We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Divani Caravel Hotel
Ranked #50 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Rooms and service was excellent
Food was the best
Very polite waiters
I do recommend ifbthe service isnstill asnprevious

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arash723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    458
    218
    68
    26
See reviews for
192
303
58
469
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antibes
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Just spent 3 days: food is on but very pricy, 18€ to watch one movie in your room, 14€ to clean one T shirt, 12€ to access a small Gym, 25€ for internet access for 48 hours.
Old design, old carpet, old tv.....
Choose another place to stay, it was a terrible experience and
way too pricy for the prestations.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank froggy1972Antibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I went to Athens for business and decided to stay in this hotel as it had a good name and good location. However, at the end of my trip, I was rather disappointed with the experience.

The rooms were a bit old-feeling and it seemed that it needed a renovation/modernisation. Staff were relatively friendly, but it depended on who you actually talked to.

Also, the prices in the hotel were overly priced and expensive. At the bar, I ordered a beer (a Mythos - which is the local brand) and when I got the bill, I was shocked to see that it cost 10 euros! Imagine if I had ordered an imported brand!

The positive things about the hotel was the rooftop swimming pool and bar, and since I went during the summer months, you could sit outside. The view was quite impressive, especially at night when you could see the Acropolis in all its glory. Also, the hotel was located in a convenient area and close to the metro line which made getting around Athens (for my business and personal time) quite easy and less frustrating than taking a car/taxi.

However, these positive things couldn't make up for all the negatives that I encountered so I would not go there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gyorgyigurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I stay at DIVANI CARAVEL for a week,and i want to thanks all the staf for the hospitality that they offer to me.
The room was big enought for 4 person,very clean and comfort.
The breakfast has everything that you can imagine .
The most impresive thing was the staff.Everybody were friendly and ready to offer any help,something rare for hotel at this class.
The location is a plus,such as the transportation choise that you have.
A must choise when visit ATHENS

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nchania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
111 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

I had high expectations since it was branded as a "LHW" Hotel, as most LHW hotels that I have stayed at were very good quality with an interesting experience. However, this one was not up to standard

Pros
- Internet was fast (even though you had to pay)
- Staff service was quite friendly
- Breakfast buffet selection was huge and food were delicious
- View towards the Acropolis was quite beautiful even though I was assigned to a low-floor room with views of the apartments that is only meters away

Cons
- Sound-proofing was bad. You can easily hear conversation from the hallway
- Showers - water leaked all over bathroom floors as all you get is a half-glass partition tub and not curtains
- Decor was quite old, corridors were rusty, and the entire property need some renovation
- There is an indoor pool (but could be an advantage during the colder winter months), but they put these gas-lamps as heaters for the pool area which creates this horrible gas smell throughout the pool, which made me feel dangerous. Gas lamps are not indoor furniture so I have no idea why it was placed there
- Bed was not quite comfortable and pillows were hard

Overall, I can't recommend this hotel based on the expectations I had before I checked-in

Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank kceesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Great stay for luxury vacation
I have stayed in Divani hotel in july 2010.
Hotel is excellent, good equipped and with plenty of staff. Especially the roof-swimming pool with solarium and fitness. Rooms are good, spacious with nice bathroom. Hotel Divanis is an excellent starting point to see Athens; you are just 10 minutes’ walk from the center of Athens (parliament, Acropolis …) The service is excellent, the staff is very friendly and the meals are made in heaven. The internet is not free, but you can use the internet room in the hotel (you don’t need your own).
Little pricy but worth it.

Room Tip: Try to book the room in the top of the hotel, owrlooking the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leverman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pistoia, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Nice welcome, staff carefull and professional (I did not like only a young Receptionist chewing gum), nice and elegant room, good breakfast service. Just a few notes to improve: after the shower there was water licking on the floor of the bathroom, the electronic card for opening the door had to be reset 4 times in 4 days. The climatization could not be set-up and it was a bit too hot.

Room Tip: Check you can regulate the temperature of your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#35 of 326 in Athens
1,819 reviews
Hilton Athens
#18 of 326 in Athens
3,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Olympic Hotel
#61 of 326 in Athens
2,897 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#34 of 326 in Athens
1,913 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Divani Palace Acropolis
Divani Palace Acropolis
#69 of 326 in Athens
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divani Caravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divani Caravel Hotel

Property: Divani Caravel Hotel
Address: Leoforos Vasileos Alexandrou 2, Athens 16121, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Athens
#30 Business Hotel in Athens
#31 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#46 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#53 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Divani Caravel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divani Caravel is a 5 star hotel ideally situated in central Athens. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Divani Caravel exemplifies refined luxury and exceptional service. Our hotel accommodation features 471 rooms (40 suites and 2 presidential suites). Facilities: health club and spa, swimming pool and fitness centre. Divani Caravel also hosts memorable events and weddings in its elegant meeting settings and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Divani Caravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divani Caravel Athens
Hotel Divani Caravel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing