We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Divani Caravel Hotel
Ranked #50 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed in May 2014 and found the staff very good, the rooms are good but not large. The bathroom is very good and clean, lots of clean towels and extras. The buffet breakfast was very good but not excellent. Staff helpful and friendly. No free wifi but I can live with that altho the business centre will let you use their computer and printer free of charge for online airport checkin. Coffee shop/restaurant very good. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynandLesSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    480
    232
    73
    27
See reviews for
200
319
61
494
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed in this conference hotel, don't expect anything cozy or even contemporary. it's an efficiently run hotel, massive, lots of people, so don't expect any privacy or quiet place. The rooms are average, everything you need, but no thrills. Interior design is that of a hotel that has been there for quite a long time and has not been updated for many years. I guess for a conference hotel in Athens among the better ones you can get, but for a seasoned traveler quite disappointing in that it does not offer anything but the bare necessities of life. Unfortunately I did not have any comparisons with other hotels, didn't stay for a long time in Athens, but if this is what "luxury" means in conference hotels in Athens, well, then a lot still needs to be desired for.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGeeks2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Breakfast - reasonable selection, but food is not great. Waiters provide very good service.
Rooms are a little tired. Can hear noise from corridor too. View not good. Lots of shower gels and packs etc. provided. No tea making facilities though! Ask for a non-smoking room
Wifi and gym was not free which is disappointing.
Long 1 km+ walk to the centre.
Lastly, my shirt was moved to cupboard and I left it there - I asked about it after checking out and desk said it was no longer there!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here on a conference. Location central and close to metro, which is ideal. The rooms are ok, if a little old, but clean and comfortable. What surprised mevwad the cost of wi-fi which was 36 euros for 3 days and 12 euros for the use of a fairly basic gym. Rooftop swimming pool nice, though. Servide was pleasant throughout.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel for four nights in May and it was not a pleasant experience. here's why:
1. The picture of the pool is so far removed from the reality of the pool that it's even a little funny! Don't go there for the pool (although it's worth going just to see how different it is from the picture that they proudly display in the reception!)
2. This is not a nice neighborhood of Athens. You're stuck in a dodgy bit of town and have to catch taxis everywhere/ Catching a taxi is not particularly easy as the hotel staff are not particularly helpful.
3. The wifi doesn't work. At all. Myself and six colleagues who stayed at the same time could not get online. There is no ethernet connection in the rooms so if you plan to work there you will have to find somewhere with internet.
4. The rooms are a little old fashioned, could do with a proper clean.
5. The reception staff are okay, but they weren't particularly helpful.
6. When I went to use the gym on the saturday morning, I arrived at 10 (opening time)and it was closed. 10 minutes later the woman arrived, with a starbucks! So she was 10 minutes late for work because she went to get herself a latte. That about sums up the attitude of the staff. You have to pay 15 euros to use the cramped gym which is a total waste of money.
7. The breakfast is kind of horrible and served in a windowless underground room. Not great atmosphere!
8. The cleaning staff scream at each other across the hallway so don't expect to sleep past 7:30

Room Tip: want a good room? Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AfricanHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

This is a nice hotel in a quiet area, about 10-15 min walk to nearest metro station, rooms are average sized, comfortable and clean, breakfast is average w a selection of Greek food items available, with nearby food outlets & grocery store . Staff are generally nice except for the 2 ladies & 1 gentleman who were manning the front desk when I arrived from my long haul flight. They ignored me for about 10-15 min while they attended to 2 guests. Then when I finally caught the attention of the older lady, she asked me, " you are checking in?" (Obviously) then ignored me for another 5-10 min. There was no "welcome to the hotel" or "sorry for the delay" ... Just "your room is not yet available, pls wait 10-30 min" then she forgot about me until I came up to the front desk again to ask after 30 min, and she asked me for my name again. This poor first-contact experience suggests poor customer care training by the hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ChaoSev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Caravel Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest

First of all thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us at Tripadvisor.

We are sorry that you first experience with us was not as memorable as we would like it to be

Your comments have been shared immediately with my team and we are making all efforts to ameliorate this issues.

For us personal experience and personal contact are on the top of our priorities

We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again in our property

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kl-ite in Malaysia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I look for a few things when traveling for business: good service from the moment I get off my transportation at the hotel door, coffee tea making facilities, toiletries and amenities that include shampoo, conditioner, moisturizer, toothbrush and toothpaste and that these are replenished daily without the need to ask; clock that is set to local time; air conditioning or heater when needed. Location of hotel is decent, very near to quite a variety of restaurants. There is a small sundry shop further off for buying drinking water. Prices for stay a little steep - I paid €170-190 without breakfast. There's a shuttle to syntagma square ie town centre. There's also a bus that stops right outside/near hotel but quite a walk to the square when it hits town centre. Service was generally good and every request I made was attended to in good time and with good service attitude. Rooms were a little old and dated though and could do with refurbishing. Towels and bathrobes could be changed too as they were obviously old too. Otherwise bed was comfy. Turndown service provided with chocs.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank suetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Caravel Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest

thank you for taking the time to sharing your recent experience at Divani Caravel with us

We are glad to read that as a whole your stay with us was a pleasant one

Your comments have been shared with my team as well

We are looking forward to welcome you again during your next stay in Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hilton Athens
#20 of 326 in Athens
3,513 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Divani Palace Acropolis
Divani Palace Acropolis
#70 of 326 in Athens
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#32 of 326 in Athens
1,940 reviews
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divani Caravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divani Caravel Hotel

Property: Divani Caravel Hotel
Address: Leoforos Vasileos Alexandrou 2, Athens 16121, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Athens
#30 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#30 Business Hotel in Athens
#46 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#53 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Divani Caravel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divani Caravel is a 5 star hotel ideally situated in central Athens. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Divani Caravel exemplifies refined luxury and exceptional service. Our hotel accommodation features 471 rooms (42 suites and 2 Presidential suites). Facilities: health club and spa, swimming pool and fitness centre. Divani Caravel also hosts memorable events and weddings in its elegant meeting settings and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Divani Caravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divani Caravel Athens
Hotel Divani Caravel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing