We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel in Athens is worth staying at”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Athenaeum
Ranked #26 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We booked via "hotwire " a dicount site and got an excellent clean and large room for only 70E per night in April 2012.International standards and 5 star which I believe are correctly awarded.
Location isn't great but the view from top floor is fantastic ,at least you're away from the area where the Greeks like to have demonstrations etc .
Godwin Cattle

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Godwin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens earlier this month and for taking the time to share your comments. We are delighted to learn that your stay with us met with your expectations and we greatly appreciate your recommendation. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Athens and the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,431 - 1,437 of 2,303 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

My wife and I just spent 5 nights here and enjoyed it very much. The room was very clean and well maintained. The view of The Acropolis was nice. We paid for the upgrade to stay on the 8th floor so we could use the lounge for a delicious breakfast, snaks all day and free beverages at night (unlimited - self serve). You also can negotiate rates and get good deals. Be sure to ask for free WiFi as we received 1 hour free per day which was plenty for us. Other people we were with (we were attending a business conference negotiated cheaper rates than we booked and they negotiated free WiFi all day. The service was very good at all levels (front desk, door man, maids, chef, etc.). It was a 20 minute walk to the Acroplois and the Tram is inexpensive and two blocks from the hotel. We would stay there again as we have stayed in some dumps right downtown before.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank 10M10G10P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens whilst attending the recent conference hosted at our hotel. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and it is always a pleasure to hear from guests whose expectations were met. We are delighted that you enjoyed the service and the facilities of our Club InterContinental, in particular the one hour free internet access per day for all our Club InterContinental guests. With regard to your comment regarding the negotiation of free internet access, we would like to take this opportunity to inform you that one may enjoy this benefit only when reserving with a rate that offers it, such as pre-negotiated conference or corporate rates as well as InterContinental’s Business Sense rate which is subject to availability. We thank you for sharing your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

spacious rooms with all the works of a sofa set business desk etc. Check inn was smooth and efficient less then a minute check out was even faster truly Intercontinental at its best. Only the internet and in room dining was expensive. Small drawback for people sleeping late as some constuction activity going on but the noise started after 9.30 am.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naveed20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental on your recent visit to Athens and for taking the time to share your feedback. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and any comments that help us maintain the high standard for which InterContinental is known are warmly welcomed. We are sorry to learn that you were disturbed by noise in the morning and would like to express our sincere apologies for this inconvenience. May we take this opportunity to inform you that we are not carrying out any construction or renovation work at present, therefore we suspect that the noise you heard was from a sudden maintenance issue that needed addressing. Once again, we would like to thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I stayed in this hotel on a business trip, I can say everything was quite nice, rooms were clean and well furnished, internet speed was good, breakfast was excellent with good variety and special Greek breakfast menu was perfect. I stayed in a Junior suite, it was specious and can be a good chic for families as well, I didn't have any special view from my room but I guess hotel has some rooms with view to Acropolis as the roof top bar and restaurant offers great views of them. Lobby is modern and staff are really friendly, restaurants they have are really good for a business dinner or friendly brunch. Sintagma sq is a short distance with taxi which not expensive in Athens. I will recommend it for both business and leisure travelers, however its better to consider a business hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YaserKangani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst travelling on business to Athens this month. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and it is always a pleasure to hear from guests whose expectations were met. We are delighted to learn that your accommodation was comfortable and that you found our facilities and service to be of a high level. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and taking the time to share your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This hotel made everything very easy for us. The concierge was quick to book our tours, which were lovely overall. Our rooms were cleaned twice daily and were very fresh. Our room was pretty and spacious, with a powerful shower. The Lobby is of course modern and sleek, as the pictures show. The elevators were very fast - no wait, no crowds.

We used the shuttle a couple of times and it's very reliable. This is truly a five star hotel, but it is less expensive due to its location. However, it is really only a 5 minute drive to Syntagma Square. The shuttle is free and a cab costs around 3-4 euros.

We did opt for the Club Lounge upgrade. I'd definitely say that it's worth it if you plan to use the lounge a lot. We made good use of it the first few nights. We really liked the fact that the bar was self-service. You could just grab a glass and pour whatever beverage you'd like, which really made the space feel like home. The Greek wine was excellent and my boyfriend really appreciated the JW Black Label. It's a good space if you're on business, have a large family, and/or are going on a lot of day tours. We did quite a few tours our first few days, so it was nice to grab breakfast and then unwind with some drinks in the evening.

So thank you to the staff for helping make our trip to Athens so seamless and wonderfully memorable!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental on your recent visit to Athens with your boyfriend. We are delighted to learn that you both enjoyed your stay and that our service and facilities met with your expectations. In particular, we have noted your satisfaction with our Club InterContinental which is indeed an oasis within the hotel. We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

As intercontinentals go this is right up there. Very comfortable, friendly and efficient, restaurants good.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for selecting the Athenaeum InterContinental for your recent stay in Athens.
We are pleased to know that the facilities and the level services of our hotel were to your satisfaction and that you visit was an enjoyable and comfortable one.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to share you kind comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Intercontinental Athenaeum is a very nice, comfortable, calm and good hotel with everything you expect from a business hotel. The service is very nice and the rooms are spacious (at least the Club rooms). The only drawback is that you have to pay a lot for internet access and that is rather annoying when you are travelling for business and need to work a lot in the hotel. On a general basis they charge you well for all extras, such as i.e. minibar, but if you stay in a Club room you get access to both food and drinks for free throughout the day, so it is only the wi-fi charge that is unavoidable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hildegull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing the Athenaeum InterContinental on your recent visit to Athens. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the spaciousness and comfort of our rooms as well as the efficient and professional service offered by our staff.
Furthermore, we also pleased that the facilities of the Club InterContinental ware to your satisfaction
We would like to inform you that we have noted your comment regarding the cost of internet and we would like to assure you that the prices are, in fact, in line with our competitors in Athens.
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hilton Athens
#18 of 281 in Athens
3,748 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,885 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Athenaeum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Athenaeum

Address: 89 - 93 Syngrou Ave, Athens 11745, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athens
#10 Business Hotel in Athens
#13 Family Hotel in Athens
#15 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#17 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £125 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Athenaeum 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No wonder the Athenaeum InterContinental has been named Greece s leading hotel time and again. Athens largest guestrooms, award winning fine dining venues and a central location appeal to business and leisure travellers alike. Within a few kilometres are the Acropolis, the Parthenon, the Temple of Apollo and the Pláka. Metro and tram stations are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Athenaeum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Athenaeum Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athenaeum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing