We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Athens best value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Acropolis Select Hotel
Ranked #55 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Athens best value”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at the Acropolis select for a total of 6 days.. We were part of a Rick Steve's tour for part of the stay plus a couple of days before and after the tour. The rooms were great for the little time we spent in them. They were small (including the bathroom) but they were very clean and the hotel couldn't have been more conveniently located. You can see the Acropolis from the top floors in the front side of the hotel. The staff was the best customer service oriented people I have ever had in Europe. You asked and they delivered. The breakfast was good everyday and they tried to vary the offerings each day. The only complaints I had were the mattresses were super firm, but I got use to it, and the rooms facing the back of the hotel were on a main street and a lot of road noise. Ear plugs furnished by Rick Steve's tours took care of that problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front of the hotel. Other wise everything is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Barry P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel!

It is a delight to know you had an enjoyable stay and we really appreciate your kind comments for the services provided from our team, our breakfast and location.

We look forward to your return when you visit Athens again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    366
    138
    16
    12
See reviews for
119
314
67
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

My first experience with the Acropolis Select Hotel was... Let's be honest, HORRIBLE. The street is located on is shaddy, scary, like I'm going to get robbed kind of street.

The Acropolis is very close, you can walk there. It's a cheap location right around the corner from a nicer area.

My fiance and I had booked a queen bed for our first day in Greece. It was NOT a queen but to twin beds pushed together. I'm not sure if it would make it better, but they didn't even make the bed like a queen with queen sheets. It was 2 twin beds squished together, I had to pull the blanket from inbetween the crack of our beds and it was hard to sleep with my loved one (Falling in the crack and all). I asked and they said all their rooms are like that and they pulled them apart for other guest depending on the reservation, arg.

Plus the bed smelled! I spent some time deducing the smell while I was TRYING to fall asleep and decided it was some sort of fish that was cleaned up (not well at all) with a alcohol or astringent. It was not a pleasant smell.

Our balcony had a wonderful view of some strange man's balcony. The buildings are so close together, I bet he could just climb into our balcony if he wanted to. Our room faced a noisy street as well.

The staff is hit and miss. If you are standing at the front desk they are nice as can be. If you need help and your not standing in front of staff, getting help is like pulling teeth.

Very disappointed and annoyed with a the great reviews they have. DO NOT STAY HERE!

Oh and when I left my bags to go to the Acropolis, 3 hours later when I came back they where moved and we had to go searching for them.

BE FOR WARNED!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimiko R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Rooms were excellent. Reception staff amazing, very helpful. Breakfast outstanding. The flexibility of checking in and checking out was great. Having internet access was great. I will definately come here again without any hesitation. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ecaterina2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Ecaterina2014,

Greetings from Athens and from the Acropolis Select Hotel!

We thank you so very much for your great review!

We are delighted that you loved your experience at our hotel!

The entire team of the Acropolis Select Hotel wishes you the best and we hope to welcoming you back in Athens really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Great location, lovely and clean room, staff were always friendly and helpful.

Not the hotel's fault but had incredibly loud guests on our floor each night - resulting in broken, if any sleep for me as a light sleeper. For 4 nights! Why people feel the need to talk at the tops of their voices in hallways and make noise at all hours of the night I'll never know. However, what the hotel can control is soundproofing. I shouldn't be able to hear every single sound from surrounding rooms and the hallway and not be able to sleep because of it.

Wifi also did not work for me at all - not on mobile or tablet. I was in a twin room and my brother could get some wifi using his laptop however.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophia382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed one night at the hotel Acropolis Select in Athens several days ago. Everything was fine but when I tried to book the room I've had problem with reservation because the hotel does not accept VISA VIRTUON. The problem is solved by using another credit card. So it might without that.
Hotel is about 5 min walk outside from the old city center. Rooms are simple and small but comfortable and very clean. Staff is really friendly. Breakfast was very good. Room price is about 50 euros, which is quite decent for such a city like Athens.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Minatas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Nice toilet, have small lift. Good location and value for money. The only setback is the poor wifi reception. Have to ask staffs to reset router before it works even in lobby.

Other than that it was fine. Breakfast was not too bad too.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Seah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed in Acropolis Select for Easter 2014 for 3 nights.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Although, we arrived earlier than the check-in time, Matina checked us in, gave some good hints for Athens. Generally, the staff is the best of this hotel.
The rooms are being cleaned on a daily basis, so no complains here. Hot water available all the time.
The location is perfect - at a walking distance from everything and yet in a quiet street. Two metro stations "Acropolis" and "Singru-Fix" very close (the second one is 50 m or so).
Now the downsides:
What disappointed me a lot is that almost nothing that was there as description of the rooms, was actually present (or at least not in room 109):
- spacious balconies - you can not stay on the balcony and close the door of the room. The width is about 40-50 cm.
- broadband internet connection - they explained that there is a problem and they will try to fix it, but since it was a holiday that did not happen. On our last morning we finally had some internet, but the reception was very bad.
- soundproof rooms - Yeap :) If soundproof means that you can hear every sound coming from the corridor, the other rooms or showers/toilets. I think that this is the worst about the room e stayed.
- The so called satellite TV had only BBC as English language channel, plus one French.
- The shower is also not very comfortable.
I know that it was a discount offer (we payed 40 euros a night), but I feel obliged to share this, since the normal rate according to the price list in the room is 267 euro and it definitely does not deserve that much.

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms on the upper floor are better than the one we got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KidThunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#25 of 325 in Athens
993 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#27 of 325 in Athens
699 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#52 of 325 in Athens
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Airotel Parthenon
Airotel Parthenon
#51 of 325 in Athens
1,451 reviews
Hotel Tony
#43 of 325 in Athens
571 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 325 in Athens
2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acropolis Select Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acropolis Select Hotel

Property: Acropolis Select Hotel
Address: 37-39 Falirou, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Acropolis Select Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Athens and within walking distance to many of the city’s main attractions, the Acropolis Select Hotel is the perfect place to stay during your next visit to Greece’s capital. A short stroll from the hotel places guests at the ancient site of the Acropolis, the New Acropolis Museum and the Plaka District, while other major landmarks such as Syntagma Square, the Temple of Olympian Zeus and the Flee Market as well as the city’s shopping hotspots are within easy reach. The property is a stone’s throw away from metro, tram and bus stations, making traveling around the city and its beach suburbs very convenient.This 72 room hotel has recently undergone renovation, fitted with elegant Italian design furniture, fine German fabrics and original pieces of art inspired from ancient Greece, which add to its modern, stylish decor and welcoming ambiance. American buffet breakfast is served daily and there is free Wi-Fi access in all public areas. Whether traveling on business or pleasure, the warm hospitality of its friendly staff will ensure that guests experience a comfortable and most memorable stay at the best value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Acropolis Select Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acropolis Select
Acropolis Select Athens
Acropolis Select Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing