We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK hotel, great location but nasty staff ruin the stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Amalia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amalia Hotel
Ranked #17 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“OK hotel, great location but nasty staff ruin the stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

Stayed for 4 days with a group and while the hotel itself is okay, the staff really ruined our whole view of the Amalia. We only met one person who was not trained to say no to our every request. The front desk staff are not only unhelpful but one man (night staff) actually made fun of one of our teammates in front of me. Veru unprofessional & mean.

Rooms are quite small and VERY hot (my travel alarm clock registered 26 degrees Celsius). We werne't lucky enough to get a balcony and as we were on the first floor, our window only cracked open vertically, the full horizontal opening is locked.

The best thing about the Amalia is the location. It's great to be at Syntagma, so close to Plaka and all the sights.

The banquet food was pretty good, but again, the banquet staff were at best detached and at worst, unfriendly.

The breakfast buffet was quite good (the yogurt with honey is so yummy and the dolmas melt in your mouth) but for fear of repeating myself, the breakfast staff was terrible. One day, I asked one of the servers for help with the Greek coffee and she refused. We only once we offered or served coffee, the rest of the time we had to get it ourselves from the server station.

Stayed November 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank Hali-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    708
    107
    28
    11
See reviews for
314
774
99
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

I stayed at the Amalia for 3 nights for a work trip. The hotel is in a great, safe location - it lacks some of the colour of Athens daily life which you'll find elsewhere, but it's very central and in a good neighbourhood. Close by are tram and metro stops, and the airport bus. Across the street are the green and leafy National Gardens.
Staff were friendly and helpful (although they did turn away a courier delivery due to a misunderstanding) and helped us with booking taxis etc. The rooms themselves, although quite small were comfortable and well furnished, with good sized and well equipped bathrooms.
The buffet breakfast, included in our rate, offered a good selection and was a nice bonus.
The downsides? No facilities for making drinks in the rooms (and a cup of coffee on room service costs 6 euros!). And perhaps more importantly, the extortionate charges for internet access - 25 euros per day, which particular for business travel may be an important deciding factor.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HattieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2009

We stayed twice in the Amalia Hotel during our recent Greece trip: 2 nights before a land tour of the Pelopponese and 1 night after that tour. On the 1st stay, we were in a standard room facing a side street and the building across. On our 2nd stay, we were upgraded for free to a deluxe room with a balcony facing the main street (Amalias Avenue) and the National Garden.

Pros:
1. location - 2 short blocks from Syntagma Square, the Parliament, the Metro (Syntagma stop) and the Airport bus (X95), also across the National Garden, and a long walk to the Plaka, the Acropolis and the new Acropolis Museum, and to the Kolonaki area (where the Benaki Museum is located)
2. relatively good selection at breakfast (included in our room rate) although it didn't change much each day (which could be a con)
3. newly-renovated, modern streamlined look
4. clean
5. friendly restaurant staff and porters
6. has all the standard hotel amenities to be expected of a 3-4 star hotel

Cons:
1. smallish rooms (maybe 18-20 square meters, including the bathroom), and smallish elevators too, but then again, this is Europe
2. one of the men in the reception desk was not very friendly
3. deluxe room facing the street is noisy - we didn't feel like we were "upgraded" since we ended up preferring the less noisy standard room
4. Wi-fi is not free

Let me emphasize that this hotel is in Athens, ergo, in Europe where hotels are expensive specially for someone used to hotels in Asia. So although we thought that the Amalia Hotel at 130 Euros was quite steep (for that price, we can get a room at a 5-star hotel in Bangkok), we think that for its advantages, this is a good deal in Athens. Can't really say if this deserves 4 stars or not -- by Asia standards, this is just 3 stars because the rooms are small but maybe for Europe it will qualify for 4-stars.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chocoluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deepest Surrey
Level Contributor
125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2009

An excellent location just off Syntagma Square and a 10 minute walk from Plaka, the Acropolis Museum, the Acropolis proper and the Temple of Olympian Zeus. Bright zany reception, very helpful staff, really outstanding breakfast catering for everyone - English, American, Continental and Greek - so you can eat four breakfasts if that's your bag. Everything clean and bright - I didn't notice tired rooms or dirty carpets on our floor (2nd).

The rooms are small, though reasonably appointed. They were indeed sultry and tended to smell musty unless the fan was on, and the fan is only on if your key is in the slot. I raised this with management and they explained that at this time of year (October) they do not operate cooling aircon, only recirculation, and the weather outside - which was very warm and very wet throughout! - was not ideal for their system. We sorted it by opening the window while we were out - at least the windows do open, which I find rare in doubleglazed airconditioned hotels.

Altogether we were very pleased with the value for a clean, shiny hotel with very friendly staff, and I would stay there again if I could get a similar deal (€100 per night for the room as against a rack rate of €250).

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneShorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

We stayed at Amalia for one night in Sept. The hotel is hip and nice with a large reception. The reception staff was very helpful. The room was nice, spacious and bathrooms great and the location is good as it is just one block away from Syntagma. We got a great deal for one night stay (Eur 95) so were happy. Would recommend this for stay in Athens.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Charu_Akash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

Amalia hotel has an attractive lobby, helpful staff, and great location. That's about all that it has going for it. The carpets in the hallway and rooms were stained. We had to turn our AC as cold and as high as it could go and our room never really seemed to cool off and always smelled musty. I can't imagine what it must be like in August. Being in our room was just depressing. We did not think the breakfast was that great. We ate there the first morning and then went elsewhere the other mornings we were there. The website boasts a restaurant on the roof with views of the Acropolis. We tried to go up there, but the door was locked. We were very disappointed in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toby8864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
169 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2009

The hotel has an excellent location and the desk staff were very helpful and friendly, however, the room was very tired and definitely not 4 star. The carpets in the hallways and the room were soiled with spots and in serious need of cleaning. I was a little disappointed, as I had expected better value for the price. Good hotel, but needs upgrading.
Very disappointed that I had to pay a high fee for WFI for my own computer in the room so had to wait for the one in the lobby to be free. Most 4 star hotels do not charge for WFI.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torontobiggs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,138 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,627 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#7 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Hotel

Property: Amalia Hotel
Address: 10 Leoforos Vassilissis Amalias, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Athens
#14 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#14 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#29 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amalia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial 7-story Hotel in the center of the city, facing National Garden, just off Constitution Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amalia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalia Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing