We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice rooms, centrally located!”
Review of Amalia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amalia Hotel
Ranked #15 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Pros: Very nice rooms. Centrally located, walking distance to the Acropolis and other sites, located a block away from the express bus that takes you to and from the airport which is VERY helpful. Nice staff..probably one of the nicest hotels we stayed at on our entire trip.Definitely the largest room we stayed in, in Europe!

Cons: I would have given this hotel 5 stars, but the only thing that bugged me was there were stains on the sheets. Obviously they were washed but they shouldn't be putting sheets with stains on them in a clean room. Also, I didn't like that the hotel didn't come with a free continental breakfast.
But overall very comfortable, easy to get to and great location. I'd go back there!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,070 - 1,076 of 1,787 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2009

Clean, modern hotel with adequate room size and comfort. Great location, in walking distance of most tourist sites. Friendly staff. Absolutely fabulous breakfast!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianaGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2009

In June 2009, we stayed four nights in Amalia Hotel, Athens. The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly. It has a modern decor, spacious rooms, and is clean. We had an amazing view of the Acropolis up on top of the hill from our room window. The buffet breakfast in their hotel dining room was delicious and great.

The hotel is convenient and centrally located!!! It's within walking distance to the historical sites such as the Acropolis, Agora, and others. For dinning and shopping, the Plaka, Syntagma Square, and Omonoia are in close proximity. Various museums are nearby too. The Parliament Building is only a few steps away from Amalia Hotel, where you can see the changing of the guards everyday. Also, the National Park is situated just across from the hotel. The location was very safe to walk around, even at night.

I would certainly come back to stay at this hotel in the future, and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

Our stay at Amalia was fantastic. We got a good deal at €110 for a double room plus breakfast. The breakfast was amazing for European standards. The rooms were big for European standards as well. And very modern. The staff was very friendly. There is even free internet available in the lobby. And LOCATION WAS PERFECT!!! It is right in the center of all the action. I highly recommend Amalia!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubidoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

This is the best hotel we stayed in Athens. This is a modern and clean and it is very close to X95 bus station. We booked the hotel thru booking.com and it was good value. For some 20 Euro more compared to a typical 2 star hotel in Athens, we have a bigger room, a beautiful bathroom with bathtub, a better breakfast buffet spread, plasma TV and a good location to boot. I will definintely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessTKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

The decoration of the hotel is modern, I love it. The balcony of the delux room is extremely nice, just opposite to the national park.

The room is clean, the bed is comfortable. Good location, just 5 mins walk from the shopping and eating area, close to other main sightseeing areas.

Staff are very nice! Much better than the Athens Gate Hotel which was nearby.

Good breakfast also. The price is very very reasonable.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
Thank aahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Our family of three (including one young child) stayed at the Amalia Hotel for 10 days. This hotel's location couldn't be more perfect. We were close to tourist sites, shopping and there was easy access to taxis, metro.

The hotel has recently been renovated and is well-maintained. It is definitely not a luxury hotel but provides good value for money. There aren't any amenities to speak of, but we weren't really interested in a fitness area or pool. We preferred to spend our time sightseeing and going to the local beaches. The AC works in this hotel and, believe me, AC is an absolute must in Athens during the summer!

We stayed in a suite located on the top floor of the hotel. It was a large space and had a separate bedroom. The best feature of the suite was the fabulous wrap-around balcony from which we could see practically the whole of Athens. I highly recommend booking the suite if you can, especially if you are staying with young children.

Breakfast was included in the rate. We never had to wait for a table and the selection was good. Service in the restaurant could be better - for example, it took a lot of effort to get a coffee refill. There are plenty of restaurants and bakeries in the neighborhood.

Overall, we had a great stay and I highly recommend the hotel for its ideal location.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanCanuck2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,419 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,931 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#16 of 282 in Athens
1,585 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#32 of 282 in Athens
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Hotel

Address: 10 Leoforos Vassilissis Amalias, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Family Hotel in Athens
#13 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#24 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £80 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amalia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial 7-story Hotel in the center of the city, facing National Garden, just off Constitution Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amalia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalia Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing