We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Acropolis Select Hotel
Ranked #50 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
232 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Good location and value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

This is a nice little hotel tugged away one lane behind the main road and so, relatively quiet at night. It is also just 2-3 minutes from the mass transit and less than 10mins walk to the touristy Plaka area, which is also next to the Acropolis. The lane where the hotel is is relatively deserted at night but we did not feel any sense of unease at all. There are also a few cafes and a fast food joint just around the corner, one with rather decent Italian food too, if you get tired of the traditional Greek sandwich or roasted meat.

Room is typically small but clean and well maintained. We were lucky to get a high floor with a view of the Acropolis, which is lighted up at night. The breakfast buffet was more than sufficient and the dining room well decorated and pleasant.

As a bonus, if you are planning to visit the Temple of Poseidon, the bus routes along the main road parallel with the hotel's lane. Altogether this hotel is very decent value.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for a chance to view the Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tantiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Tantiko,

Greetings from Athens and from the Acropolis Select Hotel!

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel!
We are pleased that the hotel's convenient location, facilities and breakfast were well suited to your requirements.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    354
    135
    15
    12
See reviews for
117
307
65
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

The Acropolis Hotel has a very good location, close to most of the major ruins and attractions. We found walking was the best way to get around, and having been duly robbed of over fifty euros by a cab driver, was a little shy on getting back into a cab. The rooms are adequate, very clean and have the benefit of a balcony. The included breakfast was very good with a selection of fruits, cereals and cooked items. The lady that looks after the breakfast is on the ball and is constantly replenishing items.We also found the front desk staff very helpful, and knowledgable, nothing is ever too much trouble.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimS456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Lim S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.

I am so sorry for the incident you experienced with the taxi driver.
On the other hand, we are so pleased to hear that our hotel has met your expectations.

We thank you once more and we do hope welcoming you back to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Acropolis Select Hotel. Great location. Within walking distance (about 25-30 mins) to most attractions- Hadrian's Arch, The Acropolis Museum, Plaka, etc... Just 2 blocks away from the Metro station, which made it very convenient. Eateries around the corner, made it easy to have a quick breakfast of a light dinner.
Hotel Reception was very helpful and approachable.
Breakfast at the hotel was decent.
However, the bedroom wasn't what I had expected, having seen the photos on the website. The bedroom, although clean, was rather small, dark and dated. The bathrooms were clean, but really dated and needed some renovations to bring the rooms up to date.
The 2 inconveniences in my opinion is that 1) Wifi is only available at the Lobby. Which made it very inconvenient. 2) There are a few steps leading up to the Lobby and no one to help you with your heavy luggage up those stairs!

Room Tip: Rooms on the side street were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Tantravels,

Thank you for sharing your experience you had with us with TripAdvisor's readers.

Whilst we are pleased that you were satisfied with our service, location and breakfast, we are sorry that some aspects of your experience fell below your expectations. Your comments are certainly being considered for future improvements of the hotel.

We thank you once more for your review and we do hope to welcoming you back in Athens and to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-mammes, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Great location as it is close to the metro station and all the historical sites. The walk to the Acropolis is really enjoyable. The staff is very nice and helpful and buffet breakfast is included in the price...The rooms have comfortable beds, bathrooms, and air conditioning. We enjoyed a small balcony too. Our room was a bit noisy though, we could hear the TV from next door.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDoo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear MrsDoo77,

Greetings from Athens and from the Acropolis Select Hotel!

Thank you very much for sharing your experience you had to our hotel with the readers of TripAdvisor!

We are so pleased that you had a nice stay with us and enjoyed our primary location.

The entire team of the Acropolis Select Hotel wishes you the best and we hope welcoming you back on your next visit in Athens!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed 2 days at the Acropolis Select hotel the middle of May, 2013. The hotel was clean, and close to the acropolis. the neighborhood seem a little run-down, but we did not feel uncomfortable there. The breakfast was very good and plentiful. We hopped on the Red bus that one could hop on and off. One of the stops was very close to the hotel. While not a 5 star hotel, it was very comfortable and clean. The staff was courteous and informative. We would certainly stay again at the Acropolis Select.

Room Tip: there is a one person elevator if stairs are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgian225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear georgian225,

Thank you for your review!

We really appreciate your positive comments about your recent stay with us and we do hope to welcome you back in Athens and to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Not a bad hotel. The rooms were adequate but the bathroom was rather small. 12 of us went and were basically of the same opinion. The food was not the best we had on our holiday and the bar was out of draft beer and tonic water although the barman did go to local shop to get some more tonic water.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gangad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I think that's a pretty good city hotel with rich breakfast (it is subjective to say whether it is good or not because each person is unique) but personally I liked it.
I went to a period with strikes and it somewhat harder for our movements but the location is ideal if someone wants to go in the city center on foot and more importantly feel safe. I will definitely choose again and would definitely recommend it to friends.
Perhaps the hotel manager should think if it is possible to reduce the price or simply provide free internet access in the rooms because I am sure that with such kind staff is a shame to have unhappy guests.
On the other hand the free access granted to public places gives opportunity for people to say "good morning" and socialize.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasilis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Vasilis F,

Thank you for sharing this wonderful review and recommending our hotel to TripAdvisor readers!
We are delighted you really appreciated our location within walking distance to the main sightseeing.
We are glad you enjoyed the variety of our breakfast and the service provided from our colleagues.
Concerning wifi, we are looking into this matter and we do hope that it will be sorted out shortly.

We thank you once more and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon during your future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#25 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#43 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#26 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Tony
#49 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acropolis Select Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acropolis Select Hotel

Property: Acropolis Select Hotel
Address: 37-39 Falirou, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Acropolis Select Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Athens and within walking distance to many of the city’s main attractions, the Acropolis Select Hotel is the perfect place to stay during your next visit to Greece’s capital. A short stroll from the hotel places guests at the ancient site of the Acropolis, the New Acropolis Museum and the Plaka District, while other major landmarks such as Syntagma Square, the Temple of Olympian Zeus and the Flee Market as well as the city’s shopping hotspots are within easy reach. The property is a stone’s throw away from metro, tram and bus stations, making traveling around the city and its beach suburbs very convenient.This 72 room hotel has recently undergone renovation, fitted with elegant Italian design furniture, fine German fabrics and original pieces of art inspired from ancient Greece, which add to its modern, stylish decor and welcoming ambiance. American buffet breakfast is served daily and there is free Wi-Fi access in all public areas. Whether traveling on business or pleasure, the warm hospitality of its friendly staff will ensure that guests experience a comfortable and most memorable stay at the best value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acropolis Select Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acropolis Select
Acropolis Select Athens
Acropolis Select Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing