We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Athenaeum
Nearby Hotels
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Melia Athens(Athens)
US$187
US$164
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Athens(Athens)
US$374
US$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
NJV Athens Plaza(Athens)
US$265
US$227
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
New Hotel(Athens)
US$308
US$281
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Athens Lotus Hotel(Athens)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$224
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$253
US$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hera Hotel(Athens)
US$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$357
US$231
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,394)
Filter reviews
2,394 results
Traveller rating
1,081
920
275
80
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,081
920
275
80
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungefree shuttlecafe zoeshuttle servicesyntagma squaretram stopguest relationsbig hotelan upgradeper dayrooms are bignice poolthe hotel offersacropolis viewvery nice hotelmini bartop floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,497 - 1,502 of 2,394 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We booked via "hotwire " a dicount site and got an excellent clean and large room for only 70E per night in April 2012.International standards and 5 star which I believe are correctly awarded.
Location isn't great but the view from top floor is fantastic ,at least you're away from the area where the Greeks like to have demonstrations etc .
Godwin Cattle

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Godwin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens earlier this month and for taking the time to share your comments. We are delighted to learn that your stay with us met with your expectations and we greatly appreciate your recommendation. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Athens and the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My wife and I just spent 5 nights here and enjoyed it very much. The room was very clean and well maintained. The view of The Acropolis was nice. We paid for the upgrade to stay on the 8th floor so we could use the lounge for a delicious breakfast, snaks all day and free beverages at night (unlimited - self serve). You also can negotiate rates and get good deals. Be sure to ask for free WiFi as we received 1 hour free per day which was plenty for us. Other people we were with (we were attending a business conference negotiated cheaper rates than we booked and they negotiated free WiFi all day. The service was very good at all levels (front desk, door man, maids, chef, etc.). It was a 20 minute walk to the Acroplois and the Tram is inexpensive and two blocks from the hotel. We would stay there again as we have stayed in some dumps right downtown before.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank 10M10G10P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens whilst attending the recent conference hosted at our hotel. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and it is always a pleasure to hear from guests whose expectations were met. We are delighted that you enjoyed the service and the facilities of our Club InterContinental, in particular the one hour free internet access per day for all our Club InterContinental guests. With regard to your comment regarding the negotiation of free internet access, we would like to take this opportunity to inform you that one may enjoy this benefit only when reserving with a rate that offers it, such as pre-negotiated conference or corporate rates as well as InterContinental’s Business Sense rate which is subject to availability. We thank you for sharing your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

spacious rooms with all the works of a sofa set business desk etc. Check inn was smooth and efficient less then a minute check out was even faster truly Intercontinental at its best. Only the internet and in room dining was expensive. Small drawback for people sleeping late as some constuction activity going on but the noise started after 9.30 am.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naveed20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental on your recent visit to Athens and for taking the time to share your feedback. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and any comments that help us maintain the high standard for which InterContinental is known are warmly welcomed. We are sorry to learn that you were disturbed by noise in the morning and would like to express our sincere apologies for this inconvenience. May we take this opportunity to inform you that we are not carrying out any construction or renovation work at present, therefore we suspect that the noise you heard was from a sudden maintenance issue that needed addressing. Once again, we would like to thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I stayed in this hotel on a business trip, I can say everything was quite nice, rooms were clean and well furnished, internet speed was good, breakfast was excellent with good variety and special Greek breakfast menu was perfect. I stayed in a Junior suite, it was specious and can be a good chic for families as well, I didn't have any special view from my room but I guess hotel has some rooms with view to Acropolis as the roof top bar and restaurant offers great views of them. Lobby is modern and staff are really friendly, restaurants they have are really good for a business dinner or friendly brunch. Sintagma sq is a short distance with taxi which not expensive in Athens. I will recommend it for both business and leisure travelers, however its better to consider a business hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YaserKangani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst travelling on business to Athens this month. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and it is always a pleasure to hear from guests whose expectations were met. We are delighted to learn that your accommodation was comfortable and that you found our facilities and service to be of a high level. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and taking the time to share your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This hotel made everything very easy for us. The concierge was quick to book our tours, which were lovely overall. Our rooms were cleaned twice daily and were very fresh. Our room was pretty and spacious, with a powerful shower. The Lobby is of course modern and sleek, as the pictures show. The elevators were very fast - no wait, no crowds.

We used the shuttle a couple of times and it's very reliable. This is truly a five star hotel, but it is less expensive due to its location. However, it is really only a 5 minute drive to Syntagma Square. The shuttle is free and a cab costs around 3-4 euros.

We did opt for the Club Lounge upgrade. I'd definitely say that it's worth it if you plan to use the lounge a lot. We made good use of it the first few nights. We really liked the fact that the bar was self-service. You could just grab a glass and pour whatever beverage you'd like, which really made the space feel like home. The Greek wine was excellent and my boyfriend really appreciated the JW Black Label. It's a good space if you're on business, have a large family, and/or are going on a lot of day tours. We did quite a few tours our first few days, so it was nice to grab breakfast and then unwind with some drinks in the evening.

So thank you to the staff for helping make our trip to Athens so seamless and wonderfully memorable!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental on your recent visit to Athens with your boyfriend. We are delighted to learn that you both enjoyed your stay and that our service and facilities met with your expectations. In particular, we have noted your satisfaction with our Club InterContinental which is indeed an oasis within the hotel. We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews