We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #85 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Vouliagmeni, Greece
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Location and service”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Having recently stayed at this hotel during a business meeting, I could only say that the location is ideal, central, but far from government buildings where strikes take place. The area is quite safe and the provided service is of high quality.
I would highly recommend this hotel for business or even leisure travellers in Athens.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationerGR-1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying with us and sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear that you had an excellent experience with our service, and found our location convenient.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again the next time you are in town for business.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
Hotel Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    597
    375
    136
    55
See reviews for
298
463
94
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ramnicu Valcea, Romania
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Being a guest in this hotel was a great experence with fantastic services and sourounded by smiling faces. Excelent services in rooms, reception as well as in the food and beverages outlets.
The room was fine. Had a nice view of the square beneath the hotel and the subway was easily visible and accessible. I especially loved the main dining room which had the large breakfast spread that was all anyone could ask.
Located about an hour from the airport if you're taking the metro. There is a station (metaxourghio) right at the bottom of the hotel which makes it very convenient for getting around.
Friendly staff, good food, clean and safe environment was the key which really impress me.

i will be back sometimes!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constantin1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor, and for choosing the Stanley while staying in Athens. It is our aim to provide excellent an excellent level of service and overall guest experience, so we are very happy to hear your enjoyed your stay so thoroughly.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again the next time you are in Athens.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
Hotel Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Located about an hour from the airport if you're taking the metro. There is a station (Metaxourghio) right at the bottom of the hotel which makes it very convenient for getting around. Be warned though: the hotel looks NOTHING like the modern swanky pictures. Don't get me wrong; it wasn't horrible but it definitely needs a lot of updating. The rooms are old, the A/C took forever to come on and circulate, the TV needed a microscope to view it, and there was nowhere to put our luggage because the room was so tiny. We also requested a non-smoking room but somehow smoke kept drifting into our room (not sure from where). It is in the middle of a busy intersection which didn't bother us much, but if you're a light sleeper the noise might keep you up.

The first night, we had a 7th floor room which had a nice view, but the second night we asked for a bigger room which was on the 8th floor and was much better and also had a nice view. We didn't get a chance to dine at the rooftop bar but we went up to check out the Acropolis view. The wi-fi was very flimsy, and it logs you out frequently so you have to keep typing in the username and password. They did help us keep our luggage in storage while we went off to Mykonos, which I thought was nice of them. Their breakfast was also decent - your regular bread, eggs, ham, cheeses and hot/cold drinks.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Stanley and for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We are glad to hear you found our hotel conveniently located near the Metro station, enjoyed the view from your room, our breakfast buffet, and had a chance to see the Acropolis from our rooftop garden.

We would like to apologize that our room did not fit your expectations, however we are happy we were able to change your initial room to something more suitable for you. We understand your comments regarding updating the rooms, and we are constantly in the process of making updates to our accommodations – including new bedding, flooring, and TVs for some rooms, as well as stronger WiFi connections for the entire hotel. We do feel that we provide an excellent value for our guests and despite your dissatisfaction with the room décor; we hope that you feel you got your money’s worth.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again the next time you visit Greece. Please feel free to contact us directly and we will do our best to ensure your have a more comfortable experience the second time you stay with us.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
Hotel Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The number one responsibility of any hotel is that of ensuring a good night’s rest – more so within a City location and more so still when based on one of the noisiest roundabouts in Athens. I requested a high floor with a view – room 713 was provided with a wonderful view across to the Acropolis. Sadly this came at a premium as neither of my 2 nights’ stay gave anything more than broken sleep due to the relentless traffic below.

The Stanley Hotel decor is dated throughout and although kept clean is in need of a refresh. Evidence of revitalisation such as free WiFi (according to the welcome pack one would have previously purchased tokens from the front desk) would be pleasing if it were not for the flakiness of their network. Sporadic and drawn out periods of non-connectivity do not appeal to resident professionals; I myself actually had to leave early to work elsewhere on my last day, sadly.

The location of the hotel is its saving grace – it sits atop both the Metro and tour bus stations and is within 15 minutes’ walk to the popular Gazi nightlife area.

With the correct sound-proofing and updating this could be a viable hotel for business use; presently it just serves as a coach-party stopover.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GavTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Stanley and for sharing your thoughts with the Trip Advisor community. We are happy to see that you found our hotel conveniently located next to the Metro and within walking distance of some of Athens’ best nightlife.

We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for your poor experience with the street noise and WiFi connection. We do provide double doors to the balcony that cancel out nearly all of the street noise; so we believe there is a chance your room did not have both doors closed. Of course, if you found that insufficient we would have been happy to offer you an internal-facing room to fully eliminate any possibility of street noise.

Additionally, we would like to thank you for your WiFi comment. We have recently upgraded our system throughout our entire property and have experienced a few bugs as we have upgraded. We are working with our service provider as quickly as possible to resolve this, and again we do apologize that this issue inconvenienced you and your work.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Stanley should you return to Athens on business. We are confident we will provide you with a better experience the next time you stay with us.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
Hotel Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Athens hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Stanley Hotel. The room was fine. Had a
nice view of the square beneath the hotel and the subway was easily
visible and accessible. I especially loved the main dining room which
had the large breakfast spread that was all anyone could ask, but at
the other meals delicious greek food was available, as well. The
rooftop garden was fantastic: nice view of the acropolis, especially
of the church in the middle of the City. Also on the rooftop was a
great restaurant/bar and the atmosphere was special.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your thoughts about the Hotel Stanley on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your room, our breakfast buffet, and of course our rooftop restaurant and view.

We hope to see you again the next time you are in Athens. Thank you again for your feedback.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
Hotel Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I stayed at the Stanley on business in March 2013. I wasn't in the hotel long - arrived quite late, taken out for dinner, out quite early the next day - so I don't have a huge amount to say. However, I have to say that the view from the rooftop bar was fantastic, the Parthanon on the hill overlooking all of Athens.
I didn't eat at the hotel except for breakfast, which was utilitarian and dominated by American teenagers at the other end of the room. Can't they be fitted with volume controls?
The local area has seen better days, I think, but I didn't go out on foot - as I said, I was very much limited by time. The hotel bars were fine for my purposes though, white wine 5 Euro a glass which I thought reasonable. Worth it for the view from the roof top bar - don't bother with the downstairs bar unless (as I was) you are meeting someone.
I haven't rated the hotel for value as I didn't pay for it and don't know what they charge. Equally, I haven't rated the location as I didn't go out on foot and don't know Athens well enough to comment.

Room Tip: The higher, the better: Athens is not a quiet city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Stanley and for sharing your thoughts with the Trip Advisor community. We are glad to hear you had a chance to enjoy our rooftop bar and view of the city during your short stay. We do agree that the view is fantastic. We are also happy to hear that you found the breakfast satisfactory, and do we apologize for the morning volume of some of our younger guests.

While we understand you did not have time to explore our immediate neighborhood, we can assure you that you would find some very interesting new bars and restaurants. We are located in a gentrifying area of Athens and many new, hip places to eat and drink are opening up throughout our neighborhood regularly. In fact, Trip Advisor’s number one rated restaurant in all of Athens is just a few block walk from the hotel. Should we have the opportunity to welcome you again to the Stanley, we would be happy to recommend a good bar or restaurant within a few minutes walk from our doorstep.

We do wish to see you again at the Hotel Stanley in the future. Thank you again for your thoughtful and helpful comments.

Best regards,
Guest Relations Management
Hotel Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Stanley Hotel after a friend recommended it. We booked through their website with little trouble and received an email from the management staff confirming our room type, etc within a day. Upon arrival the guy at the reception desk had my requests in line (non-smoking room, high floor), and everyone seemed very friendly and helpful. Overall we were pretty impressed with the customer service here vs. other European hotels we traveled to and actually kind of surprised given what we paid.

The metro station is right in front of the hotel, so it very easy to get to all the attractions we wanted to see - Acropolis, Plaka, Syntagma, etc. If you've never been to the Acropolis or to Greece - GO!

Rooms at The Stanley were comfortable and clean which we didn't find in all of our hotel stays this trip. Actually out of the four hotel's we stayed in this time around, The Stanley was definitely the cleanest. The thick double-glass sliding doors kept the traffic noise from the street to a minimum, plus we were on a higher floor which I'm sure helped.

Breakfast was plentiful and fresh - a buffet style with eggs, bacon, fruits, cereals, croissants, etc. Not the usual disappointing continental breakfast.

We ate at the rooftop restaurant one night, which was excellent. We also found a great restaurant in Keramikos called Safka - about a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

The best part of the Stanley, however, is the rooftop bar. The view is just fantastic. At night we would sit on the roof and watch the Acropolis and Lycabettus church light up the Athens skyline. There is also a pool on the roof, but it was closed for the season when we were there.

Overall would definitely recommend the Stanley to anyone looking for a solid experience and a great value. The price we paid was well below what we would expect for a hotel of this quality.

Room Tip: Recommend a high floor and definitely visit the rooftop bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanley, General Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor, and for choosing the Stanley while staying in Athens. It is our aim to provide excellent service and amenities at a tremendous value to all of our guests, and we are happy to hear your enjoyed your stay so thoroughly.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again the next time you are in Athens.

Best Regards,
Stefanos Poulios
General Manager, Hotel Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#35 of 326 in Athens
1,821 reviews
Novotel Athenes
#59 of 326 in Athens
2,087 reviews
Athens Lotus Hotel
#51 of 326 in Athens
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#34 of 326 in Athens
1,915 reviews
Novus City Hotel
#42 of 326 in Athens
696 reviews
Omonia
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
#102 of 326 in Athens
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Property: Stanley Hotel
Address: 1 Odisseos | Karaiskaki Square, Athens 104 37, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Athens Hotel is a four (4) star hotel, located in Karaiskaki Square near the center of Athens. We are directly in front of the Metaxourghio Metro station, a taxi stand, and tour bus stops, making travel around the city easy and convenient. We feature a stunning rooftop terrace with views of the Acropolis, a swimming pool, bar, and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing