We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Amalia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amalia Hotel
Ranked #15 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed at the Amalia Hotel in Athens 6 Oct to 8 Oct 2012 winding down a three week visit to Greece. This is our third stay and it did not disappoint. Reception was handed very professionally by a courteous, competent concierge. Customer service is certainly a priority here. We had a modern, beautiful room on the fourth floor overlooking the Amalias Avenue and the park and we could see the changing of the guards at the Parliament Buildings to the left. We had a comfortable bed, spacious washroom with sufficient amenities and fluffy towels. The room was spotless.

This hotel has an ideal location. It was only a few minutes stroll from Syntagma Square, the Plaka and the myriad of Tavernas located there. It is only about a 30 minute leisurely stroll to the Acropolis. A visit to the rooftop of the Amalia is very worthwhile. Here one has splendid views of the Acropolis and Athens.

Breakfast was buffet and offered a wide variety of breads and cheeses, fresh fruit and vegetables, many different cereals, eggs, fried, scrambled or boiled, bacon, sausauges, a large selection of Greek specialties and fresh juices. The coffee was delicious. It is very pleasant to enjoy breakfast in an establishment which provides clean white table cloths and cloth, not paper, napkins. The serving staff were always smiling and polite and ensured table dishes were promptly cleared.

The Amalia location, customer service, friendly staff, the wonderful breakfast and the price have determined that the Amalia is our hotel of choice whenever we visit Athens.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the street adds interest as one can see the bustling traffic and folks going abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Punkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

822 - 828 of 1,787 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2012

The hotel is clearly very well located almost in Syntagma Square in front of the Greek parliament and at walking distance from the Acropolis. Well connected (subway and X95 bus to the airport running 24h). The view from the roof in the evening is amazing. Rooms are very clean and new and the buffet breakfast is amazing, a mix of continental and greek specials (from pain au chocolat to halva, feta, dolmades,... ). I very much appreciated this fusion. For the "pros" it should be a ****. My only "cons" are related to the size of the room (very small for being a de-luxe room), very loud (it is on the main road, and even though closing the window might help it is still perceivable), you have to pay for wifi (5 euro for 24h, it is a 4* hotel and this should be considered a minimal service!).

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YK-Urbino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

The hotel location is great, very convenient to access from the airport and the shuttle bus stop is only around the corner. It is within walking distance to all the main attractions like Acropolis.
Our rooms facing Amalias Avenue is quite noisy, but still tolerable most of the time, just remember to close the balcony door. The room is very nice and modern, comfortable bed and cleaned every day. Breakfast buffet has quite a wide variety, but they serve the same things everyday so it can get abit boring if you stay there for more than 2 nights. Wifi is not free, and always get disconnected.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i-ben10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Stylish room, normally associated with pricier hotels, in an ideal location right next to Syntagma Square. Bus to the airport/ metro a few steps away. Very friendly check-in, breakfast included. This was my second visit. I see no need to look for somewhere else to stay when in Athens at this price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suppiluliuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

旅館就在憲法廣場旁邊, 國家花園的正對面.
此地點非常適合在雅典只待短期幾天的旅客, 憲法廣場是雅典對外交通樞紐之一,附近就有直達機場的地鐵跟巴士.
也有多家繞行雅典觀光地點的市區觀光小火車經過此地.

飯店正面的房間都有大陽台正對著國家花園, 建議選擇較高的樓層, 風景會比較好.
我們是住Deluxe Twin / Double, 房間寬敞舒適, 住起來蠻舒服的.

早餐的用餐地點是整個二樓, 很安靜放鬆的用餐空間. 早餐的餐點是簡單的西式早餐與一些希臘式的食物.

附近走路20分鐘內可達的距離有憲法廣場, 無名戰士碑(衛兵交接的廣場), 宙斯神殿, 奧林匹亞競技場等.

飯店櫃檯非常親切, 幫了我們很多忙, 舉凡提供資訊, 旅行建議, 幫忙叫計程車, 幫忙影印, 寄放行李等, 對自由行的我們來說真是讓旅程方便了不少.

The hotel is located nearby Syntagma Square and the National Garden of Athens is just across the street.
It is the best location you can get if you plan a short stay in Athens, which we did.
Syntagma Square is one of the transportation hub in Athens. There are subways and buses directly linked to the Airport.
Also there are several tour buses circling around the attractions of the city passing through.

Front row rooms all have balconies facing the national garden so higher floor is recommended for better view.
We chose Deluxe Twin / Double. The room is spacious enough for us and very comfortable.

We used our breakfast in 2nd floor which entire floor is a huge dinning room. They served some basic western style breakfasts and also some Greek foods. Great atmosphere for dinning.

A few spots are within 20 minutes walking range, the Syntagma Square, Tomb of the Unknown Soldiers (where the changing of the guard Evzones performs every hour), the temple of Zeus, the Olympic Stadium, etc.

The hotel desk was very kind and help us a lot on providing information, recommendations, calling taxi.
They even help with copying some of my documents and keeping our luggage after we checked out (we want to utilize the limited time we have!).
It is very helpful to spontaneous travelers like us.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoshTai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

My husband & I spent 3 days in Athens & chose the Amalia based on Trip Advisor reviews & it seemed like a good location. It was perfect! We arrived at 9 a.m. , after our cruise & checked in. We left our luggage as our room as not yet available, & started exploring. In a very short time we were at the base of the Acropolis, ready to climb up. We tagged behind various English speaking tour groups to listen in on the history & explanations. After a couple hours we headed back to our hotel, & checked in to our room. What a pleasant surprise. It was very nice, good size, beautiful bathroom, smelled very clean, & very quiet. After we freshened up we went to explore & within minutes we were at the 'plaka': the shopping district. It was fabulous. Great patio restaurants, wonderful shops, & very nice people The Greek people are so nice & no pressure to buy anything. Breakfast was included with our hotel & it GREAT. Wonderful food, lots of choice, hot or cold. We loved it.

We've stayed at other European hotels & this has none of the noise, smells or tired looking, smelly rooms. Stay at the Amalia. You'll save on transportation, eat a good, hearty breakfast & be greeted by very nice staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuroraBonBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The location is great.. Around 3 mins walk from Syntagma Square and Syntagma metro station.. Also very close to the bus stop where a direct bus service to the airport, X95, is available (journey takes around 45mins).. Room was also quite cosy.. One thing to note is that there is no free wifi in the hotel..

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skquek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,420 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,932 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#16 of 282 in Athens
1,585 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#32 of 282 in Athens
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Hotel

Address: 10 Leoforos Vassilissis Amalias, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Family Hotel in Athens
#13 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#24 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £80 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amalia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial 7-story Hotel in the center of the city, facing National Garden, just off Constitution Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amalia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalia Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing