We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Divani Caravel Hotel
Ranked #52 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I would say not a 5* hotel. Stayed there for 5 nights. Rooms are clean, stuff is helpful, food is excellent. If you get the west side room and you are there in summer, get your air conditioning on while you are not in the room otherwise you will not sleep. Another thing to note: rooms (except suits) have no balcony. All in all, hotel is nothing special but good for overnight sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms (except for suites) have no balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dorian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

662 - 668 of 1,407 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights during a conference. Very slow laborious check-in as there were lot of delegates. Only 2 staff working in the reception. Otherwise the rooms are excellent, clean with good bed for a comfortable sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prashanth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

First, hotel is not a real 5 *. It gives you that feeling you are in a good 3* hotel. Rooms are old looking. Flat tv is on a temporary positioned stand. Bathroom is small. Water is coming out of the shower tube and you will a have a nice lake in your bathroom!! Luckily the staff is very helpful and kind. Reception, house keeping and room service people is helping you a lot to solve the issues. Hotel is centrally located. 10-15 min walk to metro station. Also you can take a taxi with reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Evangelismos metro station is 10-15min walking distance from hotel. If you dont have heavy luggages...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Atacan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

There was no free drinking water it costs 3 euros, they brought us extra pillows and left a pre filled review on the bed with every filled in as excellent. They started renovations above our room at six in the morning without warning us, and when we phoned to complain they attempted to argue with aggression, in a extremely rude manner. No included break fast and all the food was way over priced. The air conditioning was rubbish and when set to high speed and 15 degrees it made the room smell and the temperature and speed stayed on low and 20. The entire hotel smells like cigarette smoke. The overall experience was horrible.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KnifeMan360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed last week in this hotel with a friend.
Upon reservation, I requested an early check-in, we got it, our room was ready at 11 am.

As a member of LHW, we got a room upgrade in a Deluxe Suite, nice touch. Our room, 823, was on the top floor, well decorated and convenient,including a separate living room and a large balcony. On the other hand, I noticed in the bathroom a spotlight fused, after a call and 15 minutes, someone came to fix it. Our pieces of lugagge came 20 minutes after our check-in and two calls as the bellboys seemed confused.

We also received a complimentary bottle of wine unfortunately, we can not find any corkscrew in the room. we called, someone came and opened our bottle in a inelegant way.
The room cleanliness was perfect, however it was quite weird to find a foam bedding on the bed at the arrival (specially this information was on my LHW profile), I had to call again the reception to change the bedding! Also, the rooms seem well maintained but the bathroom ceiling was cracked. The turn down service was a nice and perfect touch. We enjoyed the Oliva bathroom amenities, nice local touch!

About the services, the breakfast was OK, nothing special, I expected a better choice. We also tried the pool on the rooftop but were surprised that nobody was here to help us! The entire team was nice, specially the room attendants!

To summarize my stay,a lot of calls for things which could have been avoided!

We had a nice stay and I rated 4 cause the value for money and the comfort of the room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 5StarExperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We stated here for one night after a trip around greece. We had booked another hotel and came here after a bad experience. From check in you feel welcome. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The pool area is beautiful. Our one bedroom apartment had plenty of room and we were more than happy. Very clean. They even turn down your room which is a nice touch when traveling. I can not thank this place enough.
One slight point. It is in a lovely area however a few minutes away from the main stretch. It didn't bother us at all though.
I highly recommend this place for a stay.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Sarajoef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Nice location, nice accommodations. I stayed in a suite that was well appointed with quality furnishings and fixtures. The suite was an upgrade that I think was meant to make the tour company happy. Spectacular roof-top pool with views of Parthenon and underwater viewing windows. Excellent included breakfast for my group. No in-room coffee, but this is Europe. There is apparently a variety of room types and sizes, so it would be good to check.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbjennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Divani Palace Acropolis
Divani Palace Acropolis
#64 of 282 in Athens
1,708 reviews
Hilton Athens
#16 of 282 in Athens
3,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Syntagma
NJV Athens Plaza
NJV Athens Plaza
#35 of 282 in Athens
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divani Caravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divani Caravel Hotel

Address: Leoforos Vasileos Alexandrou 2, Athens 16121, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Athens
#25 Business Hotel in Athens
#33 Family Hotel in Athens
#35 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#41 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £110 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Divani Caravel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divani Caravel is a 5 star hotel ideally situated in central Athens. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Divani Caravel exemplifies refined luxury and exceptional service. Our hotel accommodation features 471 rooms (42 suites and 2 Presidential suites). Facilities: health club and spa, swimming pool and fitness centre. Divani Caravel also hosts memorable events and weddings in its elegant meeting settings and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Divani Caravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divani Caravel Athens
Hotel Divani Caravel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing