We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shehada's family love this hotel”
Review of Amalia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amalia Hotel
Ranked #16 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent four day at this hotel. It was very nice and cool hotel. First day we stayed at room all over the day. Room service is very good. Food is very delicious. Internet access is high speed. T. V. Channels were at our request. We watched our local channel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shehada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,749)
There are newer reviews for Amalia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

732 - 738 of 1,750 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

We recommend this hotel. The reception desk was knowledgeable and helpful. The breakfast was pretty good (awesome strawberry yogurt with granola). The room was not fancy but clean. The bed was very comfortable. The best part was the location. It was WALKING DISTANCE to Plaka (where there's lots of restaurants and shops), the ancient market and ruins, Parliament (where you can see the changing of the guards in front of the Tomb of the Unknown Soldiers), buses, and lots of taxis. We only wish this hotel had free Wifi.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessieNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daouliaris_A, Director of Operations at Amalia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing such a positive comments from the Amalia Athens, a 4 star Hotel member of Amalia Group of Hotels.

I am very pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and members of our staff have fulfilled your expectations.

Taking in consideration the reviews regarding the Wi-Fi surcharge we are very pleased to inform you that from the 1st of September 2013 the WiFi connection is FREE of charge.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Amalia Athens or any other Amalia Hotel, member of Amalia Group of Hotels,next time your travels bring you to Greece.

Sincerely,

Daouliaris Argiris
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Amalia Hotel was very nice--it had an upscale/luxurious feel for a relatively inexpensive price. We were on our honeymoon, and they upgraded us to a deluxe room, which was very nice of them. The service was great--the people at the front desk were very helpful in answering our questions. We had a balcony, which looked over the national gardens and was quite nice. There was no balcony furniture, but the room had a set of chairs and a table, and we brought the chairs out to use the balcony. We got the breakfast one day, which I thought was steep at 8 euros per person, but it was certainly a plentiful buffet. The location was also great--literally right by the Syntagma stop on the metro and an easy walk to nearly all the major tourist destinations.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AliciaR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Amalia hotel combines both good accomodation and great location. All the services achieve the standard of a four stars hotel: friendly staff, good size and properly fit rooms. Wifi is not free but a cheap fee per day. On top of that, the hotel is just a two minutes walk from Sintagma Square and at a walking distance from the main historical visits, and the Plaka. Finally, the price was good enough for what we got

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank oriolsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

It is right next to syntagma square, great location with all the basic things a hotel should have.

The roof is open for nice view (I didn't realized it until the last night), you can see all around Athens from the roof top.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S0raYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

A wonderful experience at this hotel ,which is very centrally located in the heart of Athens ,within easy walking distance of Plaka,Monastiraki ,the Acropolis and other archaeological sites.
Very comfortable room on 5th floor with views across the public gardens and the square.

Excellent full buffet breakfast,best we had in Europe by far!

Staff were extremely helpful and friendly and helped us out immensely !

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Wonderfully located just off Syntagma Square, we had a room on the 6th floor overlooking the vast expanse of the public garden and a huge balcony with table and chairs. The Metro that takes you to the airport in 30 minutes is only steps away across the street, and you can easily walk to the old quarter of Plaka, which is less than 10 minutes away. The bedroom was nicely appointed, and so was the bathroom. No criticisms anywhere. The breakfast is good and adequate without being luxurious, and the Amalia is not cheap but worth it and terribly convenient. We will go again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blue_439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
3,339 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,843 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
2,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,148 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#27 of 282 in Athens
1,765 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Hotel

Address: 10 Leoforos Vassilissis Amalias, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#10 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#11 Family Hotel in Athens
#24 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £74 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amalia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial 7-story Hotel in the center of the city, facing National Garden, just off Constitution Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amalia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalia Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing