We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best 4 star hotel in syntagma sqare”
Review of Amalia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amalia Hotel
Ranked #16 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2011

very good price for what you get
a few meters from airport shuttle and metro station.
nice clean modern hotel with comfortable rooms.
good working air condition.
in the middle of everything in athens.
excellent breakfast also with greek specialities.
athens tips.
visit:
monastiraki area
ancient agora and thission
acropolis ...of course
new acropolis museum with fine reasturant under parthenon
historical centrum-plaka
archeological museum
keramikos ancient place with small but fine museum
and kolonaki area for shopping

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHRISTOS_GR60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,752)
There are newer reviews for Amalia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

891 - 897 of 1,752 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2011

I stayed here with my son (11) 1 night in the end of july. Situated near Syntagma square the hotel is in a nice area near to the metrostation. It is also just meters away from the bus that takes you to the airport. The Hard Rock cafe is also very close to the hotel. I have stayed in many reasonable priced hotels in Athens, Amalia is a little bit more expensive than the cheapest, but absolutly worth it. Nice spacios rooms, clean, nice beds, great bathroom and a very nice buffet-breakfast. This is my new favorite hotel in Athens, and next time I am going there this is the place I am going to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ell1sag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights at Easter (2010). We booked a double room and asked for an extra bed for the child (no extra cost) and get a very spacious room on the 1st floor just in front of the Royal Gardens! The room was very nice and clean.
That room can be a little noisy at night because it's on the 1st floor and you can hear the traffic noise at night (so it's necessary to close the balcony-door at night) but we had a great view!
The position couldn't be better, we went on foot everywhere and the area was safe.
The breakfast buffet was great with Greek specialities but also you could have continental or hot breakfast.
The hotel was small but the attention was very good. We paid 90 euros per day (breakfast included)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MirenMartinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The hotel is situated very close to all the sightseeing spots in Athens. Rooms are clean and reasonably spacious. The breakfast buffet had a great selection of good quality ingredients. The staff were a lil unfriendly, especially the guy who was on duty the night we checked in. we asked if they had a scale we could use to weigh our luggage which was a bit over the limit and they rather coldly said " no we don't have one and can't do anything about that". Considering that it is a four star hotel, a tad better service and manner is expected. Also note that they don't have free Internet, wifi connection costs 5 euros per day.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northwind2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Amalia Hotel is located less than 200m from the Syntagma Square and bus stop (from the airport). Very convenient location to the Plaka Square, shopping strip (5 min walk) and to the Acropolis. Hotel was clean, tidy with basic amenties including free internet. My tour ran from the hotel so made it convenient to follow up on travel agents and documents for my next destination. Staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to accommodate odd travel times and arranging transport etc which was a great help as I cant speak Greek!

Highly recommend dining in Plaka and enjoy the night shopping scene, beautiful indeed! If you are looking for leather goods, look no further, you will find shoes and shoes and more shoes! If you have seen well priced leather shoes, I would get them!!!

In terms of food, greek cuisine is delicious and you will have tonnes of places to choose from. Most tavernas are authentic and offer reasonable prices, the moussaka and eggplant rolls are to die for!

Number of days in Athens, I spent 2 nights in Athens and I thought that was sufficient to experience the historic sites, Plaka and shopping. If I had an extra day, I would probably go to the museum or take a day trip but I was content in what I saw in the time I was there before heading for the islands.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paradisedream11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The location is perfect - 5 min walking distance from Syntagma metro station. You can even see the change of guards from the hotel's terrace. The view of the Temple of Zeus is quite good.

Service is prompt. There was no iron or iron board in the room, but, we were promptly led to a small room on the top floor that housed the same.

The room was small, but cosy. The view from the window was the only dampner - the view was that of the building to our side.

The area around the hotel was safe to walk through at night . The Acropolis was 15 min walking distance; Plaka was 10 min walking distance.

Breakfast was good and had ample choice for vegetarians.

Highly recommended for the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a view of the Syntagma square
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rapunzzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Tired from our flight, we were so pleased to have a room NOT facing the street and Parliament Square. We just wanted to rest. The room was nice and quiet. Nothing outstandingly luxurious, but the bed was comfortable, and it was clean.

The location is excellent. Easy walk to just about everything. We walked to the Acropolis, through Monastiraki, Parliament Square, the Plaka, and even up to Lycabettus Hill for dinner at Orizontes. We enjoyed the computer terminal on the first floor for quick and easy access to loved ones back home. And the hotel was able (there was a taxi strike) to get a van for us to get us to Pireus for a ferry to the islands.

Great breakfasts!!!! Very attentive staff, and such a variety! I never tried the traditional Greek coffee (which is brewed on hot sand) but it is there if you want to try it.

There is a lovely view of the city from the top terrace.

I recommend staying here as a tourist needing a good central location, with reasonable rates, and a nice degree of comfort. If everyone insists on a front viewing room of the gardens, though, they are bound to be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueBirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
3,344 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,847 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
2,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,153 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#27 of 282 in Athens
1,769 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Hotel

Address: 10 Leoforos Vassilissis Amalias, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Family Hotel in Athens
#14 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#24 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £74 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amalia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial 7-story Hotel in the center of the city, facing National Garden, just off Constitution Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amalia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalia Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing