We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imitation of signature fashion brands and Chinese furnitures!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Divani Caravel Hotel
Ranked #49 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Imitation of signature fashion brands and Chinese furnitures!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

All in the advertising was leading to think that this was a great hotel. Instead: room with a very funny semi-triangular shape with window giving in a horrible dark court and aside the cleaning staff room. This staff doesn't really care if some guest at six o'clock in the morning is still asleep and they speak loud, laugh and make a lot of mess with their cleaning chariots. I would imagine that if the room was better isolated (the door maybe?), noise would be less. As for the furniture, I decided that from now on I will qualify hotels with four stars and more with their taste and use of chinese-like furniture. This hotel had awfully standard chinese-like furniture. At the ground floor shop they are selling imitation of european fashion brands items. Not acceptable and I believe not legal either!!! The lower floor restaurant, where we have been directed for our breakfast has limited seats and it can be very crowded.

Room Tip: The choice is difficult because the front rooms, with a nice view on the city, may be very noisy, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corrado l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    480
    232
    73
    27
See reviews for
200
319
61
494
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for 5 nights over a period of 2 weeks. Had a suite which was spacious with a balcony which overlooked Athens. All staff have been courteous and efficient. Buffet breakfasts were plentiful and tasty. Hotel has WiFi for a small cost.
Hotel has an impressive Lobby as most hotels in Greece have. It has one of the largest Chandeliers I have ever seen in a lobby.
There are coffee shops, restaurants and a mini market very close by.
Overall a very pleasant stay in this very nice hotel. Definitely recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimbo4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Hotel is in a nice location, not far away from the center. People are very friendly and rooms are quiet OK. There is a very nice view at the top floor of the hotel and it is nice to have a drink while looking to the view.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Temizcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Caravel Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share on Tripadvisor your recent experience with us at Divani Caravel

We are happy to read that your general feeling from your stay is a positive one

We would like to mention that Divani Caravel is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World offering luxury experience for the last 10 years.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in our premises

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
125 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in the style of the seventies but it has been well-maintained and the staff are very friendly. My room was at the back and was very quiet. My friends who were at the front (with great views) found it quite noisy. The food at breakfast was very good. The location is good but not absolutely in the centre - but it's close to a metro station that is just one stop from Syntagma Square. Free wifi.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank pbru54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Caravel Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us at Tripadvisor

We are glad to read that your overall experience with us has been a positive one

We are looking forward to welcome you back in our property during your next visit to Greece

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is supposed to be a luxury hotel, and it is true that the entrance is quite grand, with a rather impressive chandelier.

The location of the hotel is good, and the neighbourhood is pleasant. However, be advised that it is about 20 min. (or 2 metro stops) from the living centre of Athens.

However, the room I got (814), was very unattractive. It had a ridiculously low ceiling, giving a cramped feeling despite it being rather large. The 'view' was on a depressing chimney-like inner courtyard. The decoration was surprisingly unattractive. Dark, flowery wallpaper, a green sofa that my grandmother would approve of, up-cycled chairs reupholstered with a bronze-tinted plasticy fabric, and a mix of bland, characterless furniture. I don't know what the ideas was, but the result is not a happy one. Add to that some poor quality details: gaps under the door that let the light through, a (too-narrow) shower that inundates the bathroom after each use, awkwardly-positioned light switches, and a faucet plug that doesn't work. The room also wasn't quiet: it has an outdated air-conditioning that was quite noisy, it has poor sound isolation, and one night, there was a dreadful, continuous noise, apparently from a device used to clean the pool located just above.

For a positive note, the service I experienced in the room was at a good level, with spotless cleaning and turndown service.

But, last and not least, the hotel overcharged me (by about 8%) for a mistake in the reservation made by the hotel itself (I made the reservation on the Internet, but the hotel apparently then put it in their system in the wrong month). Ridiculous! The guy at reception didn't even apologise. Or put me in a good room.

All in all, I would not recommend this hotel. It seems to be living off its reputation, and not providing much for it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Nice Hotel with nice room. size of the room is good. Amenities in the room is good. Good room for business traveler. WIFI internet is available but not free !
Front desk are friendly and helpful and they are very supportive to provide with good options for dinning with free service to reserve for you in a restaurant by phone before you head to the restaurant.

Room Tip: I did not get a nice view. My view was the same as the main entrance for the hotel. I guess the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazem_Nabil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Caravel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay with us

We are looking forward to welcome you in our property again soon

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This hotel is very luxurious, at a good price. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are spacious and well-equipped, the breakfast buffet is very good. At a 10 minutes walk from the Evangelismos metro station, it is easily reachable from the Airport. Definitely a good choice when visiting Athens.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Caravel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay with us!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel during your next visit to Athens

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hilton Athens
#20 of 326 in Athens
3,511 reviews
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#32 of 326 in Athens
1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Divani Palace Acropolis
Divani Palace Acropolis
#68 of 326 in Athens
1,519 reviews
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divani Caravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divani Caravel Hotel

Property: Divani Caravel Hotel
Address: Leoforos Vasileos Alexandrou 2, Athens 16121, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Athens
#30 Business Hotel in Athens
#30 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#46 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#53 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Divani Caravel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divani Caravel is a 5 star hotel ideally situated in central Athens. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Divani Caravel exemplifies refined luxury and exceptional service. Our hotel accommodation features 471 rooms (42 suites and 2 Presidential suites). Facilities: health club and spa, swimming pool and fitness centre. Divani Caravel also hosts memorable events and weddings in its elegant meeting settings and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Divani Caravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divani Caravel Athens
Hotel Divani Caravel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing