We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
Review of Amalia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amalia Hotel
Ranked #16 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Perfect place to rest after a long walking day. Spaciou room, clean and very confortable.
Very nice breakfast is served in a good restaurant.
Close to many tourists atraction, in front of subway and train.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulista05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

648 - 654 of 1,771 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Amalia is a very attractive modern hotel in a prime location near Syntagma Square and walking distance to most important attractions with the Metro nearby for other locations and the airport. The staff are very helpful and friendly, speaking remarkably good English. A large breakfast buffet is provided, and the prices from room service and in the lounge are very reasonable for a hotel and with excellent quality. The very substantial club sandwich comes with hand cut french fries nicely browned. The rooms are small, however in Athens one is mostly busy away from the hotel.

Room Tip: I chose a smaller corner room but very quiet, number 301.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eclectic779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I spent 2 nights at the Amalia hotel before my cruise in May. It's a very nice hotel with clean room, convenient location, good breakfast and friendly staff. The price is reasonable, too. The only thing I dislike is the view from the window.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayyan428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had wanted to stay at the Amalia when we visited in 2011, however it was booked and our travel agent referred us to the Royal Olympic which although it was rated a 5 star hotel, proved to be a very disappointing experience. When we decided to visit Greece this year, we immediately made reservations at the Amalia and cannot give this hotel enough praise and will now not consider staying anywhere else. The location is perfect and although on a busy street has beautiful views in many directions. We had a deluxe room on the front of the hotel which had a balcony and views of the Parliment Building and the beautiful adjacent park. The location has easy access to any place you wish to visit in Athens. We stayed for 6 nights and the breakfasts were always nicely displayed with many options and well prepared. We never felt that the foods offered were becoming tiresome. The staff is exceptional in every way, always pleasant and helpful. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated and far beyond our expectations in every way. Thank you to all of you working at the Amalia Hotel, staying with you was a wonderful experience and added so much to our stay in Athens.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MacGregor892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Although we booked a deluxe room, it appears from looking at the hotel's website that we were upgraded to a suite. We had a separate living room, a huge bathroom, and a wraparound balcony with awesome views of the National Gardens and the Parliament. Although one side of the room did face a busy street, we didn't have any problems with traffic noise--maybe because we were on the highest floor. The staff members were friendly and helpful; we had a small snafu with the early-morning taxi to the airport they booked for us, but they quickly made it right.

I have only two small complaints about this hotel. First, the sofa bed in the living area was not very comfortable. (The standard bed in the bedroom was quite nice, though.) Second, as others have noted, the air conditioning is not the best. The living area of our room was fine, but the bedroom was stuffy. All things considered, though, I wouldn't hesitate to return here or to recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flatbstanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was our first stay in Greece and just loved this hotel. Easily accessed by the airport X95 bus, close to the Acropolis and the Plaka where we ate each of our 2 days in great Tavernas. The service we received was unsurpassable in our superior room with a superb view. A 20 euro trip to the ferry makes this hotel hard to beat.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a Superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeriSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Booked our room online, but disappointed it looked nothing like the pictures. Told there none left so we just took the room. It was a bit small and quite noisy, although in a good position.Breakfast was good plenty of variety, staff friendly, but not too helpful when asked a question.We had to work things out ourselves. Overall ok for 2 days

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 281 in Athens
3,379 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,886 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#12 of 281 in Athens
2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 281 in Athens
1,796 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 281 in Athens
3,201 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Hotel

Address: 10 Leoforos Vassilissis Amalias, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Family Hotel in Athens
#14 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#24 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £75 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amalia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial 7-story Hotel in the center of the city, facing National Garden, just off Constitution Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Booking.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amalia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalia Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing