We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Divani Caravel Hotel
Ranked #53 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Nice location, nice accommodations. I stayed in a suite that was well appointed with quality furnishings and fixtures. The suite was an upgrade that I think was meant to make the tour company happy. Spectacular roof-top pool with views of Parthenon and underwater viewing windows. Excellent included breakfast for my group. No in-room coffee, but this is Europe. There is apparently a variety of room types and sizes, so it would be good to check.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbjennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    491
    239
    75
    28
See reviews for
209
325
64
503
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We just returned (yesterday) from The Divani Caravel Hotel after staying 8 nights. We were there for a wonderful, international convention with people from 51 nations and Greece. We made that our priority and not the hotel since we would mostly just sleep here. With that said, and that this is not our first trip to European hotels, this hotel was in my opinion, "adequate" and beautiful on the surface. Their money on the surface could have been better spent on our room(s), though I didn't see but one other room.
The location only offers a nice view if you are above the 5-6 story apartments next to or in front of it. The view of the Parthenon is amazing only if you have a photographer's telephoto lens. But looking out over this very urban city is nice.
The room, for which we paid 87 euros per night, was small (but most European rooms are) and nice, with a view of the neighbors' balconies,. The bathroom was my only dissatisfaction really. The typically small bathroom had a door which looked like it was plugged into a space and not completely sealed or caulked for a clean look. The sink had a broken drain cover which held in the water until pulled up manually, and a cabinet around it which hindered the entry. The removable shower head, which I really like, poured water through an inadequate 1/2 glass door at the unsealed hinges. Leaving a pool of water each time we showered, we had to use the rug and a towel to sop up the water on the tile floor to prevent us from slipping and falling. A full, caulked shower door, or curtain would be a better way to serve the patron. The toilet, which I have seen in other WC's this time, were thin and flimsy and irritating for a reason I won't disclose. There was no coffee maker, iron or board, radio, but there was a flat screen TV. It was the longest period of time without watching TV that I have spent. There was a hair blower, good air conditioning (very cold), a small clothes closet and drawers for storage. There was no smell of smoke in the room and not in the halls (probably because the conventioneers were all non-smokers, but the next group coming in were full of smokers, changing the entrance atmosphere as we went in and out.
The cleaning staff was good and never left even a hair on the floor.
The best of this hotel, we feel, is the dining rooms and the wait staff, who are managed with the best, experienced and professional people there can be. All-in-all, we had a great time, including our hotel stay. I found most of tripadvisor's reviews are right and helpful and I hope mine is helpful, too.

Room Tip: Taxis are stationed across the street day and night. They are costly but good. A subway is 2-3 block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doodeeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a convention...4 rooms...7 adults..2 children (2,5).. It was fantastic! All employees were super friendly especially Xeina (front desk) and Joseph (pool bar). The view from the rooftop pool is amazing. Several restaurants are close by walking distance, even with small children. Directly across the street is a 'news stand' with water, beer, snacks for cheap.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ZoeysPap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg TX
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here as part of a Grand European/Insight Tour. We found this a good value, nice rooms with an upgrade for the second stay. The location, service and clean rooms and lobby were a plus. We do travel Europe often and always try to remember hotels in Europe are not always the same rated as the US.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottsville, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here for two separate nights. First stay huge room, no view. second night much smaller room. Others we were with, one had a tiny room- no room for suitcases and one had a suite with a balcony. So my suggestion is to check your room before unpacking. Saying that, the rooftop pool has amazing views and you can walk to the metro.

Room Tip: Keep asking until you are satisfied
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 257Trinah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights during a business trip. The hotel is close to a metro station but also not far from the centre of Athens (5 mins with a taxi ride). The room was very clean and the bed was very soft. The hotel has a roof swimming pool which makes it ideal for a morning swim with a view over Athens before heading off. The breakfast also had a good variety. Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRISTIANA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here a total of 3 nights as part of an Insight Tour. Two nights were part of the tour, in fact the first and last day, and the other night was as a pre-tour accommodation. We were accommodated in a Standard Room which was very cramped for a triple, once the sofa be was opened. The bathroom was also very small which may explain the misalignment of the toilet bowl. The toilet bowl was set at an angle inclined towards the bathroom door because it was placed too close to the sink/vanity. Fortunately being petite sized Asians, we could still manage to use the toilet bowl with some adjustment. It would be more difficult for larger persons. Many of the amenities that we take for granted from 5* Hotels were not provided. The list includes NO free wifi, no bathrobes, no bedroom slippers, no coffee/tea making facilities. Wifi was chargeable at Euro 5 for 1 hour, Euro 15 for 1 day etc. We wanted to use the gym, but it seems that our room rate did not qualify us for free use but we could use it for Euro 12 per person. The room also did not have a view out the window, just the back of the hotel facility.
Breakfast provided had a good spread of food but there were no live stations. Breakfast was served either at the lobby area or the basement restaurant (better choice). On the first day, I was asked 3 times for my room number by the same staff which was quite annoying as there were not that many Asians having breakfast at that time. Fortunately the rest of the restaurant staff, front office and bell staff were pretty cheerful in providing their services. One of the bell staff, Stellios, is to be commended for his efficiency and friendliness.
There is a very impressive and massive chandelier in the lobby. The hotel is located some distance away from the Acropolis district. The hotel provides a free shuttle to the city centre [Syntagma Sq] with scheduled timings of 8:00am, 11:00 am 2:00 pm and 5:00pm. However these timings do not support the dining crowd. It is about a 10 mins walk to the Evangelismos Metro Station and from there 2 metro stops (to Monastiraki and then change to the red line to Acropoli Station) to get to the Acropolis.
Having just completed an 18 days tour of the Balkans before arriving in Athens, we can attest that this hotel is not good value because there are too many of its amenities/facilities that are chargeable. A fellow traveller suggested that it would be better to stay in a hotel with a good view of the Acropolis in the Monastiraki area. The view of the Acropolis at night is just magical.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 138 if possible as that is where the misaligned toilet bowl is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gchyekim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hilton Athens
#21 of 326 in Athens
3,576 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Divani Palace Acropolis
Divani Palace Acropolis
#69 of 326 in Athens
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#34 of 326 in Athens
1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divani Caravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divani Caravel Hotel

Property: Divani Caravel Hotel
Address: Leoforos Vasileos Alexandrou 2, Athens 16121, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Athens
#30 Business Hotel in Athens
#32 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#46 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#53 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Divani Caravel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divani Caravel is a 5 star hotel ideally situated in central Athens. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Divani Caravel exemplifies refined luxury and exceptional service. Our hotel accommodation features 471 rooms (42 suites and 2 Presidential suites). Facilities: health club and spa, swimming pool and fitness centre. Divani Caravel also hosts memorable events and weddings in its elegant meeting settings and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Divani Caravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divani Caravel Athens
Hotel Divani Caravel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing