We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location with a view of Acropolis”
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #91 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Jaipur, India
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“nice location with a view of Acropolis”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

the location of the hotel is the best part, just above the metro station and five minutes walk to the Athens main railway station. Our room was on 8th floor,nice airy room and giving the arial view of Athens city. Roof top restaurant of the hotel has an excellent ambience with a roof top swimming pool and awesome view of Acropolis.

Room Tip: rooms having main road view are the best. one can spend hours in balcony of these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sagrawal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at The Stanley and for sharing your feedback with the Trip Advisor community. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly – especially our rooftop terrace with views of the city. We hope we have the chance to welcome you back the next time you are in Athens.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    644
    407
    157
    65
See reviews for
322
522
101
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just recently arrived back from Greece. The hotel is in a very good location. Close to the metro and good tavernas can be found near.

The rooms looks like in the 80s although they are clean. The double room has two separeta beds what is below standard nowadays.
The cleaning service missed some stuff every day. A missing towel, no shower gel etc.

All in all an average hotel. Not bad for the 55 euros we paid.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lufitex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I was staying on the recommendation of a Greek friend, because of its location, which is excellent, very close to the metro and in a very quiet block. The single room was a bit bigger than a closet, and bathroom, as noted by many comments tends to use the shower to get wet due to the small size of that area. Attentive service reception, but after that bad enough, without being very rude unhelpful: waiters, housekeeper, etc.. If I went back to Athens and after that price (70 euros) definitely choose another place to stay at the same course that there are several hotels. An undeniable point, the view from the terrace of the Acropolis is beautiful.


I was staying on the recommendation of a Greek friend, because of its location, which is excellent, very close to the metro and in a very quiet block. The single room was a bit bigger than a closet, and bathroom, as noted by many comments tends to use the shower to get wet due to the small size of that area. Attentive service reception, but after that bad enough, without being very rude unhelpful: waiters, housekeeper, etc.. If I went back to Athens and after that price (70 euros) definitely choose another place to stay at the same course that there are several hotels. An undeniable point, the view from the terrace of the Acropolis is beautiful.
I was staying on the recommendation of a Greek friend, because of its location, which is excellent, very close to the metro and in a very quiet block. The single room was a bit bigger than a closet, and bathroom, as noted by many comments tends to use the shower to get wet due to the small size of that area. Attentive service in reception, but after that pretty bad, without being rude, but it was unhelpful: waiters, housekeeper, etc. If I went back to Athens and paying that price (70 euros) definitely I would choose another place to stay at the same block, where are several hotels. An undeniable point, the view from the terrace of the Acropolis is beautiful!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We only really stayed a few hours enough to have a sleep, some breakfast and a shower before leaving. Amazing selection for breakfast if Homer Simpson stayed he wouldn't have been able to finish everything, really good work on a great breakfast!

The big advantage is the location is right near Metro station and awesome view of Acropolis from our Balcony.

I almost forgot there is an awesome rooftop bar and lounge area with a pool which was a wonderfully relaxing way to refresh before the trip to the airport and flight home.

Room Tip: Get a top floor as less noise and make sure you close the second window (double glazing)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Was quite apprehensive after reading other reviews about this hotel. Since we were planning to stay at Athens for a couple of nights , was contemplating changing if things did look too bad. Pleasant surprise ! Our room was very spacious; clean and quiet. Contrary to what some of the reviews had mentioned. The washroom was clean, well organized and the air-conditioning quite efficient (for the warm/sultry mid-June Athens weather). A sign in the room requesting an "honest review on Tripadvisor" probably meant something !
Staff could be a bit more friendly (no smiles/acknowledgement!!). You do get a feeling that you're checking into Alcatraz (or something similar) but beyond that, everything was good, better that what we had expected !

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger. Try higher floors overlooking the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sachi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at The Stanley and for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We are very glad to hear The Stanley exceeded your expectations and that you found your room clean and comfortable.

We do apologize you did not feel you had an exceptional experience with our staff. We strive to provide an excellent level of service and we will continue to work harder with our team at The Stanley to provide a friendlier and warmer guest experience.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you are in Athens. Thank you again for your feedback.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oromocto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

During our recent stay at the Stanley, everything was perfect!! Our room was spacious with two wonderful balconies to watch the world go by. The morning breakfast was one of the best we have had while travelling, something for everyone in our family. The absolute best feature of the hotel was the roof top pool......during the extremely hot days, we would return to cool down for hours in the pool with an amazing view of the Acropolis directly across from us. The staff was wonderful to all of us, couldn't have asked for more. It was extremely convenient as the metro station is located right at the hotel, and the hop on hop off bus stopped only meters from the hotel also. We loved it.....thank you Stanley....from the Patrick family!

Room Tip: family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrickmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at The Stanley. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay so completely, and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Athens.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a bad experience we booked through otel.com which seemed to have conned us, We were sent a confirmation and reservation but on arriving The Stanley had no such booking. Once this happened the staff became cold and unhelpful, and wanted to shaft us onto a manager And as we travling with a 2 year old we felt com helpless. This we know was probably no fault of The Stanley but of those at Otel.com. Unfortunately the hotel was fully booked and our city break was ruined. We returned to The Stanley and paid to use the pool facilities for the day to base ourselfs. The pool and pool bar were ok. High bar prices and unfortunately they do not give you plastic cups so there is small shards of broken glass all around the pool which our 2 year old stepped on and punchered his foot.

As i say we did not stay here so i cannot give a complete review. The hotel looked well kept but the staff were not fantastic and wanted to hide behind the desk rather than help. However the doorman was very friendly and helpful.

This is all i can say about the hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shbt1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Athens hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Novotel Athenes
#63 of 326 in Athens
2,228 reviews
Novus City Hotel
#37 of 326 in Athens
731 reviews
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#35 of 326 in Athens
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Centrotel Hotel
#25 of 326 in Athens
1,180 reviews
Omonia
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
#106 of 326 in Athens
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Property: Stanley Hotel
Address: 1 Odisseos | Karaiskaki Square, Athens 104 37, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Athens Hotel is a four (4) star hotel, located in Karaiskaki Square near the center of Athens. We are directly in front of the Metaxourghio Metro station, a taxi stand, and tour bus stops, making travel around the city easy and convenient. We feature a stunning rooftop terrace with views of the Acropolis, a swimming pool, bar, and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing