We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location”
Review of Amalia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amalia Hotel
Ranked #16 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed at this hotel at the start of July and loved it. The location is great, being so close to the main shopping strip (Ermou Street) and close to one of the main Metro station stops. Beautiful buffet breakfast, and very helpful staff. The view of the Acropolis and Athens from the top floor is breathtaking. Would stay here again!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
Thank Mez_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,747)
There are newer reviews for Amalia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

819 - 825 of 1,747 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2012

we stayed for 2 nights at the Amalia hotel in Athens, the location was great for seeing all the main attractions, the rooms were nice and comfortable and the breakfast was beyond our expectations, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sagi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I have stayed at the Amalia hotel twice - 2012 being my second time. The stay was pleasant, but I seem to remember it being better last time! To start - the hotel is located in a VERY convenient area, right at Syntagma Square. The benefit of this being you can catch a metro train directly from the airport, get off at Syntagma and you are directly across the road from the hotel. Cost of train is 8 euros pp, but you can buy a group ticket for 2 or more people which costs less. The hotel is across the road from the national gardens and the parliament where you can watch the ceremonial changing of the guards every hour. A short walk from a shopping area (run down, dirty and many shops closed) and just a stone's throw further is the plaka area where there are many cafes and restaurants.
We received a very warm, comprehensive greeting when checking in and this was a good example of the pleasant, polite attitude of all hotel staff.
Were were advised we had been upgraded for free to a deluxe room (room 205) with a balcony. Very good sized room, nicely appointed with modern furnishings and good bathroom fit-out.
When we entered the room, our balcony door had been left open, due to the hot weather we closed it and turned on the a/c - but this made very little difference. We turned the a/c down to 10 degrees, and left if on for several hours - the room was far too hot and we struggled to sleep. Our friends were in another room at the hotel and experienced the same issue, however the block-out curtain in 205 was about a foot too short for the window, so letting in light and heat in the mornings was an ongoing issue. Breakfast had a reasonable variety, but probably not of a standard one would expect.
All in all, a reasonable stay - I would personally look elsewhere next time and see what else is around in the same area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiehotelinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Great location, easily accessible from the airport and very helpful staff. From the airport take X95 bus and ride it to the last stop. From the bus stop go up the road and take a right at the traffic light and you will find the hotel on your right. The hotel is walking distance from plaka, and the acropolis, if you don't feel like walking then the metro station is right across the street from the hotel. The breakfast buffet was very nice, helpful and friendly staff.

The only downside was that the AC was not working well. The room was not cold and it was very difficult to sleep, the room was not very spacious but over all the location, price and easy accessibility make this a good choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 84mich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012 via mobile

The rooms were very clean very spacious minibar was abordable, internet is fast ab the people there are very helpfull, and the hotel has the best location for shopping, you can go by walking to most of the most famous brands

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElieFeghaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

very good 4 star hotel, good breakfast selection, hotel clean and close to metro with only one station to acropolis and one station to Monastraki square. walking distance to Plaka and the shopping street of Ermou. I will recommend this hotel to my passengers as i work in the tourist trade and i will for sure use it again as rooms are slightly larger than average 4 star hotels, nice set up and with very good a/c system. you will have a nice stay in Athens in this hotel and find that staff in reception are very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wiener52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The hotel staff was excellent and helpful. Breakfast was great, you must try the Greek crackers with feta cheese and mash tomatoes sprinkled with olive oil. The location is excellent as it is right in the center and you can access the tram, bus and metro all within walking distance. You must check out the roof garden!!!Only let down was that internet was charged extra, but it is reasonably priced and the connection is quick and good and works throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the main road are quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,339 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,842 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
2,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,147 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#27 of 282 in Athens
1,765 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Hotel

Address: 10 Leoforos Vassilissis Amalias, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Family Hotel in Athens
#14 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#24 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £75 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amalia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial 7-story Hotel in the center of the city, facing National Garden, just off Constitution Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amalia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalia Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing