We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Divani Palace Acropolis
Ranked #69 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Evander
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Location and service”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Second stay at this hotel and still satisfied that for a visit where you want to visit the ancient sites it is the best located, the staff makes the hotel five star. Most areas can be visited on foot, and if you need a taxi just ask the front desk to call one. Restaurant serves an excellent breakfast buffet and try the soup of the day for dinner or supper.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Acropolis side of the hotel, also have an evening in the roof garden restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerttravelnovice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    634
    325
    93
    49
See reviews for
341
567
71
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Let me give a disclaimer on the Divani. This is not the Ritz Carlton. Please be aware five stars in Greece does not mean you are getting the Waldorf. If you want that find one of the new hotels that are on the outskirts of Athens. This hotel is about the location. Anyone that complains about the "five" or "four" stars next to Greek hotels don't travel or understand the differences in international travel.

The location IS five stars. Turn left from the entrance of the hotel and in two blocks you are standing at the foot of the Acropolis on a pedestrian street that will take you to every archaeological site. At night this street is buzzing with life, music, outdoor concerts, and street vendors. Turn right on the street and you are three minutes away from the amazing Acropolis Museum. Keep walking and in 8 minutes you hit an intersection that you turn left down and you are in the Plaka. That is one fantastic location. Give me that type of location and I will give up a fancy room . Besides if you are sitting in your hotel room in Athens you are doing something wrong. The

Now let me tell you what will be different than your typical US hotel. The showers are small and meant to be tubs. The showers therefore have very wispy curtains. To combat them touching your body leave a space on both sides open to allow air to pass through and it won't billow. Next pull the curtain into the tub and spray the bottom so it sticks. Voila, problem solved. Nothing I can do about the the water constantly changing from hot to cold, that's Greece. Perhaps dance and shout a few "Opa!"

Linens are very clean. Never saw a hair on sheets or towels. Beds are hard, but most old hotels in Greece have hard beds. The hotel is dated, but there is nothing dirty about it. The A/C generally stinks, but so does every hotel in Athens.

Breakfast is good and includes eggs, meat, cheese, bread, toast, fruit, and coffee or tea. A good spread.

Has a nice pool that is surrounded by buildings. Bar is overpriced. Rooftop restaurant is worth visiting at night for drinks. Spectacular view of the Parthenon. Highly recommended if you aren't excepting an amazing room.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a semi obstructed view of the Acropolis. Little road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelCov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I stayed there for a week and was not satisfied by the overall experience. Yes, it is right under Acropolis and the Herodium Theatre, but only the location does not make a hotel ideal. I later found out by friends that other 3* hotels in the area were much better and new than this overpriced supposed-to-be 5* hotel. This hotel was built for discrimination. There are two wings, the old one that needs immediate renovation and cleaning, which serves mainly groups, and the newest one with more advantages for the VIPs. However, the room rate is the same.
The lobby is huge with expensive marbles, but there is a lack of style and character. They have to do something with the decoration, it's 2012 and for a 5* hotel this is a necessity!
The restaurant was at the lower lever. Was clean but the utensils, towels and chairs were old. An employee (not very fond of his work environment, i guess) admitted that the swimming pool, which was right above the kitchen, was dripping on the kitchen walls!!! That says a lot.

To the pros, apart from the location, I would add the food. It was very tasteful and I enjoyed it. A huge variety of delicacies for breakfast, one of the biggest buffets I have ever seen. The waiters were fast and kind and the receptionists would do anything to assist you with a smile. Afterhours, I enjoyed the company of the bartenders, while waiting for my friends to pick me up. I would rather stay at the hotel bar, than going out with my friends! In general, staff was great, location was exceptional, but the building seems like an old Godforgotten 3* hotel that is too expensive for what it sells!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruto_gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Expensive rooms: poorly designed, dark and miserable with small balconies that you had to hang over to see the acropolis.
The dining room was particularly oppressive and gloomy. Located in a basement with no natural light.
Swimming pool small and overlooked by huge concrete blocks.
Staff were helpful and pleasant but overall this hotel is not worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julia190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Palace Acropolis, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel at Tripadvisor. We are sorry that your didn't find our hotel pleasing to you. Divani Palace Acropolis is a 5 star hotel situated just 10 minutes walking distance from Acropolis and all other beautiful monuments of Athens. The majority of the hotels rooms have beautiful view of Acropolis. Also the hotel is situated just 200m from the New Acropolis Museum
We hope that we will have another chance to accommodate you in our hotel

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on business for a few nights. Really nice hotel, rooms are good size and modern with good bathrooms and great air conditioning which you need in summer. Breakfast has lots of choice, pool food is just fine but maybe a little overpriced as is the beer. One big disappointment is the pool. It is small ad because of the tall buildings surrounding it the sun only hits the pool area between approx 11:00 and 16:00, not so good if you are on business and working and wanted to catch some rays.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airvicemarshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Palace Acropolis, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your nice review following your stay at Divani Palace Acropolis
Your comments have been shared with our staff and they are highly appreciated
we are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels in Greece

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed here 2 nights during our recent trip to Greece. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room had a nice view of the Acropolis though it was a little unusual to have a king bed made of 2 twin beds with individual sheet sets. This hotel was in the perfect location for visiting the Acropolis and the Plaka. The rooftop has a beautiful view and is a Must-See if you stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank airunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Palace Acropolis, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review following your recent stay at Divani Palace Acropolis

We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again in one of our properties in Greece

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

Its well located and breakfast is with Great variaty.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuelydenisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 326 in Athens
2,198 reviews
Royal Olympic Hotel
#62 of 326 in Athens
2,999 reviews
Divani Caravel Hotel
#48 of 326 in Athens
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
2,967 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#27 of 326 in Athens
703 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
3,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divani Palace Acropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divani Palace Acropolis

Property: Divani Palace Acropolis
Address: 19 - 25 Parthenonos, Athens 117 42, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#52 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Divani Palace Acropolis 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is no other hotel in Athens to entwine more beautifully the history of ancient Greece with 5 star facilities. Divani Palace Acropolis sits just below the Acropolis, moments away from Plaka, the new archaeological museum and the Herodian theatre. Taste luxury and sophistication in our 180 rooms, 60 new deluxe rooms and 10 suites. Enjoy the hotel restaurants and bars, or explore the surrounding area for an authentic encounter with Athens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Divani Palace Acropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divani Acropolis Palace Athens
Hotel Divani Acropolis Palace
Acropolis Hotel Athens
Divani Acropolis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing