We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT CHOICE”
Review of Amalia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amalia Hotel
Ranked #16 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I have stayed three times at this hotel in a period of four years. First of all, the location is great since it is in Syntagma square, the central square of Athens. Everything is in walking distance: attractions, shops, restaurants, metro station ( just across the street).The hotel is recently renovated and looks really brand new and modern. The rooms have every facility that a traveler want and they are very clean. Despite the fact that is centrally located the rooms are quite. We were very much satisfied by breakfast and personnel.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room looking at the parliament
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bchatzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

886 - 892 of 1,773 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2011

My wife and I stayed three nights at the Amalia. The rooms are clean and spacious,for European hotel.the breakfast served, buffet style is excellent,and staff is courteous and
efficient. the hotel is about 5 to 10 minuets walk from the main sights ,museums,la placa,syntagna square,metro,ect... If my wife and I return to Athens we will most likely want to stay at the Amalia.It is the perfect spot in Athens for tourist.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank socool54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Amalia hotel is situated perfectly next to Athen's main thoroughfare in Syntagma Square. The hotel is steps away from a metro stop and right around the corner from public buses that run to/from the airport. In addition, it's only 10-15 minutes walking from all the main sites, including the Acropolis. The location is in a very safe neighborhood so one is able to walk out late at night and early in the morning. The rooms are a bit on the small size with equally small twin beds and a closet-size bathroom. However, the room is very clean and the buffet breakfast is excellent! Amalia's views are fantastic, if you are able to get a room on one of the higher floors. Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinyexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Every day we were in Athens we appreciated more and more the great location of this hotel. The inexpensive airport bus took us to Syntagma Square, which was five minutes walk to the Amalia Hotel. That day we walked in the other direction to the Plaka, which was about seven minutes from the hotel and all the shopping and restaurants. It was an easy walk to the Acropolis and to all the other sights from the Amalia Hotel. The beautiful Benaki museum is about 10 minutes away. The only place we traveled to by streetcar was the National Archeological Museum. For our day trips to Delphi and later to Mycenae, we were picked up at the hotel. Our superior room was comfortable and clean, though not lavish, and the breakfast buffet was extensive, though maybe not outstanding. However, we would definitely stay at the Amalia again on a return trip.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

we stayed in the Amalia hotel 'Deluxe room' - you pay a bit more for a balcony with a view to the National gardens and the parliament. This in theory is good, but as the hotel is on the main road, the traffic wakes you up at 7am! we did have a very good view of the riot from our balcony...
breakfast was average. hotel staff was not the most accommodating. The interior decor very outdated.
not the most romantic place to stay in Athens.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wei z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Amalia Hotel for 2 nights during our vacation in Greece at the beginning of September 2011. We took the Metro from Elefterios Venizelos Airport to the closest Metro station, Syntagma, which is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The location of this hotel is amazing, it is located across the Greek Parliament and just a 10 minute walk from Plaka. The standard room was just right for us, the size and view of the Parliament were great. The price included breakfast and free internet in the lobby (wifi $5 euros/24hrs.), which we found to be very convenient. The staff at Amalia was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay at Amalia Hotel again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea-Andres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I stayed at the Amalia Hotel for 4 nights at the beginning of October.

Taking the Metro so Syntagma the hotel is less than 5 minutes walk.

Arriving at the hotel check in was very efficient and friendly.

I booked a Standard Single Room and was allocated a room on the 3rd floor facing towards the back. The room was very modern, spotless clean with a great bathroom and a very comfy bed.

All the staff was always very polite and helpful. They easily arranged a taxi to the airport for me as on my departure day the public transport was on a strike. They put up a note in the lift to make everybody aware of the strike and to make sure nobody gets stuck.

I will certainly be staying here again during my next visit to Athens and would highly recommend it to anybody who is looking for a nice hotel in a very central location and does not cost a fortune.

Thank you very much Team Amalia.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ilios007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 281 in Athens
3,384 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,895 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#11 of 281 in Athens
2,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 281 in Athens
1,801 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 281 in Athens
3,206 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Hotel

Address: 10 Leoforos Vassilissis Amalias, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Family Hotel in Athens
#14 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#24 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £76 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amalia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial 7-story Hotel in the center of the city, facing National Garden, just off Constitution Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amalia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalia Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing