We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel, bit out of the Centre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Athenaeum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
InterContinental Athenaeum
Ranked #26 of 333 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, bit out of the Centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Great sized refurbished bedroom, very well equipped with modern furnishings/colours and massive comfortable bed. View of the Acropolis was obscured by large building in front of hotel, we were on floor 5, but rooms higher may have better view, although probably more expensive rooms. Very good selection at breakfast to choose from. Pool small considering size of hotel, but very welcoming in the August heat. Hotel is situated along main route to Piraeus and as stated before is quite a distance away from the centre and main city sights. There is a courtesy bus, but we didn't use it as we had an organised tour included, so were picked up anyway. There are also places to eat nearby if you seek them out. Simply Burgers a 15 min walk further along the main road did some great ones, there is also a Starbucks along there and an Italian style restaurant all at reasonable prices compared to hotel. There was a builders skip and waste chute coming from part of the hotel, so it looks as if the bedroom refurbishments are still ongoing, so hopefully the less impressive 80's style decor rooms will soon be a thing of the past, but we were really glad not to have been allocated one of these as quality of room for the money is a much more important factor these days in a competitive market, hotel chains take note!

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sassie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    914
    787
    238
    65
    27
See reviews for
394
637
121
601
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed for 1 night while on conference in Greece, and while the hotel was very nice, the location was not the handiest for getting to the more popular attractions. The staff were helpful and friendly, and the breakfast was plentiful with good variety. Our room was clean and spacious, and as club members, we received a few little extras, as well as a lovely view of the Acropolis. This hotel served its purpose, but for better access to the sites and excitement of the Plaka, I would suggest looking closer in.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canfamabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental while attending a conference in Athens this month. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are pleased to learn that your stay with us was both comfortable and enjoyable. We greatly appreciate your taking the time to share your comments and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on a future visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Very nice hotel. The location was not very good but the hotel provides transfer for free to/from Syntagma during all day.It has a nice pool and nice restaurants.
The room is very clean and spacious and we got a room with a beautiful view to the Acropoly. The amenities was very nice (from Korres). The staff was very nice, as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bralvarenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
172 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

The place is OK. Clean. Decor late 1980s. Nothing very special. Had trouble getting to hotel because of taxi strike- was told by hotel after calling 4 times and giving our exact location at the airport that a shuttle would pick us up- no show after 3 hours. Just disorganized and not expected. Eventually we took metro and TRAM- bout 1 hour; so overall we missed a day in Athens. Room was comfortable in the club level, but an older hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusinessPr0fessi0nal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental on your recent visit to Athens and for taking the time to share your valuable comments. We were most concerned to learn of the inconvenience you experienced while trying to reach our hotel during the taxi strike and would like to express our sincere apologies for any miscommunication on our part. In order to facilitate our valued guests during the days when the taxi drivers are on strike, our hotel has exceptionally arranged a complimentary shuttle bus service that operates at approximately 3 to 3 1/2 intervals from 8:00am until 9:30pm (from the airport). We recommend that all guests using this service contact our Concierge directly for further information and to reserve a seat on the bus. Once again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on a future visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Do not go if you want an hotel with character but if you want a modern, quiet, comfortable and clean hotel this is the place. Rooms are spacious, bathroom also big. The service is excellent and all you expect of a 5 star hotel. Breakfast was excellent and with a big variety.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanne_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 10 September 2011
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for selecting the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens for your recent stay in Athens. We would like to express our appreciation for taking the time to share your kind comments both for the service provided by our staff as well as for the comfort of the facilities of the hotel. Once more we would like to thank you for sharing your review and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Intercontinental was a great hotel, as expected for a 5-star. They were very accommodating with my friend checking in a few hours before me, even though the reservation was under my name. The staff was professional, english-speaking, and made a great suggestion on where to go for dinner. We only stayed 1 night, but I would definitely try coming back to Intercontinental if I visit Athens again.

Note: The neighborhood is not so nice. The tram station is just about 1 block away (3 minute walk), but walking through it to get to the hotel is a little scary, especially for a young woman arriving alone in the evening. Just expect it, it's a lonely block without much activity or people. You'll probably see more graffiti and stray cats than anything else.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mc17ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 10 September 2011
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing the Athenaeum InterContinental on your recent visit to Athens. We are pleased to learn that our staff was to your expectations. We have also taken note of your comment regarding the location of the hotel and would like to inform you that the hotel provides a complimentary shuttle bus to Syntagma square that operates daily from 8:30 am to 10:30pm. We would like to thank you again for your recommendation and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Stayed here whilst working on an event. I appreciate that I was probably in a staff room but I didn't expect to be overlooking a 6 lane major road from my 1st floor room. The road noise was awful. Reception and restaurant staff were efficient without being friendly. Accessing the internet via the hotels Wi-Fi was ridiculously expensive. Breakfast was good and the view from the 9th floor roof terrace and bar is lovely.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stapleton29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental and for taking the time to share your comments. It is with regret that we learn of the problems you faced with regard to external noise in your room, as all our rooms have double glazed windows. We would like to assure you that customer satisfaction is our primary concern and would like to express our sincere apologies for the discomfort caused to you. We have also noted your comments about the cost of internet connection and would like to take this opportunity to inform you that our prices are, in fact, in line with our competitors in Athens. Once again, thank you for your valuable comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hilton Athens
#17 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,341 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Divani Caravel Hotel
#48 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Athenaeum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Athenaeum

Property: InterContinental Athenaeum
Address: 89 - 93 Syngrou Ave, Athens 11745, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athens
#15 Business Hotel in Athens
#17 Family Hotel in Athens
#17 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#19 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Athenaeum 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No wonder the Athenaeum InterContinental has been named Greece s leading hotel time and again. Athens largest guestrooms, award winning fine dining venues and a central location appeal to business and leisure travellers alike. Within a few kilometres are the Acropolis, the Parthenon, the Temple of Apollo and the Pláka. Metro and tram stations are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your InterContinental Athenaeum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Athenaeum Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athenaeum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing