We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oscar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oscar Hotel
Ranked #112 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Clean room, free WIFI, nice roof top bar and view, Carrefour is right opposite the hotel and the train station is just a few steps away. About a 10 minute train ride to the city so the hotel is quite central.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefania F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    175
    175
    45
    37
See reviews for
130
151
34
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel twice during our trip from Greece, once at the beginning and once at the end. The first time we had a decent sized rooom but the odor was terrible. It smelled strongly of smoke and when you turned the AC on to get relief it blew out a moldy smell. Our room was clean but the smell just made it seem dirty. We loved the view of the acropolis from the rooftop pool and bar, that was a very nice addition to the hotel. The second night we stayed our room was in a separate more creepy building and was a tiny room with the same issues that we had the first time. The breakfast was gross both times, but again the price was cheap so it was alright.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the middle not on any corners or too high up the wifi doesn't reach up very wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
detroit
Level Contributor
153 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Bad stuff - rooms in part of hotel not attached to main part are substandard. food in dining hall bad . 1st night turkey and like mac & cheese in Greece? shaky area lots of vacant buildings around getting up the stairs in other building very difficult. sweat shop right next to hotel.
Good employees are very nice. rooftop bar is great and wait staff are great does have a pool on roof kids really liked it subway station right near there.

Room Tip: main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank news37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Athens hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

nice hotel, the best 3* hotel, we have stayed on.
everything was more than expected.
friendly staff, nice breakfast.
granny at 80, teenagers and us, would stay there again.
after checking out, at 12 o'clock, we were free to spend some time in the pool.

Room Tip: very fine location,, 1 min walk from the metro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohanneGj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I stayed 3 nights in July at this hotel with a group tour. It is very close to the metro and a grocery store was across the street. I found that the rooms needed to be updated, seemed clean but there was an odor. My room had a balcony, which was nice. The last night I stayed there, the air conditioning was not working properly and the staff would not give any reason or explanation as to why. I felt the staff could have been more apologetic or given an explanation about the situation. All the rooms were having this problem. A buffet breakfast was served daily, but the line was always long and seemed to be due to coffee being at the end and people waiting for this backed up the line.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lholdeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My wallet was stolen on the metro from the airport on the way to this hotel. The receptionist's main concern was whether they could still clear my payment for the room on my debit card which was also stolen. I got the impression that they would have refused to check me in if it hadn't cleared, although I had no cash and needed to make various phone calls to my bank, insurance company, etc. I got some emergerncy cash within three hours but as far as the Hotel Oscar was concerend, I would have been making my calls from the street if I hadn't been able to pay for the room immediately and presumably sleeping there for the nigfht as well if my insurance company hadn't been so helpful and efficient. Athens has turned into a dangerous sleaze-pit in the last decade, probably due to the recession and other problems. I have been passing through for nearly forty years but will try not to do so again. It's not the fault of the ordinary local Greek population but my advice is to avoid the place unless you are desperate to see the Acropolis and museums. If you are going to the islands, fly directly to them. I have changed my return flight and will be departing from Santorini instead.

The roof top bar, although service was slow was quite nice. The room was a bit cramped but seemed okay. Wifi worked. The hotel is next to Larrissa Station so if you need a train, the location is excellent. Otherwise it is quite a walk to anywhere else in Athens or a metro trip on which you will be pushed, shoved and very likely robbed! There are gangs of young men everywhere who watch your every move.

Room Tip: Get a room in another city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pornainen, Finland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel was ok. We had a room for 4 people. It was spacious enough. Balcony was a big plus even if there was no chairs. The room smelled a bit of smoke, but it must have been because of the old carpet. The room was clean. It would need some updating. The hotel was 1 min away from the metro. And 7min ride from the Acropolis. There was a supermarket across the street. Also a nice Pita place close by. Breakfast was a bit boring. It would have needed some tomatoes, salad or cucumber. Wifi didnt really work that well. Sometimes it worked in the room on my phone, but not on my mom's phone at all. Elevators were really too small, for max 4 people. 2 people with bags. It was impossilbe to get an elevatot in the morning. Stairs were pretty deep with the small kids.

It's an ok hotel. Nothing fancy, but has good connections.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hmira74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
#102 of 326 in Athens
699 reviews
BEST WESTERN Candia Hotel
#119 of 326 in Athens
505 reviews
Marina Hotel Athens
#81 of 326 in Athens
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrotel Hotel
#26 of 326 in Athens
1,143 reviews
Stanley Hotel
#85 of 326 in Athens
1,405 reviews
Hotel Aristoteles
#223 of 326 in Athens
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Hotel

Property: Oscar Hotel
Address: 25 Filadelfias, Athens 104 39, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oscar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oscar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oscar Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing