We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but dated. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Divani Caravel Hotel
Ranked #48 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but dated. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The first room we were put in on the third floor had Aircon vents full of dust and carpet. This blocked me up waking the next morning. Upon reporting this the staff were great and upgraded our remaining stay to the 7th floor with wood floors and clean vents. The showers are good but water goes everywhere and upon opening the cupboards I could see mould issues forming from the water. The pool on the roof is fabulous but as all 5 star accommodation you are paying American prices in a Greek hotel ie 6 euro for a coffee and 8 for a beer is ridiculous. Location is great and only 5 eu taxi ride from most places. Restaurants near by are also good quality. I would stay again in the wood floor rooms.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    459
    219
    69
    26
See reviews for
193
303
58
472
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel , really clean , very helpful staff , okay location with reasonable distance from city centre. Very expensive breakfast though ! I Would most likely use this hotel if I visit athens again

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dima B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendoza, Argentina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

this is a very big hotel that was refurbished for the olympic games and was not touched again... the service is great...I was in a very big suite looking to the parthenon...not sure how are the rests of the rooms...for the price is a very good hotel...the location is not good but the taxis are cheap so you can get anywhere for 3 or 4 euros.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 507arielp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

So we stayed at this hotel for about 5 days while attending a religious convention. The staff was great, very accommodating. Our room was very comfortable and spacious. We had a room with 3 large beds, which there are only three such rooms in the hotel. Highly recommend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank bingham905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at two Divani hotels (Divani Palace Acropolis and Divani Caravel) while in Athens, Greece. Both hotels were nice with comfortable beds but would definitely choose the Caravel location over the Acropolis. The Acropolis hotel is in a better location if you want to be close to city center and the Plaka but Caravel is better overall and pool is very nice with a gorgeous view of Athens. Visit the restaurant around the corner (Oroscopos) for a great reasonably priced meal! Ask for Dimitris.
Susan Nasim - Greenville, South Carolina, USA

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed for 2 nights during the hypertension congress,
the place is clean breakfast is good
with good facilities
and i should say that they have the best housekeeping staff i have ever seen in my life,
but i suffered a lot from the weding cermony at the roof as my room was at the 8th floor,
and this stayed till 2:30 am
I have submitted a complain upon my departure and i have never recieved a reply on this,
the young lady at the reception upon my arrival, was checking me in while speaking to another guest about what he did on tyhe beach, and even not listening to my requests,
people at the reception at my departures the 2 senior ladies were one of the best things i met at the hotel,

Room Tip: avoid the 8th floor not to face the noisy wedding nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minayounan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I would say not a 5* hotel. Stayed there for 5 nights. Rooms are clean, stuff is helpful, food is excellent. If you get the west side room and you are there in summer, get your air conditioning on while you are not in the room otherwise you will not sleep. Another thing to note: rooms (except suits) have no balcony. All in all, hotel is nothing special but good for overnight sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms (except for suites) have no balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
Hilton Athens
#19 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Olympic Hotel
#61 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#33 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Divani Palace Acropolis
Divani Palace Acropolis
#69 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divani Caravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divani Caravel Hotel

Property: Divani Caravel Hotel
Address: Leoforos Vasileos Alexandrou 2, Athens 16121, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Athens
#30 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#30 Business Hotel in Athens
#46 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#53 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Divani Caravel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divani Caravel is a 5 star hotel ideally situated in central Athens. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Divani Caravel exemplifies refined luxury and exceptional service. Our hotel accommodation features 471 rooms (42 suites and 2 Presidential suites). Facilities: health club and spa, swimming pool and fitness centre. Divani Caravel also hosts memorable events and weddings in its elegant meeting settings and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Divani Caravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divani Caravel Athens
Hotel Divani Caravel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing