We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Great Service”
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #92 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Value and Great Service”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I visited this Hotel in April with my young Grandson and, after reading some reviews, was very pleasantly surprised. There is no doubt that the Hotel is a bit tired and could do with some of the areas being updated, but it had everything we were looking for. The rooms were comfortable and had plenty storage and were very clean and the television showed a good variety of channels. The Bathroom was also clean although again could be doing with a bit of a facelift. The shower was small but powerfull and always hot. We ate most nights in the Rooftop Restaurant overlooking the Perthenon, the food was reasonably priced, fairly basic but very well cooked and presented, by very pleasant and attentive staff. The surrounding area was a bit run down, but I would have ventured out if I had been with someone my own age, but because I was with my Grandson decided to be cautious and stayed in the hotel every evening where the snacks and Bar prices were again very reasonable. A huge plus for me was when I enquired about holding on to our room because our flight home was in the evening and I was told at the front desk that there would be no problem and no charge!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken58_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanley, General Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. It is wonderful to hear that you had a great experience while staying with your grandson and we are very happy to see that you enjoyed your clean and comfortable room, our rooftop restaurant and views, and found our staff flexible with your checkout time.

Regarding your comment about the neighborhood – while we understand some of the buildings in our area are a bit old, we do feel that the neighborhood is safe to walk around day or night. There are many interesting and new elements to our neighborhood, including new gourmet restaurants and increased art community presence.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again. Please do let us know the next time you are in Athens and we will do our best to accommodate you once again.

Best Regards,
Stefanos Poulios
General Manager, Hotel Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    642
    406
    157
    65
See reviews for
321
521
101
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

If you want friendly and helpful staff, this is the hotel for you. Lovely roof garden. The snacks are very good value and wide selection. Breakfast is as good as any person could wish for. Could not be more convenient for metro. All in all an ideal place to stay. Could not recommend it highly enough. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim186565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanley, General Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for sharing your excellent feedback with the Trip Advisor community, and of course would like to thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Stanley. We are very happy to hear such positive feedback – including your experience with our staff, the breakfast quality, our convenient location, and of course roof garden bar and restaurant with views of Athens.

We would love the opportunity to welcome you again, please let us know if you return to Athens.

Best Regards,
Stefanos Poulios
General Manager, Hotel Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Really enjoyed staying at the Stanley. Reception staff were very helpful. The food was very good with the waiters always polite. Rooftop bar and pool was a bonus with great views of the City and The Acropolis lit up at night. Location was good with all places accessible by taxi for 5 to 7 Euros and getting back was always downhill so easy to walk. Rooms basic but clean with great views of the city from the balcony. Apart from getting caught up in a demonstration and tear gassed by the over zealous Police near the Parliament Building this was the perfect holiday and would recommend The Hotel Stanley to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanley, General Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Hotel Stanley and for providing such an excellent account of your experience with us. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel facilities such as our rooftop bar and pool with views of the city, our clean and comfortable rooms, and felt our staff was friendly and helpful.

We would also like to point out that our location, while within short distance to many major points of interest in Athens, we are squarely outside of the area where the demonstrations or protests have happened. We are very sorry to hear you were caught up in one of the protests at Syntagma Square, but are glad to hear that you are now safe.

Should you return to Athens, we would love the opportunity to welcome you again. Please let us know if you return and we will do our absolute best to provide you with a great experience once more.

Best Regards,
Stefanos Poulios
General Manager, Hotel Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

As Stanley is one of the oldest hotels in Greece, it is a known 4* hotel. You may have the chance to find the Subway station below the hotel. I must comment that the area is not that safe in night so would be better to be careful. The hotel can be considered ad near to centric parts and taxi costs are acceptable. As it is an old hotel, we didn't expect te maximum so it was enjoyable our stay there. The room was fine, the beds were comfortable and the balchony was the best. We tried Greek food in restaurant and it was succesful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YaseminAlioglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanley, General Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad you found your room comfortable, enjoyed the view from your balcony, and had a chance to eat at Virtus, our rooftop restaurant.

Regarding your comment about the neighborhood – while we understand some of the buildings in our area are a bit old, we do feel that the neighborhood is safe to walk around day or night. There are many interesting and new elements to our neighborhood, including new gourmet restaurants and increased art community presence.

We would love the opportunity to welcome you to the Stanley again, please let us know the next time you are in Athens.

Best regards,
Stefanos Poulios
General Manager, Hotel Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Beautiful rooftop terrace with a nice pool. Convenient location right by the metro station making city centre reachable within minutes. Clean rooms with nice view (when lucky). Sufficient breakfast buffet. Great little sandwich stand at the corner.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiinR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanley, General Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Stanley and for sharing your thoughts with the Trip Advisor community. It is wonderful to hear such positive feedback. We are very happy to hear you felt you received a good value by staying with us, and were satisfied with our location, breakfast buffet, corner store, and of course our clean rooms and rooftop view and pool.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,
Stefanos Poulios
General Manager, Hotel Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The food in both restaurants was ready made, very bad and unbelivable expencive. The breakfast was out of price and realy disapointed.
Albert night the room was noisy by the traffick outside. The people working here were very polite and helpfull.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albertmisdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanley, General Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with Trip Advisor and for staying with us at the Hotel Stanley. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant experience with our staff.

We would also like to thank you for your comments regarding the food in the hotel. We normally receive very positive comments regarding our food – both in quality and in pricing. In fact, we have recently reduced the prices of many of the items on our menus. We have also added new dishes to our lunch and dinner menus that include a broader range for our guests to choose from, including vegetarian options. Lastly, our breakfast buffet is fairly comprehensive – offering everything from fresh seasonal fruits and croissants, to eggs and bacon.

Given our feedback is usually very positive, we would very much appreciate further feedback from you regarding the specific issues you had with the food in our hotel. We appreciate the opportunity to have our guests help improve our hotel for future guest experiences. If you are able, please email us at generalmanager@hotelstanley.gr with more specifics, as honest specifics will undoubtedly be very helpful to us.

Again, we appreciate you comments and would like to thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Stanley. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again the next time you are in Athens.

Best regards,
Stefanos Poulios
General Manager, Hotel Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Athens hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

All things about this hotel are good- excellent location, walking distance from city centre, metro station next door, beautiful night view of Acropolis- but the area around this hotel has become quite seedy. I got a feeling that crime is a problem. But the hotel has its own private security guards. Breakfast buffet is good, but if you arrive late, you tend to miss some items. Rooms are clean and spacious, service is excellent, staff are courteous. The free wifi is a problem but in the lobby there are computers which are of use.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drdvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanley, General Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with Trip Advisor and for staying with us at the Hotel Stanley. It is wonderful to hear that you were satisfied with our location, views of the Acropolis, breakfast buffet, and rooms.

We would also like to thank you for your comment regarding the WiFi throughout the hotel. As a result of your feedback and other guest comments, we will be adding additional routers throughout the property to increase the wireless signal strength and provide a better Internet experience for all guests.

Additionally, we would like to address your comments regarding the neighborhood. Our area is currently in the process of gentrification with many newly opened high-end restaurants and art galleries within a short walking distance from the Stanley. While the neighborhood may feel a bit “old,” we do not consider it to be unsafe.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again the next time you are in Athens.

Best regards,
Stefanos Poulios
General Manager, Hotel Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Novotel Athenes
#62 of 326 in Athens
2,225 reviews
Novus City Hotel
#36 of 326 in Athens
730 reviews
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#34 of 326 in Athens
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Centrotel Hotel
#24 of 326 in Athens
1,180 reviews
Omonia
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
#106 of 326 in Athens
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Property: Stanley Hotel
Address: 1 Odisseos | Karaiskaki Square, Athens 104 37, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Athens Hotel is a four (4) star hotel, located in Karaiskaki Square near the center of Athens. We are directly in front of the Metaxourghio Metro station, a taxi stand, and tour bus stops, making travel around the city easy and convenient. We feature a stunning rooftop terrace with views of the Acropolis, a swimming pool, bar, and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing