We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Divani Caravel Hotel
Ranked #61 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Divani Caravel is pretty good hotel despite located just a little bit away from city center. Room was ok, actually need some refreshment so as technical equipment like TV-set, telephone is pretty old but functioning well. Cleaners are very active sometimes too much, so if you visit hotel I recommended you to but sign to door. It was nice to find candy on pillow but for me privacy is important. Street sound doesn't heard to room, bed was ok, room and overall hotel was very clean, food also good.I recommenced this hotel to everybody but owner of this hotel should think about renewal of hotel interior, after couple of years hotel is need it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sass16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

790 - 796 of 1,381 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

I stayed at this hotel twice during 2012. As a professional tour-guide I have travelled the world and stayed in dozens of 5 star hotels, and I have to say that my experience at the Divani Caravell in Athens will remain among the very most pleasurable and unforgettable ones. Starting the day in Athens swimming in the hotel's gorgeous and perfectly climatized big pool on the top floor, with the city at your feet and an amazing view of the Acropolis and Parthenon, is one of the most special, beautiful and moving moments of my travelling life. And a very pleasurable and healthy way to start the day, aswell!

The service provided by the hotel met the highest standars. I felt really welcomed and well treated by all members of the staff at all times. The common areas, such as the lobby, restaurant, the lobby bar, the roof terrace... are elegant and welcoming. My room was a junior suite, big, beautifully equiped, perfectly refurbished and decorated in beautiful elegant taste, with a huge terrace and great views of the Acropolis.The Divani also provides a fantastic and very complete buffet-breakfast, perfect to give you energy to explore fascinating Athens!
There are a few very nice bars/restaurants in the square of the hotel, as for example the Bar Quiero, with great young atmosphere, sandwiches, excellent music and for-free WIFI.
By the way, the atmosphere I found in Athens had nothing to do with the dramatic negative - and only negative- news that the international media insist on broadcasting systematically. Yes there is a crisis, but what the visitor finds in Athens is not a depressing/dangerous atmosphere AT ALL. On the contrary, Athens' cultural offer is amazing: museums (the new Acropolis museum is a must!), active local artists and architects presenting their works in the best art galeries keep the, concerts, conferences, life, movement, great shopping... and many happy tourists all over the place. Restaurants and terraces are absolutelly full, and it is not only tourists occupying the tables, but of course also locals mixing with the foreigners. Service is excellent, food great and affordable, the general atmosphere is lively, friendly and happy. I can only recommend that everyone should visit Athens and Greece as soon as possible if they want to enjoy a great travelling experience!!!! And if you can, stay at the Divani Caravell...

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mariajoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Caravel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Dear Guest

After reading your review we can not thank you enough for your wonderful words both about our hotel and about Athens.

Your warm input regarding the services rendered, the facilities has been passed on to our team and has been truly appreciated.

We hope to welcome you once again at Divani Caravel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

This is a really wonderful hotel. The lobby is impressive and the cafeteria in the ground floor is vey quiet and nice. Staff was willing and polite. Our room was spacious and clean but the beds were not so comfortable as anticipated. The breakfast room was modern and very relaxing. The breakfast was a real delight: lot of fresh, well cooked and presented food (with emphasis given in Greek cuisine) in a great variety.
What spoiled my good impressions was that the internet was NOT free (15 € per day !!!). I find quite unacceptable for a hotel of such a class and price tag not to offer free wi-fi to its clients.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicktrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Caravel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. We are satisfied to see that the general impression of your experience here was positive. Your warm input about your room and the breakfast area have been communicated to our staff and we thank you.

Regarding the charge for the WIFI we would like to inform you that this is inline with the rates of other deluxe hotels in Athens.

We hope to welcome you again in one of our properties in Greece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Enjoyed my stay at the Divani. Reception and bell hop were pleasurable and welcoming with good English. Amenities are a bit dated but they are clean. Had breakfast and dinner at their restaurant and found them of good quality and value. Location was perfect as you can walk to Syntagma Square if you are inclined and the Metro station was a short walk away. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: They have a bar with a good view of the Acropolis. Ask for a room overlooking the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Caravel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Dear Guest
It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed and were very satisfied with your recent stay at Divani Caravel
Your warm input regarding the services rendered has been passed onto my team and has been trully appreciated.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our properties in Greece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Very good hotel with wonderful breakfasts. Quiet for sleeping and clean. Location good; about 25 minute walk to foot of the Acropolis. Service was of a high standard and we were in both a normal room one night before a complimentary upgrade to a suite. Suite was great except for a leaky shower. Perhaps a touch overpriced relative to some hotels in slightly better locations but would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Caravel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Dear Guest

It is a pleasure to read such positive comments about your recent stay with us at Divani Caravel

Your warm input has been shared with my team and it has been trull appreciated

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our property

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for the new year holiday. Our suit is looking to Acropolis and we enjoyed very much to spend time at the room. I recommend this hotel for the super friendly hotel staff and very clean rooms. The hotel is a little bit far from the center but hotel offers shuttle to Sintagma square. We even attended to the new year eve gala dinner. It was very enjoyable and we are happy to meet 2013 at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrkideS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Caravel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Dear Guest

thank you for your positive feedback about your stay at Divani Caravel

Your warm input regarding the services rendered, the facilities, the personnel's friendly attitude has been passed onto my team and been truly appreciated.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our properties in Greece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Divani Caravel stands out for its spotless service, trully deserving of it being part of Leading Hotels of the World. I stayed ther twice and the rooms were incredibly large and comfortable. Good breakfast as well. That being said, the hotel could use some urgent renovations. Somethings are almost laughable, such as the cassette player and the fax machine in the room. TV could also be upgraded (you would expect a LCD or LED instead of one of late 90's). Those are, however, minor flaws compared with the overall experience, which largely surpasses the expectations you could have considering the fairly reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tomaz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hilton Athens
#17 of 282 in Athens
3,804 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Divani Palace Acropolis
Divani Palace Acropolis
#68 of 282 in Athens
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divani Caravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divani Caravel Hotel

Address: Leoforos Vasileos Alexandrou 2, Athens 16121, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Athens
#25 Business Hotel in Athens
#39 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#41 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#46 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £106 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Divani Caravel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divani Caravel is a 5 star hotel ideally situated in central Athens. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Divani Caravel exemplifies refined luxury and exceptional service. Our hotel accommodation features 471 rooms (42 suites and 2 Presidential suites). Facilities: health club and spa, swimming pool and fitness centre. Divani Caravel also hosts memorable events and weddings in its elegant meeting settings and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Divani Caravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divani Caravel Athens
Hotel Divani Caravel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing