We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Athens- Quite The Experience -”
Review of Oscar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oscar Hotel
Ranked #95 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Considering the upheaval in Athens the Oscar hotel where we stayed Oct 18,19 was great.Staff were good and very helpful as we had to change our plans many times due to airport and ferry strikes. We had a most fantastic view of the Acropolis at night, very close to metro - for the price the room was good plus a breakfast. this is not a five star hotel but very convenient. In other words you get what you pay for. And thanks to the local who drove us to our hotel when we were stuck in the middle of no-where at 3am.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank busterDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
There are newer reviews for Oscar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2011

I must reveal one of my favourite tricks with hotels. Haggle over the price, get it as low as possible and then, when it's time to pay, pull out the plastic. Smile sweetly at the receptionist and then say, in your best Sunday-going-to-meeting-voice "Do you give a discount for cash?" It works nine times out of ten ;)

...so I got an excellent rate for my two nights in Oscar.

Oscar is a big hotel which seems to specialise in groups. It's on the edge of the centre of Athens, across the road from the Larissa train and metro station. My room was a double, bit cramped but with comfortable bed(s), a shower/bathroom which was clean and a t.v. with an excellent choice of nationalal and international stations.

Airco worked fine, albeit a tad rattly. Kids were staying on the same corridor but they weren't particularly noisy and settled down well before 12 p.m. Not that it would bother me - I'll probably sleep through Armageddon.

Breakfast is buffet-style with a wide selection of warm and cold dishes. Choice of fried or scrambled eggs, bacon (bit greasy) and diverse sorts of bread, sliced and rolls, and cold local meats, cheeses and conserves . I've had a lot worse in 5 star hotels! Personnel in the dining room were very helpful and friendly. The maitre d' looked a little stern but turned out to have a very sharp sense of humour.

As I said, the price/quality/hospitality ratio was highly satisfactory and for a tourist hotel Oscar is great value for money.

It ain't downtown but literally, turn left out of the door and you're in the Larissa metro station where there it's possible to buy 24-, 48 hour and 7 day passepartouts for the whole Athens public transport network.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillVanAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I stayed here with my son this month, while the strikes where in full effect. Not the best time to visit Athens. One day the sites where closed, the next day public transportation was on strike and the day after that the sites where open again, but public tranportation and taxis where on strike.

The hotel wasn't in the safest of neigbourhoods when you are a woman travelling alone with a six year old. But the staff gave me great tips on how to get somewhere and where not to go. They where very nice to me and especially my son, who got so much smiles and attention from the staff (and even a present from one of the staffmembers working at the reception desk). One day when it was difficult to go anywhere they even let us order pizza in the room, and gave me a 50% discount ticket for the pizzaplace.

So it was an adventurous trip, but the staff made it so great for us! They were incredibly helpful. And the city itself is beautiful!!!

The hotel:
We had a spacious room with two seperate beds. The breakfast was good for the price. The swimming pool on the roof was great, we did a bit of sunbathing there while looking at the Acropolis. All in all a great experience!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stedentripsvansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Stayed here in June on an EF Tour with hoards of high school students. Noticed a wide range of rooms and functioning appliances like Air Conditioning. For example one room had a door that swung in to the bathroom and would hit the toilet before the door fully opened. Some rooms had AC that worked other just the fan from the AC worked. There are rooms with anywhere from 2-4 beds. This hotel seems to cater to the high school age tour groups. Multiple tour groups coming and going. This can be a concern as there is only one very small elevator to the upper floors. Take the stairs at your own risk. Very Narrow and the doors open out into the stairwell from the upper floors. If someone is opening the door about the time your reach the doorway, you could easily be knocked down the stairwell. The highlight of the hotel is the rooftop swimming pool. Beautiful views of the Acropolis at night. There is also a rooftop bar. The hotel is centrally located and the staff were hurried but helpful. Be sure to check out the little souvenir shop adjacent to the hotel. By the way, don't purchase the Wi-Fi, it works just fine in the Lobby!

Room Tip: Ask for and check room for operational AC is traveling in the summer.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OregonTrail007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Awful hotel , arrogant staff ,breakfast had been sitting in the trays since the Acropolis was built ,and the rooms needed a huge freshen up .

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank tesstt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The rooms and bathrooms were clean and rather large for European standards. However the food left something to be desired. We had prepaid dinners but wished we could eat somewhere else.

Additionally, the air conditioning was out for the length of our visit and the staff didn't really seem to care. It was a hot, sticky day for Athens and our kids were miserable. Staff didn't seem in a big hurry to try to get someone to fix it.

The roof top bar is nice, but they lock the pool at 8 p.m. just when you are returning from sightseeing and would want to cool off. Especially since the air was out. Additionally, with the pool locked you can not take advantage of the spectacular view of the Acropolis from the rooftop.

Hotel is located near a convenient Metro stop and local bakeries.

Frequented by large tour groups.

Room Tip: clean but TVs and refrigs don't work well.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank khgiblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Stayed here at the tail end of out trip in Greece. Decent hotel for exploring Athens as you are only a few stops from Syntagma Square.

Room was small, but acceptable. I had a balcony, but it only opened into an ugly part of the building.

Whomever built the stairs needs to get their head examined. The flight from the 1st floor to the 2nd floor is odd and the door/stair connection was even more odd. Elevators did not work properly all the time. If you asked to go to floor 3, you sometimes went to 3 other floors for no reason whatsoever.

The area around the hotel is relatively boring. There are better places to stay, but I liked this enough to stay here again. It had free Wifi in the lobby and breakfast was pretty good.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
#93 of 282 in Athens
801 reviews
Marina Hotel Athens
#80 of 282 in Athens
668 reviews
Best Western Candia Hotel
#135 of 282 in Athens
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrotel Hotel
#21 of 282 in Athens
1,195 reviews
Epidavros Hotel
#114 of 282 in Athens
327 reviews
Crystal City Hotel
#99 of 282 in Athens
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Hotel

Address: 25 Filadelfias, Athens 104 39, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £34 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oscar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oscar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oscar Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing