We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, modern, clean hotel across from the National Gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amalia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amalia Hotel
Ranked #17 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful, modern, clean hotel across from the National Gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

The Amalia Hotel in Athens, Greece, was extremely nice. Beautifully appointed, friendly and helpful staff, huge delicious breakfast bar. The location was across the street from the National Gardens, a block away from Parliament where we watched the changing of the guard, and in close proximity to many places to walk and eat. We stayed there 2 nights before embarking on a cruise to the islands, and returned there for 1 night before flying back to the States.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the front with a balcony, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    708
    107
    28
    11
See reviews for
314
774
99
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed here on my first time visit to Athens for a week. If I just wanted to rate the hotel itself I would have rated it 3 or 4, but the location makes it 5 star. The hotel is located in walking distance to Acropolis area where basically the main attraction area of Athens is. The rest of the city really didn't seem too interesting to bother leave the area. Inside the hotel is clean and you get house keeper every day, although for some reason they start working 630 AM. I know this because two days in a row they started cleaning room next to mine and work me up when they were vacuuming at 630. The breakfast is nice too with buffet.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solotraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
195 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Upon arriving in Athens, Air Transat tours arranged for us to leave our suitcases there while we had time before taking the ferry to Mykonos. The staff were ever so helpful. They told us we could gladly use their WiFi, gave us complimentary treats and helped us with directions for the area. The hotel is minutes from the Acropolis and the shopping area called Plaka.
If I were to stay in Athens, I would definitely choose this hotel due to its central location, cleanliness and capable staff. p.s. nice bar for a quick, chilled drink

Room Tip: Steps to the Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daouliaris_A, Director of Operations at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing such a positive comments from the Amalia Athens, a 4 star Hotel member of Amalia Group of Hotels.

I am very happy to see that you were pleased by our staff and sevices.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Amalia Athens next time your travels bring you to Athens.

Sincerely,

Daouliaris Argiris
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Centrally located across the Parliament. You can see d changing of guards fr d balcony. We were upgraded to a suite which was a plus! Spacious rooms, good breakfast, walking distance to the Plaka & other shopping areas. Modern rooms & furnishings and just recently, wifi is now free :) Reasonable price too.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_sweeties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daouliaris_A, Director of Operations at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your positive comments about the Amalia Athens, a 4 Star Hotel member of Amalia Group of Hotels.

It is through responses like yours that we can evaluate our services and I thank you once more.

We look forward to welcome you again, hopefully in the very near future.

Sincerely Yours,

Daouliaris Argiris
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Well-located. Close to the charming windy streets and taverns of the Plaka and numerous touristy and commercial pedestrian walkways. Short walk to the Acropolis. Close to the Syntagma metro. Close to a city park with a playground (good for kids).

Excellent windows, when closed, offer good sound insulation. Room was roomy. Bed was larger than all other hotels we stayed at in Greece, appeared to be king-size. Had a tub, which appears to be rare luxury (maybe only 3-star plus hotels?) in the places we stayed at in Greece, so nice to finally take a bath for once.

Excellent view from the roof deck, you can see the Parthenon and the full Acropolis (our friends staying at a nearby more expensive hotel had the view of the Acropolis from their room and rooftop restaurant...but being closer to the Acropolis, they actually couldn't see the Parthenon, just the walls and foundation). From this hotel, you can actually see the Parthenon, at least from the roof deck.

Breakfast was a good value. Had good amount of hot food which was appreciated after weeks of "continental breakfasts." Friendly service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank altairj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daouliaris_A, Director of Operations at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

May I thank you for your time taken to write such a positive comments regarding your stay with us and to extend the greetings from all here at the Amalia Athens, a 4 star Hotel member of Amalia Group of Hotels.

Your positive comments will stimulate our staff to maintain and even evaluate even the excellent quality of service and I thank you once more.

One more time thanks for you high appreciation and rest assured that we look forward to welcome you again, hopefully in the very near future.

Sincerely Yours,

Daouliaris Argiris
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We won our trip so have no idea what the cost of the room was. That being said, very nice, clean hotel with good size rooms for Europe. Staff were helpful, some more than others. Very professional. Excellent location! The breakfast is well worth 8 euros as compared to what is out there.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daouliaris_A, Director of Operations at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing such a positive comments from the Amalia Athens, a 4 star Hotel member of Amalia Group of Hotels.

I am very pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and members of our staff have fulfilled your expectations.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Amalia Athens next time your travels bring you to Athens.

Sincerely,

Daouliaris Argiris
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, Sussex UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Ideally located for the Athens metro - just a short walk from the Plaka area and Syntagma Square.

Very comfortable - good sleep quality even though located near a busy road - rooms are perhaps a bit basic but this is three star ......check in was excellent.

Nice view from the roof of the Parthenon. We would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cessna152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,139 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,629 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#9 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Hotel

Property: Amalia Hotel
Address: 10 Leoforos Vassilissis Amalias, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#14 Family Hotel in Athens
#14 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#29 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amalia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial 7-story Hotel in the center of the city, facing National Garden, just off Constitution Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amalia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalia Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing