We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great guest-oriented hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #83 of 325 Hotels in Athens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great guest-oriented hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had a great time with this hotel! The staff, especially the reception guys, were truly helpful! We were attending a conference then And they let us check in way ahead of the regular time so we could proceed to the conference venue without having go back to the hotel. I'ts proximity to the metro station made up for its quite distant location from the city center ( which was quite nice since there weren't too many people in the area). The restaurant on the top floor provides a perfect view of the the lovely acropolis, especially at night when The Rock brightly shines over athens. The facilities were okay and the food was good. Price-wise, it's really cheap and reasonable. There was a pool on the rooftop but we weren't able try it (too bad). Internet was also available in the room. The only thing i didn't quite like is the CR. It was quite small for some rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Stanley and for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly, and specifically that you felt our staff was helpful and accommodating to your schedule.

We hope to see you the next time you are in Athens for business or pleasure. Thank you again.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    593
    369
    136
    52
See reviews for
296
460
93
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burgdorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

1. Close to metro and some good restaurants.

2. The rooms are just mediocre, for the same price you could get much cleaner and more comfortable rooms.

3. We had a room with view to the Acropolis, but you could not use the balcony, first because of the noise and second because of the lack of furniture.

4. Breakfast: You get a variety of food, but it does not seem to be that fresh.

5. Restaurants and Bars: The rooftop-bar is great, even though it takes quite a long time until you get your drink, even if there are almost nn other people. Food is quite expensive for what you get.

6. The service is ok. (They could be friendlier).

7. There are better hotels, but there are also worse places to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ysnelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at The Stanley and for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We are glad to hear you found our location convenient and enjoyed our rooftop views.

We would also like to thank you for your additional comments regarding our rooms, service, and breakfast quality. We take your feedback seriously and will address your points internally with our staff – especially in regards to service quality. We strive to provide an excellent level of service at a great value, so we are disappointed to hear that was not your experience, however we are confident we can correct these issues.

We hope we have the chance to welcome you back to The Stanley once more. Thank you again for your feedback.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

The location is very convenient - right by the Metro and the hop-on-hop-off bus. The hotel itself was OK. The WiFi barely worked from our room and the first night, something in our room (sheets? pillow?) smelled like cigarette smoke. The elevators were also very slow. The price was very reasonable, though.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank dblagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and for choosing to stay at The Stanley. We are glad you found our location convenient and felt you received a good value.

We would also like to thank you for your feedback about some of the negatives you encountered during your stay. As mentioned in previous responses, we are in the process of a 100% overhaul of our WiFi system that will be in place within the next month. Additionally, we are working on upgrades to our elevator service and speed. Lastly, while we offer both smoking and non-smoking rooms, we do apologize you found a smoke smell in your room. If possible, please direct message us your name and/or room number so we can individually inspect this room to see if there is something we can identify and fix for future guests.

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. We are confident you will have an even better experience upon return.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I requested a room where i could see the acropolis light up at night...we would have dinner at sun-deck and watch the acropolis and lycabettus light up...spectacular...thank you to "panayiotis" and his beautiful mum (reception) for a very friendly service and special mention to the guys working at buffet breakfast, who were wonderful to have a chat too....made our trip to Athens very memorable...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne2011oct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying with us at The Stanley and for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Stanley for 4 days with a group if women traveling together and it was perfect for our needs. Very generous breakfast buffet. Rooms were minimalist but very clean. The hotel is on the edge of a rundown area but the metro stop is in the same block so we never felt afraid. We really enjoyed the terrace bar and restaurant on the rooftop with a beautiful view of the mountains and the Acropolis! The staff was amazing and so friendly and
helpful. WiFi did not get a reliable signal in the room but available in the lobby. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytravelers1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Stanley and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear that you found our staff friendly, found our rooms clean and comfortable, enjoyed our breakfast buffet, and had a chance to spend some time at our rooftop bar and restaurant.

We would also like to thank you for your comment regarding the WiFi. We are in the process of an entire system overhaul and can assure all guests that this issue will be resolved very soon.

We hope to see you again the next time you are in Athens.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

It was last year in November that we had to stay in Athens for one night so we choose this hotel. It's OK for one night stay but It's not something special. The rooms are old fashioned and very amortized. The good think is that is clean. The bathroom was in bad condition. Sink and bathtub were clogged. The WI-Fi was missing in the room so I had to go in the lobby to be able to connect and even there the signal was very poor.
The personnel was really good and helpful. Any question was answered and any request was fulfilled as much as they could.
I loved our stay in Athens because of the city but wouldn't stay more than a night or two in this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors are not so noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mira_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at The Stanley last year and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you found our staff helpful, our location convenient, and that you felt you received a good value.

We would also like to thank you for your comments regarding your room and our WiFi service. We have continually made improvements to our WiFi service throughout the year and are currently in the process of changing service providers and overhauling all hardware. In addition, we are updating our rooms with new TVs, bedding, and floors throughout the coming months. We do thank you for these comments as they ensure we are addressing the most important needs of our customers.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Stanley for a second impression. We believe you will be even more satisfied with your experience upon return.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nahariya, Israel
Level Contributor
136 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

very noisy place, the 7th floor supposed to be not smoking but who cares? the shower stream very poor, the connected beds not stable, noisy.
problems with wifi even it is free.
the personel did everything they could to change my room from 1st to 7th even they were fully booked. on this floor the noise is more quiet but still noisy.

Room Tip: there are rooms with one big bed. look for rooms with bathroom not only with shower. evennings on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arye b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MICHAEL_PSYCHIAS, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast, found our location convenient, and found our staff polite.

We would also like to express our apologies regarding your original room. If possible, please direct message us your name or room number (if you remember it) so we can look into the details of your comment and determine which issues we can replicate and fix.

Despite this initial complication, we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Novotel Athenes
#59 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Athens Lotus Hotel
#51 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#33 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
#100 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Exarchia
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
#53 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#31 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Property: Stanley Hotel
Address: 1 Odisseos | Karaiskaki Square, Athens 104 37, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Athens Hotel is a four (4) star hotel, located in Karaiskaki Square near the center of Athens. We are directly in front of the Metaxourghio Metro station, a taxi stand, and tour bus stops, making travel around the city easy and convenient. We feature a stunning rooftop terrace with views of the Acropolis, a swimming pool, bar, and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing