We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Divani Palace Acropolis
Ranked #69 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Stilwell, Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Divani Actopolis is a solid choice very close to the Acropolis. From the balcony, as you sit on one end, you have a great view of the Parthenon - stunning by night. The hotel runs perpendicular to the Acropolis which is why it is only seen from one end of the balcony and not from within the room.

The rooms are like a Holiday Inn in quality. The staff was excellent. The breakfast was pretty good. Tour groups use the hotel. I would go back for the value of being in the midle of everything. Beds were comfortable and staff were great.

Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    616
    313
    92
    46
See reviews for
334
544
68
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lambertville, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Large, clean hotel. Four blocks from the Acropolis and easily walkable to the Plaka. Nice breakfast buffet, huge selection. Staff was helpful and tried to accommodate all of our needs and requests. Nice pool, and bar (service at pool area was very slow). The dinner at the rooftop restaurant was awesome, and the view was great as the sun went down. Too bad the restaurant is closed on Monday's as we wanted to spend our last night there (and celebrate our daughter's 21st birthday). Would recommend to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We are a couple who stayed at this hotel in July. I chose Divani for it's proximity to the Acropolis and The Plaka as we were only in Athens for three nights and wanted access to these areas by foot.
Getting to the hotel from the airport: unlike other European hotels we have stayed at, I did not find much information in terms of 'getting to the hotel' on their website. We decided to catch the Metro which is a very short walk from the airport (I'm talking minutes) at a cost of 8 Euros each and with a travel time of around 45 - 60 minutes. The metro felt very safe and comfortable and was very easy to use. The walk from the train to the hotel pulling cases is about 5 to 10 minutes, depending on your pace.
The hotel: is clean, check in staff are friendly although there is rarely more than two staff on the desk at any one time, and well located. The hotel bills itself as a luxury hotel....the rooms are basic at best. We asked for a queen sized or double bed (anything but twin) and we got twin beds. We enquired about this and we were told that the view was better from the room allocated to us and so the hotel chose to ignore our request without explanation. We asked for a non smoking room, and we were assured we were in a non smoking room...I queried why then, was there an ashtray and box of matches in our room and was advised...not sure? The bathroom is a good size with a good, deep bath and good quality towels. The room itself has old fashioned furniture (not antique, just outdated) a bedspread...haven't stayed in a hotel with a bed spread instead of a duvet for years, and food stained information/menu folders. The balcony (one of the reasons we chose this hotel) is small and somewhat enclosed with uncomfortable chairs that you really can't sit on without taking the cushions from the bed and placing them on these chairs.
Our biggest disappointment was the situation with our booking. We attempted to book the hotel through their contact page as I was unable to book a room using their booking system on my ipad. No reply. I sent a second email via their contact page...no response. I then emailed the hotel on their "info" email address however three days had passed and we were due to fly. I borrowed a laptop and made the booking online. When I arrived at the hotel, I had received an email response advising a per night, per room cost including taxes and breakfast. This quote was much cheaper than the one on the booking system and ours did not include breakfast. I queried this and was advised, too late, too bad, I'd made a booking at a more expensive rate with no breakfast...nothing they could do. Hmmmm, perhaps if they responded to their emails sooner, we would not be having this complaint.
Location: is excellent...very short walk to the Accropolis, The Plaka, the Museum...with an enormous amount of restaurants and cafés to choose from, super location.
The pool area is very small and in shade much of the day, however it was a welcome asset after a day of sightseeing in 30+ degrees.
This was not a terrible hotel at all, as I said, very clean and well located, just a little old and outdated and therefore our expectations from what we saw on the website were not exactly what we were expecting.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJJEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greer
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at the DiVani Acropolis while attending a convention! The front desk staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. Having the ATM in the lobby was very convenient. I really enjoyed being able to see the Acropolis anytime by just stepping onto my room's balcony. The morning breakfast buffet service was awesome!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lindancor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

It was fine and very clean hotel. Good service and fine breakfeast.
The only two thing that my and my wife didn,t realy like, is that long time ahead i booked this hotel to spend one week of our honeymoon in a deluxe room, when we got to the hotel and went to our room it didn,t realy look like a deluxe room at all, We went down and told the help desk but we didn,t not get any help.
Considering the prise we had to pay for the whole week. We do have experince of sleeping in a deluxe room before, even if it various from one hotel to the other...

The second thing is when i booked the hotel i also asked for a taxi to get us from the airport, and they told me at the hotel it will coast med 60 Euro, which laiter we discovered that the taxi take only 37 Euro from 07:00-24:00, and then it coast 50 Euro from 24:00-05:00.

Its realy sade that they treat thier questes in this way, i already sent an email to the director of the hotel and i hope that they will think more about it.

Otherwise in general it was fine hotel, but i wont go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amjad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearborn
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We came to attend a convention and this Hotel was listed on the suggested lodging list of hotels. It was a great place to stay. The location was close to the Acropolis, and the Plaka, where there were restaurants and shopping. All walking distance. The hotel staff was top notch! Room service, desk, housekeeping, waitstaff all were excellent! The only negative thing was at the rooftop restaurant. Although we had made reservations, and were seated at a table, others were seated and served as we watched and waited. We finally left. We would definitely stay here again, and will recommended it to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor street side, not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandBunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were visiting Athens for a convention so there were a lot of us staying at the hotel and they courteous and check-in service was quick. We didn't use the concierge or other services much because we were taken care of by our friends but I can say the room my husband and I had was beautiful. Very modern and clean with a large balcony. We went up to the rooftop garden on our last day and wish we had gone up sooner for dinner. It is beautiful and the view of the Acropolis at night is gorgeous. The hotel also has a great breakfast in the dining room. Not just the basics but a full breakfast spread with lots of choices. I would highly recommend it based on the location to the Acropolis and restaurants alone but overall it's a great hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in room on the renovated side. We were in room 457 and it was great. I think the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonClair7710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Royal Olympic Hotel
#61 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Divani Caravel Hotel
#50 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#24 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#25 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divani Palace Acropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divani Palace Acropolis

Property: Divani Palace Acropolis
Address: 19 - 25 Parthenonos, Athens 117 42, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#52 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Divani Palace Acropolis 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is no other hotel in Athens to entwine more beautifully the history of ancient Greece with 5 star facilities. Divani Palace Acropolis sits just below the Acropolis, moments away from Plaka, the new archaeological museum and the Herodian theatre. Taste luxury and sophistication in our 180 rooms, 60 new deluxe rooms and 10 suites. Enjoy the hotel restaurants and bars, or explore the surrounding area for an authentic encounter with Athens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Divani Palace Acropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divani Acropolis Palace Athens
Hotel Divani Acropolis Palace
Divani Acropolis Hotel
Acropolis Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing