We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Athenaeum
Ranked #27 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed here for 1 night before heading over to the islands. Our flight was delayed and one of the bags didnt come, so our Greece experience didnt start well. The staff at the hotel was very helpful and made efforts to make our experience delightful. They gave us a complimentary upgrade. The rooftop restaurant has one of the best views of Athens and Acropolis. The hotel has a free shuttle service to city center, which is very helpful as the hotel is not within walking distance from city center. At night we had delicious dessert in the resaturant by the looby.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mehshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental while visiting Athens.

We are pleased to learn that stay at our hotel was an enjoyable one and that our staff’s contribution resulted on your overcoming the difficulties you faced due to the loss of your luggage.

Furthermore, thank you for sharing your comments regarding our award winning Premiere restaurant with the breathtaking view to Acropolis, as well as the Café Vienna located at the lobby area.

We would like to thank you once more for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,445 - 1,451 of 2,355 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

This past April during our visit to Athens, Greece, we stayed at the Athenaeum Intercontinental Hotel. The room was comfortable, well-appointed and the hotel is in an ideal location. Old Town and public rail transportation were easily accessible. The hotel staff was simply marvelous…from the front door attendants to the front desk staff; from the housekeeping personnel to the attendants in the various dining rooms…everyone was friendly, gracious and always accommodating. Without question, the Athenaeum Intercontinental Hotel will be our first choice the next time we visit Athens.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Reader,

Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst visiting Athens and for taking the time to share your kind comments.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our high level of service and facilities met with your expectations.

We thank you for your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We had 3 rooms for two nights in April 2012. All the rooms were large and comfortable with room service twice daily. Breakfast buffet was not included with our rooms. Hotel was very busy with business convention. We had some plumbing problems with the toilets but it was resolved. They have a great shuttle bus service to city center very half an hour. This was our 4th times staying at Athenaeum InterContinental Athens and overall it is nice, clean and comfortable. The only negative was the front desk staff impoliteness when we arrived, perhaps they were overwhelmed and outdated toilets.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,
Thank you for your kind comments and recommendation. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you have found the complimentary shuttle bus service helpful. We would also like to inform you that the hotel is undergoing constant renovation both on the room floors as well as in the public areas and the remaining areas have been scheduled for completion in the near future. Once again, thank you for staying in the Athenaeum InterContinental and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Going for a drink to the top roof or having breakfast or just going for a walk to the city was just beautiful.
The Best Hotel in Athens for far...

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Geopato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2012

Dear TripAdvisor reader,
Thank you for having chosen the Athenaeum InterContinental on your recent visit to Athens and for your recommendation. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are delighted to learn that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We thank you once more for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Our taxi driver from the airport said that this was the "best hotel in Athens." I agreed, although I have not been to any others. Rooms are very spacious, and beds are great. If you want to stay in Athens, you will not go wrong with this hotel. We even discovered that we had a (somewhat distant) view of the Parthenon (Acropolis). Front-desk and concierge service was outstanding. Shuttle service was free and excellent--every half hour. Ask to get off at Acropolis if you want, or go another kilometer or so to the main shopping plaza.
Our room was paid for via our Oceania cruise, so I do not know what their rates are.
On the downside, everything you would want to eat or drink is outrageously priced, and so you can expect no crowds. When I asked, the concierge recommended a small grocery store a few blocks down--a 10 minute walk each way. Basically, the immediate neighborhood is not "downtown." It is somewhat seedy (although seemingly safe).
Forget about free WiFi. You must be desperate and have some Euros to spend.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor, which seemed good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank surfonmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental on your recent visit to Athens and for taking the time to share your feedback. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and any comments that help us maintain the high standards for which InterContinental is known are warmly welcomed. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the service and facilities at our hotel, in particular, our complimentary shuttle bus service to Syntagma square. With regard to the prices in our restaurants and the cost of internet connection, we would like to inform you that they are in line with our competitors in Athens. Once again, thank you for your comments and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed here for two nights before heading onto Kos.

The hotel is lovely and the rooms are very well presented and maintained, with good toiletries available.

The location is a little strange, but the views from the bar/restaurant on the top floor are stunning.

Shame about the lack of free wifi.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Queneth_Veneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst in Athens and for taking the time to share your kind comments. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and it is always a pleasure to hear from guests whose expectations were met. The views from our award winning Premiere Bar and Restaurant are indeed outstanding. Once again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night before boarding a cruise and it was very comfortable, with great service. The complimentary shuttle was great to use to visit the old historical town. Breakfast in the cafe was very good. The hotel is not in a very good neighborhood for tourists but sights are easy to get to by the hotel shuttle or a short taxi ride.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank castlerockjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst in Athens before joining your cruise and for taking the time to share your kind comments. We are delighted to learn that both you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and that our high level of service and facilities met with your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hilton Athens
#16 of 282 in Athens
3,871 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,963 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,286 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Athenaeum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Athenaeum

Address: 89 - 93 Syngrou Ave, Athens 11745, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athens
#10 Business Hotel in Athens
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#15 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#20 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £125 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Athenaeum 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No wonder the Athenaeum InterContinental has been named Greece s leading hotel time and again. Athens largest guestrooms, award winning fine dining venues and a central location appeal to business and leisure travellers alike. Within a few kilometres are the Acropolis, the Parthenon, the Temple of Apollo and the Pláka. Metro and tram stations are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Athenaeum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Athenaeum Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athenaeum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing