the Business Centre which is located at the lobby area offers to all registered guests half hour free internet access per day.The 14 renovated convention rooms with wireless connectivity are suitable for professional and social gatherings.'Ambrosia Restaurant' with Greek and international kitchen promises moments of tasteful enjoyment and ultimate relaxation.'Nectar Bar' located on the ground floor is the perfect meeting place to enjoy your favourite drink or snack. In the summertime at theroof garden pool (complimentary use), you may enjoy the panoramic view of Lycabettus hill and the Acropolis. You may begin or end your day with a refreshing workout in our gym, or have an appointment for massage or sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Athens
Holiday Inn Athens
Crowne Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing