We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in perfect localisation”
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #85 of 285 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 16 April 2014

very clean hotel, 50 meters to metro, helpful stuff (we receive Athens map and thay show us what we can to visit), good breakfast, wanderfull view from roof restaurant, nice sweaming pool and sunbeds on roof.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dentart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Stanley and for feedback here on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our rooftop terrace and pool, our breakfast buffet, and found our staff helpful.

We hope we have the chance to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 1,695 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

Very noisy hotel full of screaming teenagers. Hotel staff seemed overwhelmed by the chaos when we asked them to do something. We hardly slept. Added to this the grotty rooms which smelt like ashtrays and not a good trip.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank marriedwithkikds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to apologize for such a disappointing stay with us at The Stanley. First and foremost we aim to provide a comfortable and relaxing night of sleep, and we are very sorry to hear we did not provide that to you. While we cannot control the behavior and volume of all guests at all times, we do regret that this was disrupting to you.

Additionally we are sorry to hear that you found our staff overwhelmed and unhelpful. If possible, we would appreciate any additional feedback you can give us regarding our service so we can attempt to address with our team at The Stanley. Please use the direct messaging function on Trip Advisor, or contact us via any email addresses on our website.

Despite your first impressions of The Stanley, we would love a second opportunity to provide you with a comfortable, relaxing, and satisfying stay with us. If you return to Athens in the future please consider contacting us directly and we will do everything we can to ensure your second stay exceeds expectations.

Best regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My stay was not good at all. I was staying there for two nights with a school group and the hotel was not satisfactory at all.
For a start one of the girls I was staying with had a nut allergy. On the trip two other girls had nut allergies. For breakfast and dinner she wasn't told what was nut free. There were no signs at all. Also they gave us packed lunches for when we were travelling around Athens. In the lunches there was nothing nut free at all. She wasn't able to eat anything in her lunches despite the fact that we complained to the staff twice.
Also there was a camp bed in our room because I was sharing with three other girls. The camp bed looked dangerous and it was as though it probably couldn't support me, the smallest of the three of us.
The looks of the hotel were poor. The room was decorated in a dated fashion that did not look appealing at all. Also the sight from the balcony wasn't nice.
The WiFi was appalling. For a start the hotel only offered 3 hours of free WiFi per device which was far too little. Also the WiFi was very slow and annoying whenever I connected which was a disappointment.
They tried to charge us 3 euros for 3 cups of hot water and it cost us 80 cents to buy a 500ml bottle of water. At most shops the same product would cost 50 cents.
Don't use the room phone to call anywhere. It's supposed to cost on average 3 euros to call someone out of the hotel.
I do have to admit the tube links were very good. Only four tube stops away from the Acropolis. That was convenient for the trip.

Room Tip: Don't go with a school group or with friends or even with family. Go as a couple, business or so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rushi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to apologize for your less than excellent experience while staying with us at The Stanley. We do our best to ensure our guests have a comfortable and relaxing stay at great value and we are sorry to hear that you did not find this to be the case.

We always take the greatest care in preparing food appropriately for our guests with specific food allergy restrictions. We investigated your comment internally with our staff and found no record of being informed for such a meal-requirement. We often times have guests with nut allergies and our staff is fully capable and prepared for such instances. If we had known there was a group member allergic to nuts, we would have appropriately adjusted our food service to ensure there no issues.

We were also disappointed to hear you dissatisfied with the price of some services at The Stanley. We aim to be a very good choice for value-conscious customers, and our services are prices very competitively against other hotels in Athens. We think we provide excellent value and find most guests feel the same way.

Despite your first experience, we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Stanley in the future as we feel we are an excellent option for not only group stays, but individual leisure and business travel as well.

Best regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stanley is an excellent hotel to stay,with very easy access to Metro and buses.Good reception,clean rooms,daily change of linens,good WIFI,Vast breakfast.Metro station Metaroxiogeo is just near door,and 2stops from Syntagma square.Only negative is no coffee maker in room.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drsivakumark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly. We hope we have the chance to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The Stanley Hotel must have been a top notch venue in the 80s, but unfortunately time froze. The decoration is dated, the rooms are small and the en-suite bathroom is not bigger than a phone booth. The fuse box in the room buzzes quite loudly and is quite annoying. The reception is over-staffed, but check-in and check-out procedures are amazingly slow. There was a sign at the bar on the lobby mentioning it was closed and that service was available on the top floor terrace, but once on the terrace I was greeted by dozens of pigeons, an empty pool and what seemed to be a shuttered bar. Having said that, the room is OK for the price, and breakfast perfectly edible, but not fantastic. Wi-Fi works fine and location is good just by a subway station. I was not thrilled at all by my stay at Stanley Hotel, but for yet another business trip it would do it... However, I would not recommend it for a holiday retreat, as the area seems quite run-down with abandoned office buildings and possibly not the safest area in the evening.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BSF-Lx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at The Stanley and for sharing your feedback with the Trip Advisor community. While we are sorry to hear you did not fully enjoy your stay with us, we are glad you felt you received a good value, found our location convenient, and enjoyed our breakfast buffet.

We do thank you for your honest feedback and comments as it helps us improve our hotel for future stays. Since your review we have addressed our working procedures with our reception department, aimed at ensuring all check-in and check-out procedures are as quick, efficient, and helpful as possible. Again, we apologize that your experience was not ideal.

Additionally we would like to let you know that since we have many different sized rooms with different views, if you are not satisfied with your accommodation we are always willing to provide to you with an alternate option, upon availability.

We are looking forward to the opportunity to make a second impression on you. Please let us know when you are returning and we will do our best to ensure you enjoy your stay more the next time you stay with.

Best regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I got a little nervous based on some of the reviews but I don't know why there were complaints for the neighborhood. We never felt unsafe. The first night we went to a diner right by it and another night my husband picked up Thai food take out, about a 10 minute walk. You get off the metro and the entrance to the hotel is just on the other side of the building. We had a fabulous room on the 8th floor that was huge, which had an awesome balcony with incredible views! The staff was super friendly and took our luggage up to our room when it arrived a day after we did. We had a metro pass so jumping on the train for everything was very convenient.

Room Tip: The higher up, the better the view. The 8th floor was awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CFroehlich70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at The Stanley and for sharing your wonderful feedback with the Trip Advisor community. We are so glad to hear enjoyed your stay so much, and hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Had I planned the details of this trip myself, I would have never chosen the Stanley. Its whereabouts (Karaiskaki square, Metaxourgeio, Athens) is considered to be an urban run-down neighbourhood... Nevertheless, the trip organizers insisted on the quality of the establishment and they were right! And the area prooved to be very central, clean and quite safe, although definitely slum...

The hotel quality was suprisingly high. Nice, clean, renovated rooms (ask for a 7th floor no-smoking room). Nice reception area and roof garden area viewing the Acropolis. Friendly service.

I had 3 breakfasts, 1 lunch and 2 dinners there. Breakfast and lunch were poor. Dinner was very good.

The subway station is just infront of the hotel, so is a taxi piazza.

The Stanley is a hotel I would consider again as a budget, value for money stay in Athens.

Room Tip: No smoking room. Top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ar1us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#34 of 285 in Athens
2,194 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#35 of 285 in Athens
503 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#21 of 285 in Athens
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Athens Lotus Hotel
#63 of 285 in Athens
931 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#61 of 285 in Athens
620 reviews
Novotel Athenes
#56 of 285 in Athens
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 1 Odisseos | Karaiskaki Square, Athens 104 37, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 285 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £44 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Athens Hotel is a four (4) star hotel, located in Karaiskaki Square near the center of Athens. We are directly in front of the Metaxourghio Metro station, a taxi stand, and tour bus stops, making travel around the city easy and convenient. We feature a stunning rooftop terrace with views of the Acropolis, a swimming pool, bar, and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing